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Foreword 
 

T 
his handbook is intended as a tool to help every California attorney fulfill 

their statutory and ethical obligations to clients whose money and other 

properties they hold in trust.  Even if you never hold money or other 

properties for clients, it’s imperative that you understand these obligations.  Your 

license may depend on it. 

 This handbook assumes that you know very little about client trust accounting 

and is devoted to teaching you the basics necessary for you to properly account for your 

client’s money.  It will explain the rules governing your client trust accounting duties, 

the concepts behind client trust accounting, and a simple step-by-step system for 

accounting for your clients’ money.  To keep from distracting you from basic 

accounting, the citations have been kept to a minimum.  The text of the relevant 

authorities, as well as an index of applicable cases, are attached as Appendices 2 and 3. 

 This handbook is not intended to address all the complex legal issues related to 

handling client funds and other trust money or property.  To help you find answers for 

these and other questions about your professional responsibilities, the State Bar of 

California has a variety of resources available: 

 The State Bar publishes a booklet called The California State Bar Act and Rules 

of Professional Conduct that contains the provisions of the Business and 

Professions Code and California Rules of Court relevant to attorneys, the Rules 

of Professional Conduct and other statutes contained in other codes relevant to 

your professional responsibilities, including the Evidence Code and the Civil 

Code.  This booklet is available from the State Bar for a fee.  To order a copy, 

call (415) 538-2112. 

 The State Bar offers a toll-free, confidential Ethics Hotline, which you can call 

to discuss ethics issues with staff who are specially trained to refer you to 

relevant authorities.  The Ethics Hotline can be reached at 1-800-2-ETHICS or 

1-800-238-4427. 

 The State Bar publishes a multi-volume desk reference called the California 

Compendium on Professional Responsibility, which contains ethics opinions 

issued by the State Bar, the Los Angeles, San Francisco and San Diego county 

bar association ethics committees, the authorities in The California State Bar 

Act and Rules of Professional Conduct, the American Bar Association Rules 

and Code, the Code of Judicial Conduct, and a detailed subject matter index that 

will direct you to the relevant authorities.  The Compendium, which costs 

$145.00 (plus tax), is updated annually for an additional $50 per year.  To order 

a copy, call (415) 538-2148. 



 The State Bar publishes the California State Bar Court Reporter, which includes 

the full text of published opinions of the State Bar Court Review Department, 

comprehensive headnotes, case summaries and a detailed index and digest.  A 

subscription to the California State Bar Court Reporter costs $375, and may be 

ordered by calling (415) 538-2017. 

 The Legal Services Trust Fund Program (LSTFP) works with lawyers and 

financial institutions to make California’s IOLTA program a success. Staff is 

available to answer questions and to help financial institutions and lawyers with 

their IOLTA accounts. Additional copies of the relevant statutes, State Bar 

Rules, and IOLTA forms are available upon request, or may be downloaded 

from www.calbar.ca.gov.  For assistance or additional information, please 

contact Legal Services Trust Fund Program, the State Bar of California, 180 

Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94105-1639, or email iolta@calbar.ca.gov. 

You also can call one of the compliance auditors at (415) 538-2046 or (415) 

538-2227.  The LSTFP welcomes your comments and suggestions. 

 

                                                                                                                               



1 

SECTION I:  THE IMPORTANCE OF CLIENT TRUST ACCOUNTING 

If you died suddenly, would your clients—or the executors who have to answer to your clients—be 

able to tell how much of the money in your various professional accounts belonged to each client? If 
a State Bar investigator asked you to account for a particular client's money, would you be able to 

do so? Would they find complete, systematic, up-to-date records showing what's been received and 

paid out for each client, or would they find a random assortment of cancelled checks, unopened 
bank statements, and checkbook registers full of cryptic notations and rounded-off figures? In these 

situations, the fact that you ―have it all in your head‖ isn't going to help your clients find their 
money or satisfy the State Bar. 

There are two completely mistaken ideas about client trust accounting. One idea is that client trust 

accounting is a mysterious, complicated process that requires years of training and innate 

mathematical ability. The other is that ―maintaining a client trust account‖ simply means opening a 
bank account and depositing clients' funds into it. 

The truth is that client trust accounting is a simple set of procedures that is easy to learn and easy to 

practice. It doesn't require financial wizardry or mathematical genius; all it requires is consistent, 
careful application. But as simple as it is, client trust accounting still means more than keeping 

money in the bank. A bank account is something you have; client trust accounting is something you 

do in order to know—and to show your clients that you know—how much of the money in your 
account belongs to each client. To clear up this confusion, in this handbook, we never say ―client 

trust account.‖ We say ―client trust accounting‖—when we mean what you have to do to account for 

your clients' money—or ―client trust bank account‖—when we mean the bank account where you 
keep your clients' money. 

Whether you find it easy or difficult, the fact is that if you agree to hold money in trust, you take on 

a non-delegable, personal fiduciary responsibility to account for every penny as long as the funds 
remain in your possession. Whomever you hire to do your books or fill out your deposit slips, you 

have full responsibility for his or her actions when you receive money in trust. This responsibility 

can't be transferred, and it isn't excused by ignorance, inattention, incompetence or dishonesty by 
you, your employees or your associates. The legal and ethical obligation to account for those monies 

is yours and yours alone, regardless of how busy your practice is or how hopeless you are with 
numbers. You may employ others to help you fulfill this duty, but if you do you must provide 

adequate training and supervision. Failure to live up to this responsibility can result in personal 

monetary liability, fee disputes, loss of clients and public discipline. 

The essence of client trust accounting is contained in these three words: 

Client—These duties arise in the context of an attorney-client relationship, regardless of whether 
you are paid for your services, and are as inviolable as your duty to maintain client confidences. 

These duties may also be owed to third parties.  

Trust—The willingness of people to trust a complete stranger with money just because the stranger 
is an attorney is a fundamental aspect of the attorney-client relationship, and maintaining that trust 

is the duty of every individual attorney and a matter of supreme public interest. 

Accounting—The way to fulfill your clients' trust is to be able at any time to make a full and 

accurate accounting of all money you've received, held and paid out on their behalf.  

That's all ―client trust accounting‖ means. If you follow the simple procedures explained below, you 

will never have to worry about failing to live up to your duties as a fiduciary no matter how 

complex or busy your practice. 
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SECTION II:  THE RULES 

California's Rule of Professional Conduct 4-100 is called ―Preserving Identity of Funds and Property 

of a Client.‖ The whole point of rule 4-100—and client trust accounting—is to make sure you know 
exactly how much of the money you are holding for clients belongs to each individual client. 

Imagine how you'd feel if you asked your bank how much money was in your personal account, and 

they explained that they couldn't tell you because business was booming and keeping exact records of 

so much money for so many people would just take too much time. You'd probably feel that if 
knowing how much of your money they have is too much trouble, the bank shouldn't be holding your 

money. That's exactly how your clients feel about you. You keep records so you can give your clients 
an accounting of their money; failing to do so is a violation of your professional responsibilities. 

Keeping track of exactly what's happening with a client's money is your personal, non-delegable 

ethical responsibility. The minute you don't keep track, you are in violation of the client trust 

accounting rules. The longer you don't know, the more violations you're likely to stumble into, and if 
you keep stumbling, sooner or later you're going to stumble into a State Bar investigation. 

And don't think if you keep enough of your own money in the client trust bank account that 

everything's alright. Not only doesn't that satisfy your professional responsibility to your clients, it 
constitutes an additional violation known as ―commingling.‖ In short, the only adequate way to fulfill 

your fiduciary responsibility to your clients is to keep track of, at all times, how much of their money 

you have in your client trust bank account. 

Maintaining a common client trust bank account in which the funds of more than one client are held is 
fine, as long as you keep an accurate record of what belongs to each client. That's what client trust 

accounting is all about. 

California Rule of Professional Conduct 4-100 

In some states, rules and statutes spell out detailed recordkeeping requirements for attorneys. 
California’s approach is to set forth minimum standards under Rule 4-100(C). (See Appendix 2, pages 

49-51, for the text.) 

Rule 4-100 only requires that you maintain sufficient records so that you keep track of how much 

money you are holding for each client at all times, and you can later prove that you knew it. 

Rule 4-100 essentially comes down to this: 

 All funds you receive from or hold for a client must be deposited into a bank account that is 

clearly labeled as a client trust bank account. 

 When you receive other properties on behalf of a client, you have to identify what you've 

received in your written records, actually label the properties to identify the owner, and 
immediately put them into a safe deposit box or some other place of safe keeping. 

 All client trust bank accounts must be maintained in California, unless it is more convenient 

for the client for the account to be located elsewhere. In that case, you have to get the client's 

consent in writing before you can deposit the client's funds outside of California. 

 Whenever you receive money or other property on behalf of a client, you have to promptly 

notify that client of that fact. 

 You can't deposit any money belonging to you or your law firm into any of your client trust 

bank accounts (except for the small amounts of money necessary to cover bank charges). 
This is known as commingling. 
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 You can't keep any money belonging to you or your law firm (other than money for bank 

charges) in any of your client trust bank accounts. This is also known as commingling. That 
means that when you're holding client money that includes your fees, you have to take those 

fees out of the client trust bank account as you earn them. It's not a matter of your 
convenience; you are ethically required to withdraw your money from that account as soon as 

you reasonably can. (In fact, it would be a good idea for you to withdraw your fees on a 

regular basis, perhaps when you do your monthly reconciliation. See Reconciliation, page 
28.  See also, State Bar Formal Op. No. 2005-169, Appendix 6, page 89.) 

 Money held in a client trust bank account becomes yours and not the client's as soon as, in 

the words of rule 4-100(A)(2), your ―interest in that portion becomes fixed.‖ BUT—and this 
is a big but—you can't withdraw any fees that the client disputes. As far as you're concerned, 

from the moment a client disputes your fee, that money is frozen in the client trust bank 

account until the fee dispute is resolved. As soon as your interest becomes fixed and is not in 
dispute, you are obligated to withdraw that money promptly from the client trust bank 

account.   (See Appendix 3, page 73, for references to disciplinary cases and Appendix 6, 
page 95, for State Bar Formal Opinion 2006-171 which discuss the issue of a redeposit of 

funds withdrawn from a trust account.)  

 When your clients ask you for money or other properties that you're holding for them, you 

must deliver them promptly. 

 When clients ask you how much money you're holding for them or what you've done with 
the money while you've had it, you must tell them. 

 When the State Bar asks you how much money you're holding for the client or what you've 

done with it while you've had it, you must tell the State Bar. 

 For at least five years after disbursement you have to keep complete records of all client 
money, securities or other properties that are entrusted to you.  

What rule 4-100(C) requires, as the mandatory minimum, is: 

 Client Ledger. This is a written ledger for each client that details every monetary transaction 

on behalf of that client. If you have a common client trust bank account in which the funds of 

more than one client are deposited, this is where you keep track of individual clients' money. 

 Account Journal. This is a written journal for each client trust bank account. This is where 

you keep track of the money going in and out of a client trust bank account. When you have a 

bank account that's designated solely for one client's money, the account journal will be 
identical to the client ledger. 

 Bank Statements and Cancelled Checks. You must keep all bank statements and cancelled 

checks for each client trust bank account, individual or common. These records show that the 
entries in your client ledger and account journal are accurate.  

 Reconciliation. You must keep a written record showing that every month you ―reconciled‖ 

or balanced the account journals you keep for each client trust bank account against the client 

ledgers you keep for each client and the cancelled checks and bank statements for those 
accounts. 

 Journal of Other Properties. You must keep a written journal of all securities or other 

properties you hold in trust for clients that explains what you are holding, who you are 
holding it for, when you received it, when you distributed it, and who you distributed it to. 
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Duties to Third Parties 

In some circumstances, you have the same duties to third parties as you have to your clients for 

money you've received and paid out in the context of an attorney-client relationship. An attorney who 

receives money on behalf of a party who is not the attorney's client becomes a fiduciary to the party. 

Where an attorney assumes the responsibility to disburse funds as agreed by the parties in an action, 
the attorney owes an obligation to the party who is not the attorney's client to ensure compliance with 

the terms of the agreement. If there is a dispute between the client and the third party, the attorney 

must retain the funds in trust until the resolution of the dispute. 

Even though Rule of Professional Conduct 4-100(B)(4), requiring payment of client funds upon 
demand, refers only to an attorney's obligation to pay clients, the rule also applies in instances where 

an attorney is in possession of funds to be paid to a client's medical provider. Accordingly, where an 
attorney failed to honor a medical lien and failed to make agreed-upon payments to the doctor, the 

attorney could properly be found culpable of violating Rule of Professional Conduct 4-100. (See 

When MUST You Make Payments, page 20.) 

An attorney's duty does not end with payment to the client of the client's ultimate share of the 

recovery. The attorney has an ongoing fiduciary duty to the client to hold in trust the remaining 

settlement funds subject to further directions from the client regarding disbursement. Therefore, an 
attorney's responsibilities to the client requires honoring the client's agreements with medical lien 

providers. 

Business and Professions Code Sections 6211-6213 

When a client gives you a ―nominal‖ amount of money, or money that you hold for too short a period 

of time to earn income in excess of the costs to hold the funds for the benefit of the client, you must 
hold the money in a common client trust bank account, called an ―Interest on Lawyers’ Trust 

Account‖ (―IOLTA account‖).  (See ―IOLTA‖ Accounts, page 11.) That account is set up so that your 
bank pays the interest or dividends the account earns to the State Bar. By law, the State Bar 

distributes this money to programs that provide legal services in civil matters to indigent people, as 

defined by statute. Your responsibilities with respect to IOLTA accounts are governed by Business 
and Professions Code sections 6211-6213. (See Appendix 2, page 61-65, for the text of those sections 

and pages 70 for the State Bar IOLTA rules, Title 2, Division 5 of the Rules of the State Bar of 
California.) 

Other Regulations Relating to Clients and Money 

There are other rules relating to clients and money that, while not directly related to client trust 

accounting, are so fundamental to the attorney-client relationship that we have to mention them in this 

handbook. These rules, which relate to setting fees, fee agreements, fee disputes, loans to and from 
clients, securing payment of fees and cash reporting requirements, are discussed in Appendix 1, and 

the text of these rules can be found in Appendix 2. 
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SECTION III:  KEY CONCEPTS IN CLIENT TRUST ACCOUNTING 

The following seven key concepts are all the background you need in order to understand your client 

trust accounting responsibilities. 

Key Concept 1: Separate Clients Are Separate Accounts 

Client A's money has nothing to do with Client B's money. Even when you keep them in a common 
client trust bank account (such as in an IOLTA account), each client's funds are completely separate 

from those of all your other clients. In other words, you are NEVER allowed to use one client's 

money to pay either another client's or your own obligations. 

When you keep your clients' money in a common client trust bank account, the way to distinguish one 

client's money from another's is to keep a client ledger (as required by rule 4-100(C)) of each 

individual client's funds. The client ledger tells you how much money you've received on behalf of 
each client, how much money you've paid out on behalf of each client, and how much money each 

client has left in your common client trust bank account. If you are holding money in your common 

client trust bank account for 10 clients, you have to maintain 10 separate client ledgers. If you keep 

each client's ledger properly, you will always know exactly how much of the money in your common 

client trust bank account belongs to each client. If you don't, you will lose track of how much money 
each client has, and when you make payments out of your client trust bank account, you won't know 

which client's money you are using. 

Also note, if your client's money can earn income in excess of the costs incurred to hold the account, 

either because the funds are large enough in amount or are held for a long period of time, then you 
cannot place the funds in an IOLTA account. (See "IOLTA" Accounts, page 11 and What MUST 

Be Held in Your IOLTA Account?, page 17.) 

Key Concept 2: You Can't Spend What You Don't Have 

Each client has only his or her own funds available to cover their expenses, no matter how much 
money belonging to other clients is in your common client trust bank account. Your common client 

trust bank account might have a balance of $100,000, but if you are only holding $10.00 for a certain 

client, you can't write a check for $10.50 on behalf of that client without using some other client's 
money. 

The following example graphically illustrates this concept. Assume you are holding a total of $5,000 

for four clients in your common client trust bank account as follows: 

Client A  $1,000 

Client B  $2,000 

Client C  $1,500 

Client D  $   500 

Total  $5,000 

If you write a check for $1,500 from the common client trust bank account for Client D, $1,000 of 

that check is going to be paid for by Clients A, B and C. The funds you are holding in trust for them 
are being used for Client D's expenses. You should have a total of $4,500 for Clients A, B and C, but 

you only have $3,500 left in the trust account. In State Bar disciplinary matters, a finding of a failure 

to maintain a sufficient client trust account balance will support a finding of misappropriation. 
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Key Concept 3: There's No Such Thing As a ―Negative Balance‖ 

It's not uncommon in personal checkbooks for people to write checks against money they haven't 

deposited yet or hasn't cleared yet, and show this as a ―negative balance.‖ In client trust accounting, 

there's no such thing as a negative balance. A ―negative balance‖ is at best a sign of negligence and, at 

worst, a sign of theft. (Don't think that because you have―automatic overdraft protection‖ on your 
client trust bank account and the check doesn't bounce, you have fulfilled your client trust account 

responsibilities.  See ―Automatic overdraft protection‖on pages 10-11.) 

In client trust accounting, there are only three possibilities: 

You have a positive balance (while you are holding money for a client); 
You have a zero balance (when all the client's money has been paid out); or 

You have a balance of less than zero (a so-called ―negative balance‖) and a problem. 

Key Concept 4: Timing Is Everything 

It takes anywhere from a day to several weeks after you make a deposit before the money becomes 

―available for use.‖ A client's funds aren't ―available‖ for you to use on the client's behalf until they 
have cleared the banking process and been credited by the bank to your client trust bank account. 

(This is especially true when you receive an insurance company's settlement draft —which cannot 
clear until the company actually receives the draft at its home office during the bank collection 

process and honors the draft. Thus, insurance company settlement drafts will take longer to clear your 

account.) If you write a check for a client at any time before that client's funds clear the banking 
process and are credited to your client trust bank account, ordinarily either the check will bounce or 

you will be using other clients' money to cover the check. 

The time it takes for client trust account funds to become available after deposit depends on the form 
in which you deposit them. Every bank has different procedures, so when you open your client trust 

bank account, get the bank's schedule of when funds are available for withdrawal. Depending on the 

instrument, you may have to wait as many as 15 working days before you can be reasonably confident 
that the funds are available. For example, even if you make a cash deposit, the money may not be 

available for use until the following day. If you deposit a personal check from an out-of-state bank, 

the money will take longer to be available. Either way, until the bank has credited a client's deposit to 
your client trust bank account, you can't pay out any portion of that money for that client. 

You also need to know what time your bank has set as the deadline for posting deposits to that day's 

business and for paying checks presented to it. Otherwise, even when you have deposited cash, you 
may end up drawing on uncollected funds. For example, let's say your bank credits any deposit made 

after 3 p.m. on the following day, but stays open for business until 5 p.m. Your client arrives at 3:30 

and gives you $5,000 in cash which you immediately deposit. At 4 p.m., you write a client trust bank 
account check to an investigator against that money. If the investigator presents the check for 

payment at the bank before it closes at 5 p.m., the check will either bounce or be covered by other 
clients' money. 

You may be tempted to do your client a favor by writing a check to the client for settlement proceeds 

before the settlement check has cleared because you know there's money belonging to other clients in 

your client trust bank account to cover this client's check. Depending on the circumstances, your 

client may insist that you do this. Don't. If you do, you'll end up writing a check to one client using 

another clients' money. You shouldn't help one client at the expense of your obligations to your other 
clients. In other words, no matter how expedient or kind or convenient it seems, don't make payments 

on your clients' behalf before their deposited funds have cleared. Otherwise, sooner or later, you'll end 

up spending money your clients don't have. 

Some banks offer an ―instant credit‖ arrangement where the bank agrees to immediately credit 
accounts for deposits while the bank waits for the funds from another financial institution. Beware of 
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this service because it is, in essence, a loan to the attorney that is deposited in the client trust bank 

account, and thus a commingling of funds. (An ―instant credit‖ arrangement may also be offered as a 
form of overdraft protection.  Refer to the discussion at pages 10-11.) 

Key Concept 5: You Can't Play the Game Unless You Know the Score 

In client trust accounting, there are two kinds of balances: the ―running balance‖ of the money you are 

holding for each client, and the ―running balance‖ of each client trust bank account.  

A ―running balance‖ is the amount you have in an account after you add in all the deposits (including 
interest earned, etc.) and subtract all the money paid out (including bank charges for items like wire 

transfers, etc.). In other words, the running balance is what's in the account at any given time. The 
running balance for each client is kept on the client ledger, and the running balance for each client 

trust bank account is kept on the account journal. (A sample client ledger and a sample account 

journal are shown in Appendix 4, pages 81 and 82.) 

Maintaining a running balance for a client is simple. Every time you make a deposit on behalf of a 
client, you write the amount of the deposit in the client ledger and add it to the previous balance. 

Every time you make a payment on behalf of the client, you write the amount in the client ledger and 
subtract it from the previous balance. The result is the running balance. That's how much money the 

client has left to spend. 

You figure out the running balance for the client trust bank account the same way. Every time you 

make a deposit to the client trust bank account, you write the amount of the deposit in the account 
journal and add it to the previous balance. Every time you make a payment from the client trust bank 

account, you write the amount in the account journal and subtract it from the previous balance. The 

result is the running balance. That's how much money is in the account. 

Since ―you can't spend what you don't have‖ (Key Concept 2: You Can't Spend What You Don't 

Have, page 5), you should check the running balance in each client's client ledger before you write 

any client trust bank account checks for that client. That way, if your records are accurate and up-to-
date, it's almost impossible to pay out more money than the client has in the account. 

Key Concept 6: The Final Score Is Always Zero 

The goal in client trust accounting is to make sure that every dollar you receive on behalf of a client is 

ultimately paid out. What comes in for each client must equal what goes out for that client; no more, 
no less. 

Many attorneys have small, inactive balances in their client trust bank accounts. Sometimes these 

balances are the result of a mathematical error, sometimes they are part of a fee you forgot to take, 

and sometimes a check you wrote never cleared or wasn't cashed. 

Whatever the reason, as long as the money is in your client trust bank account, you are responsible for 
it. The longer these funds stay in the bank, the harder it is to account for them. Therefore, you should 

take care of those small, inactive balances as soon as possible, including, if necessary, following up 
with payees to find out why a check hasn't cleared. 

If you take steps to take care of these small balances and are still unable to pay out the funds, you 

should consider whether the unclaimed monies escheat to the state pursuant to Code of Civil 

Procedure section 1518. (See Appendix 2, page 49, for the text.)  

Key Concept 7: Always Maintain an Audit Trail 

An ―audit trail‖ is the series of bank-created records, like cancelled checks, bank statements, etc., that 
make it possible to trace what happened to the money you handled. An audit trail should start 

whenever you receive funds on behalf of a client and should continue through the final check you 
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issue against them. Without an audit trail, you have no way to show that you have taken proper care 

of your clients' money, or to explain what you did with the money if any questions come up. The 
audit trail is also an important tool for tracking down accounting errors. If you don't maintain an audit 

trail, you will find it hard to correct the small mistakes, like errors in addition or subtraction, and the 
big mistakes, like miscredited deposits, that are inevitable when you handle money. 

The key to making a good audit trail is being descriptive. Let's say you are filling out a deposit slip 

for five checks relating to three separate clients. All the bank requires you to do is write in the bank 

identification code for each check and the check amounts. This doesn't identify which client the 
money belongs to. If you include the name of the client and keep a copy or make a duplicate, you will 

know which client the check was for, which is the purpose of an audit trail. That will make it easy to 
answer any questions that come up, even years later. 

By the same token, every check you write from your client trust bank account should indicate which 

client it's being written for, so that it's easy to match up the money with the client. That means you 

should NEVER make out a client trust bank account check to cash, because there's no way to know 
later who actually cashed the check. If you are handling more than one case for the client, indicate 

which matter the payments and receipts relate to on your checks and deposit slips. 

A good audit trail, one that will make it easy for you to explain what happened to each client's money 
and to correct accounting errors, requires that you keep more than just the minimum records required 

by rule 4-100(C). In the following list of elements of a good audit trail, records that are required by 

rule 4-100(C) are in bold. (See What Bank-Created Records Do You Have to Keep?, page 22.) 
Records that aren't in bold are important for keeping track of your clients' money but are not specified 

in the rule 4-100(C) standards. 

A good audit trail should include: 

 The initial deposit slip (or a duplicate copy or bank receipt). This should show the date the 
deposit slip was filled out; the amount of the deposit; the name or file number of the client on 

whose behalf the money was received; who the money came from; and the bank's date stamp 

showing the day the deposit was actually received. 

 The bank statement which shows when the deposit was actually posted by the bank. 

 The checkbook stub, which should show when payments were made, how much the 
payments were, to whom they were made and in connection with which client matter they 

were made. 

 The cancelled check. In a good audit trail, the check should show the date the check was 
drawn; the amount of payment; who the check was made out to; the purpose of0 the check 

(or the matter it relates to); the order in which the check was negotiated (from the 

endorsements); and the date it was deposited for collection. 

 The bank statement which shows the date the trust account was actually charged for the 

check. 

 Copies of the front and back of any executed drafts, especially insurance settlement 

drafts, received on behalf of a client. 
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SECTION IV: OPENING A CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT 

Rule of Professional Conduct 4-100(A) states: 

All funds received or held for the benefit of clients by a member or law firm, 
including advances for costs and expenses, shall be deposited in one or more 
identifiable bank accounts labeled 'Trust Account,' 'Client's Funds Account,' or words 
of similar import . . . . 

In other words, whenever you receive or hold money for clients—or any other persons with whom 
you have a fiduciary relationship—you have to deposit the money into a specifically labeled client 
trust bank account. As we detail below, client trust bank accounts are a special kind of bank account. 
Bankers who have experience with them can help you set up and administer your client trust bank 
account properly. When you first open the account, make sure the bankers you're dealing with know 
what a client trust bank account is; if they don't, ask to work with someone else. 

General Dos and Don'ts 

Client trust bank accounts: 

 Must be identified as a client trust bank account. Rule 4-100(A) says that the name of any 
account where you keep your clients' money must clearly tell the bank, your clients, your 
employees, the State Bar, the people you pay out your clients' funds to and everyone else that 
it is a client trust bank account. Whatever name you choose, you can avoid all kinds of 
problems if the name of the account is prominently displayed on all your client trust bank 
account checks, deposit slips and other documents.  Make sure that papers relating to your 
client trust bank account look different from those relating to your personal account or your 
general office account. For example, you can have your client trust bank account checks 
printed on paper that's a different color than your other checks. 

 Must be maintained in California. Rule 4-100(A) says you are only allowed to keep client 
funds outside of California when you have the written consent of your client. Unless most of 
your clients are from out-of-state and you routinely get their written consent to keep their 
funds somewhere else, your common client trust bank account must be maintained in 
California. 

 Should be maintained in a financially stable bank. Consider selecting a bank that is regulated 
by a federal or state agency and that carries deposit insurance from an agency of the federal 
government.  As your client’s fiduciary, you are responsible for protecting your client funds.  
Note that FDIC insurance coverage differs depending on the type of account that you use.  If 
you use an IOLTA account, the funds deposited may be entitled to unlimited insurance 
coverage. (See page 12 for discussion of IOLTA Accounts and FDIC Insurance).  If you use 
a non-IOLTA interest bearing trust account, the funds deposited may be subject to a 
$250,000 per client insurance coverage limit.  The per-client limit includes all money the 
client has on deposit at that bank. In other words, if you are holding $150,000 for a client at a 
certain bank, and the client has another $150,000 on deposit at the same bank, only $250,000 
of the $300,000 the client is holding in the bank is covered.   

Even if all your clients' money is covered by insurance, by the time the FDIC pays your 
clients their money, your clients could have, for example, missed a business opportunity. (As 
we will discuss later, if your bank goes under, you also may have a hard time getting copies 
of your client trust bank account records.)  Like most client trust accounting problems, the 
answer requires thoughtful consideration of all relevant factors with the basic goal of keeping 
your client trust accounts in banks that you're reasonably sure are financially secure.   

 Should limit accessibility of funds. Ideally, you should be the only person authorized to sign 
client trust bank account checks and otherwise pay out client funds. However, for practical 
reasons, many practitioners make their secretaries, bookkeepers or spouses authorized 
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signatories. Since you are individually, personally accountable for all client funds you receive 
or hold in trust, and since this accountability can't be delegated to anyone else, allowing other 
people access to your client trust bank account is risky. By the same token, you should never 
pre-sign client trust bank account checks and leave them for employees to issue.  

 Should NOT have ATM access. Your fiduciary responsibility is to account for your clients' 
money. When you write a client trust bank account check, you create an audit trail that makes 
it easy to trace who the money came from and where it went. (See Key Concept 7: Always 
Maintain an Audit Trail, page 7.) A client trust bank account with ATM access makes it 
possible for you—or anyone who knows the account code—to withdraw your clients' money 
in cash, and it's very hard to account for cash. ATM withdrawals are an audit trail disaster. 
When you make an ATM withdrawal, the only record of what happened to the money is a 
little slip of paper that shows the date and the amount of the withdrawal; there's nothing that 
shows which client's money was withdrawn, who withdrew the money or who the money 
was paid to. This includes withdrawing your fees, since there's no indication of which client's 
fees you were paying. Even if you put all the descriptive information on an ATM receipt, it 
won't prove to your clients or a State Bar investigator what happened to the money. ATM 
access should be distinguished from ―online‖ banking. Whether online banking is offered for 
common client trust bank accounts is the bank’s prerogative in determining which financial 
products it will offer. If online banking is offered, it is your responsibility to ensure that the 
online banking mechanisms create an audit trail that complies with all of your obligations.  

 May include ―automatic overdraft protection,‖ provided that the bank’s terms do not result in 
a commingling violation.  (Refer to the discussion of commingling at page 3.)  Automatic 
overdraft protection can benefit your clients by assuring that the important checks you’ve 
written on a client’s matter will not bounce if a bank error or delay causes an unanticipated 
shortfall in your client trust bank account.  The State Bar’s Committee on Professional 
Responsibility and Conduct (―COPRAC‖) has opined that: ―An attorney does not commit an 
ethical violation merely by obtaining or using overdraft protection on a Client Trust Account, 
so long as the protection in question does not entail the commingling of the attorney's funds 
with the funds of a client.‖ (State Bar Formal Op. No. 2005-169.  See Appendix 6, page 89, for 
the text.)  Generally, ―automatic overdraft protection‖ means that whenever you write a check 
for more money than is in your account, the bank will automatically make you a personal loan 
and apply those funds to your account to keep the check from bouncing.  This optional account 
feature may also be offered as an ―instant credit‖ arrangement where the bank agrees to 
immediately credit accounts for deposits while the bank waits for the funds from another 
financial institution.  As discussed in the COPRAC opinion, a commingling problem does not 
arise if your bank’s automatic overdraft protection operates according to terms that compensate 
exactly for the amount that the overdraft exceeds the funds on deposit.  In contrast, overdraft 
protection that automatically deposits a set amount (i.e., a deposit or credit of $200 to cover a 
$155 overdraft) will leave a residual balance of funds after covering the amount of insufficient 
funds.  This residue in your client trust bank account is money that belongs to you and not to 
any of your clients and creates the commingling problem.   

There are additional considerations in deciding whether to use automatic overdraft 
protection.  With the exception of bank errors, one important consideration is that you should 
never have insufficient funds in your client trust bank account in the first place; if you do, 
you're in violation of your professional responsibilities. Overdraft protection is not a 
substitute for the proper handling of clients’ money.  It can, however, help protect your 
clients from the effects of accounting errors by you or your bank.  You should be aware that 
regardless of whether you have overdraft protection to keep a check from bouncing, the State 
Bar will find out about it. Business and Professions Code section 6091.1 requires financial 
institutions to report these transactions to the State Bar. (See Appendix 2, page 52, for the text.)  
This means that banks will report not only checks that are rejected for insufficient funds, but 
also checks that are paid against insufficient funds. The statute also requires financial 
institutions to notify the State Bar when a client trust bank account check is written against an 
account that is closed. 
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By the time you hear from the State Bar, several weeks may have passed since you had the 
problem with your client trust bank account. Do not assume that your bank has or will provide 
an explanation to the State Bar. When an overdraft of a client trust bank account occurs, it is 
possible that your bank made an error or is aware of funds not yet credited to your account. The 
bank may owe you, their customer, an explanation, but it is your responsibility to provide an 
explanation to the State Bar.  

A report to the State Bar pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 6091.1 doesn't 
automatically mean that you are being investigated by the State Bar.  However, if you fail to 
provide the State Bar with a satisfactory explanation or if the problem occurs more than once, 
an investigation may result. Remember, banks routinely charge for handling checks returned 
for insufficient funds, even if the bank pays them. The bank may also charge you for handling 
checks you deposit in your client trust bank account if the check is returned unpaid from the 
maker's bank. These charges should be handled like any other bank charges. (See What MAY 
Go Into Your Client Trust Bank Account? page 15.) 

Know Your Bank 

From the moment you make the first deposit into your client trust bank account, handling your clients' 
money means dealing with your bank. Every bank has different procedures; not knowing those 
procedures can hurt you and your clients. For every bank in which you maintain a client trust bank 
account, make sure you get the answers to the questions in Key Concept 4, Timing is Everything—what 
is your bank's schedule for clearing deposits, what is your bank's daily deadline for crediting deposits 
and what is your bank's daily deadline for paying checks drawn on it—and the following: 

 On what day of the month does the bank usually send out statements of account activity? 
Every bank sends out monthly statements that show what deposits have been credited to and 
what payments have been withdrawn from each account. Rule 4-100(C) requires you to do 
monthly reconciliations of your client trust bank accounts to make sure that your records match 
the bank's records. (See Reconcile the Account Journal with the Bank Statement, page 37.) 
If you know when you can expect to receive the bank statement, you can schedule a regular 
time every month to do this. 

Knowing when to expect your bank statement can also help you guard against theft by an 
associate or an employee. If someone is stealing from your client trust bank account, the bank 
statement should show it. An in-house thief may try to hide by concealing incriminating bank 
statements; if you're looking for the bank statement in the mail every month, the thief won't be 
able to hide for long.  Be sure to review both the bank statements and cancelled checks to avoid 
potential problems. 

 What does your bank charge for and how much will you have to pay? As we've discussed, 
you need to know what bank charges to expect so that you can ensure that you or your clients 
always have money in the account to cover them. Ask your banker about bank fees and charges. 

―IOLTA‖ Accounts 

When a client gives you a ―nominal‖ amount of money, or you will be holding a client's money for a 
―short period of time,‖ Business and Professions Code section 6211 states that you must hold the money 
in a common client trust bank account which is set up so that the interest the account earns will be 
paid to the State Bar for the Legal Services Trust Fund Program.  

Since most attorneys at some time hold money for clients that is ―nominal in amount‖ or will be held 
for a ―short period of time,‖ the chances are that you will need to set up a common client trust bank 
account, which for convenience we've referred to as an ―IOLTA‖ account. (―IOLTA‖ stands for 
Interest On Lawyers Trust Accounts.) (For a discussion of how to decide which client funds should be 
held in an IOLTA account, see What MUST Be Held in Your IOLTA Account? page 17.) 

The idea behind the Legal Services Trust Fund Program is that attorneys often hold amounts of 
money for clients that are so small or will be held for such short periods of time that the interest the 
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money could earn for the client if it were held in a separate interest-bearing account would be less 
than the costs involved in earning or accounting for the interest. However, when these amounts of 
money are held in a common client trust account, they collectively can generate substantial interest. 
The Legal Services Trust Fund Program requires that this aggregate interest, which would 
otherwise benefit only the bank, is used to ensure that indigent Californians have access to legal 
services. 

Under Business and Professions Code section 6212, attorneys may hold IOLTA accounts only at 
eligible financial institutions. To be eligible, the rate of interest or dividends payable on an IOLTA 
account by the financial institution must be comparable to the interest or dividends paid to similarly 
situated non-IOLTA accounts. (See Appendix 7, page 99, for the State Bar’s list of IOLTA-eligible 
institutions as of February 1, 2011. This list is continuously updated so you should check the State 
Bar’s Web site for the most current list of IOLTA-eligible institutions 
(http://www.calbar.org/IOLTA).  If your financial institution is not already IOLTA-eligible, you 
should direct them to the Legal Services Trust Fund Program at (415) 538-2159 or 
iolta@calbar.ca.gov for information on becoming eligible. 

When you open an ―IOLTA‖ account, the bank will code the account with the State Bar's taxpayer 
identification number (94-6001385) so you don't have to worry about paying tax on the interest. 
The bank automatically transmits the interest to the State Bar, and handles all the reporting 
requirements. 

The State Bar must check to be sure that the bank sends the interest, so you must report to the State 
Bar when you open or close an IOLTA account. (See Reporting IOLTA Compliance to the State 
Bar, page 13.) 

Under Business and Professions Code section 6212(C), reasonable fees may be deducted from the 

interest remitted on an IOLTA account. Reasonable service charges include per-check charges, per-

deposit charges, monthly fees such as fees in lieu of minimum balance, federal deposit insurance 

fees, or sweep fees. However, the attorney is responsible for paying account expenses that are 

incurred in the ordinary course of business, such as charges for check printing, deposit stamps, 

collection charges, or insufficient fund charges. These fees may only be charged to the lawyer or 

law firm maintaining the IOLTA account and will not be deducted from the interest remitted on the 

account. 

In the event that fees routinely exceed interest earned and are charged by the bank to the attorney, 

an attorney may apply to the Legal Services Trust Fund Program to convert the IOLTA account to a 

non-interest bearing trust checking account.  In that case, the State Bar’s taxpayer identification 

number will be removed from the account, and the attorney will be responsible for all fees and 

charges incurred to maintain the account.  (See Unproductive IOLTA Accounts, page 14.) 

In addition to an attorney's duties in client trust account management, your bank has obligations as 

well. For a more detailed outline of the guidelines applicable to a bank's administration of IOLTA 

accounts, please refer to the State Bar Legal Services Trust Fund Program's Guide for Financial 

Institutions, available online at http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/IOLTA/Guidelines-for-Financial-

Institutions.pdf. 

IOLTA Accounts and FDIC Insurance  

Effective January 1, 2008, Business and Professions Code 6213 was amended to define ―IOLTA 

account‖ to mean an account or investment product that is:  1) an interest-bearing checking account; 2) 

an investment sweep product that is a daily (overnight) financial institution repurchase agreement or an 

open-end money-market fund; or, 3) any other investment product authorized by the California Supreme 

Court.  Consistent with that legislation, the California Supreme Court rescinded its 1982 order that 

previously required that IOLTA accounts be held in an institution that has its deposits insured by the 

federal government.  The legislation provides for strictly defined conservative safe investment sweep 
products, which are sometimes held on the investment side of the bank and therefore are not necessarily 

http://www.calbar.org/IOLTA
mailto:iolta@calbar.ca.gov
http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/IOLTA/Guidelines-for-Financial-Institutions.pdf
http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/IOLTA/Guidelines-for-Financial-Institutions.pdf
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deposit accounts covered by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).  The Court's new order 

is silent on federal insurance for deposits, but the State Bar is working on regulatory requirements with 

respect to financial institutions either through rule or revised legislation.   

If your IOLTA is held in an interest-bearing checking account that is insured by the FDIC, the funds 

deposited by you on behalf of one or more principals are insured as the funds of the principal (the 

actual owner) to the same extent as if the funds were deposited directly by the principal, provided all 

of the following requirements are met:  

 The fiduciary nature of the account must be disclosed in the account title.  

 The identities and the interests of the principals for whom the fiduciary is acting must be 

ascertainable from either the deposit account records of the bank, or records maintained in 

good faith and in the regular course of business by the depositor or by some person or entity 

that had undertaken to maintain such records for the depositor.‖ 

Until December 31, 2012, all funds held in an IOLTA account were insured in full by the FDIC under 

the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act as a ―noninterest-bearing 

transaction account.‖ With the expiration of this temporary policy, an IOLTA account now is subject 

to standard FDIC insurance limits. Generally, the limit will be $250,000 per owner of the funds 

(client), per financial institution, assuming that the account is properly designated as a trust account 

and proper accounting of each client’s funds is maintained.  For detailed information, including the 

following specific example of how the limit applies to an IOLTA account, visit the FDIC website at:  

http://www.fdic.gov/deposit/deposits/unlimited/expiration.html. The FDIC offers this example: 

. . . [I]f a law firm maintains an IOLTA with $250,000 attributable to Client A, $150,000 to 

Client B, and $75,000 to Client C, the account would be fully insured if the IOLTA meets the 

requirements for pass-through coverage.  If the clients have other funds at the same IDI, 

those funds would be added to their respective shares of the funds in the IOLTA for 

insurance coverage purposes.     

While the presence of FDIC insurance is important, a lawyer should note that even if all of a client’s 

funds are covered, by the time the FDIC pays a client their money, that client’s interests might be 

adversely impacted.  

For example, the delay may result in a missed business opportunity. Similarly, FDIC coverage will 

not help with the problem that could arise if a bank goes under and copies of a client’s trust bank 

account records need to be retrieved from that bank. 

Reporting IOLTA Compliance to the State Bar 

Rule 2.114 of the Rules of the State Bar of California requires attorneys to report compliance with the 

State Bar’s IOLTA program. (See Appendix 2, pages 70-72, for rules 2.100-2.118 of the Rules of the 

State Bar of California, which cover the duties of an attorney in trust account management.) 

Whenever you open or close an IOLTA account, you should promptly notify the State Bar.  

The State Bar has made it easy to report compliance by logging on to you’re My State Bar Profile 

account on the State Bar’s Web site and going to ―Report my IOLTA status.‖ You may also send a 

deposit slip or a voided blank check for the account with your bar membership number written on it to 

the Legal Services Trust Fund Program, State Bar of California, 180 Howard Street, San Francisco, 

CA 94105-1639.  (The fax number to the Legal Services Trust Fund Program is (415) 538-2529 and 

the e-mail address is iolta@calbar.ca.gov.)  

If you'll be sharing the account with other attorneys, e.g., partners or associates in your firm, each 

attorney should update their My State Bar Profile, or you may attach a list of the names and bar 

membership numbers of all the attorneys who'll be using the account to the deposit slip or voided check. 

http://www.fdic.gov/
http://www.fdic.gov/deposit/deposits/unlimited/faq.pdf
http://www.fdic.gov/deposit/deposits/unlimited/termination.html
http://www.fdic.gov/deposit/deposits/unlimited/expiration.html
http://www.fdic.gov/deposit/deposits/unlimited/expiration.pdf
mailto:iolta@calbar.ca.gov
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Unproductive IOLTA Accounts 

Normally, the bank will deduct reasonable service charges for holding an IOLTA account from the 

interest or dividends earned on the account. However, if service charges exceed the interest earned on 

an account during a remitting period, your bank has several options in determining how to deal with 

those excess fees. The bank may choose to maintain the account and write off or absorb any 

uncollected charges or offset the charges against future interest earnings on the account. However, the 

bank may instead choose to pass those service charges and costs to the lawyer. In the event that fees 

routinely exceed interest earned and the bank decides to charge the excess fees to the attorney, the 

attorney may apply to the Legal Services Trust Fund Program to convert the IOLTA account to a non-

interest bearing trust checking account. The State Bar’s taxpayer identification number will be 

removed from the account and the attorney will be responsible for the fees and charges incurred to 

maintain the account. (See Bank Charges, page 15.) 
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SECTION V: DEPOSITING MONEY INTO YOUR CLIENT TRUST BANK 
ACCOUNT 

As far as your fiduciary responsibility toward your clients is concerned, there are only three kinds of 
money: money that MUST go into your client trust bank account; money that MAY go into your 

client trust bank account; and money that MUST NOT go into your client trust bank account. 

What MUST Go into Your Client Trust Bank Account? 

Rule 4-100(A) says you have to put ―all funds received or held for the benefit of a client . . . including 
advances for costs and expenses‖ into your client trust bank account before you pay them out. The 

rule is that when you receive any money that your client has an interest in, it must be deposited into 

the client trust bank account and cleared before it can be paid out. 

Money ―received or held for the benefit of a client‖ includes: 

 Money that belongs to the client outright (e.g., funds from the sale of the client's property); 

 Money in which you and your client have a joint interest (e.g., settlement proceeds that 
include your contingency fee); 

 Money in which your client and a third party have a joint interest (e.g., money you hold for a 

partnership of which your client is a partner or funds from the sale of community property); and 

 Money that doesn't belong to your client at all but which you are holding as part of carrying 
out your representation of the client (e.g., when your client has commenced an action for 

interpleader). 

You should note that this rule doesn't include non-refundable retainer fees taken not for services to be 
rendered but solely to ensure your availability to the client. Since these retainers are completely 

earned the moment you receive them, they are your money, not your clients', and therefore you should 

never deposit them into your client trust bank account. Sometimes your client will give you a single 
check that includes both a non-refundable retainer fee and money that you will hold for the client, like 

an advance against expenses. In this case, deposit the check into your client trust bank account and 

write yourself a check for the retainer fee portion as soon as the check clears and the money becomes 
available, leaving only the money for the expenses in the client trust bank account. Under these 

circumstances, it might be simpler to have the client write two checks; one for your non-refundable 
retainer and another for client expenses. 

What MAY Go into Your Client Trust Bank Account? 

There are only two kinds of money that may be deposited into your client trust bank account: money to 

cover bank charges, and advance fees. Everything else either must or must not be deposited into the account. 

Bank charges. As we've mentioned, rule 4-100(A)(1) says you are allowed to deposit out of your 

own money ―funds reasonably sufficient to pay bank charges.‖ The rule allows you to keep your own 
money in the account to cover bank charges; it doesn't require you to. Some attorneys arrange with 

the bank to have those charges assessed against their general office accounts. 

If you deposit your own money into your client trust bank accounts to cover the charges, you may be 
concerned about how much is ―reasonably sufficient.‖ That depends on the kind of bank charges you 

expect and how often you expect to incur them. Talk to your banker and get an estimate of what you 

will be charged.  

As we've mentioned, the bank will automatically take the regular monthly service fee on an IOLTA 

account out of the income the account earns. (In the event that the regular monthly service fee is 
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greater than the interest or dividends the account earned that month, the bank may maintain the 

account and write-off or absorb any uncollected charges or maintain the account and accrue charges, 
offsetting them against future interest earnings on that account – in either case of those cases, the 

attorney will not be asked to pay those charges.  However, the bank also has the option to either pass 
these service charges and costs to the lawyer or law firm customer’s operating account or to require 

the lawyer or law firm to maintain a reasonable balance in the IOLTA account to cover the excess 

charges/fees.  Of course, either way you still are responsible for bank fees and charges that you 
normally would incur in the course of business.  You need to know what your bank fees and charges 

are on IOLTA accounts so you can make sure that you always have enough money in the account (or 
through a separate account) to cover them. 

Remember that a deposit of your own money to cover bank charges, like every deposit you make to your 

client trust bank account, must be properly recorded in the account journal for your client trust bank 

account, and a special ―bank charges‖ ledger. (See What Records Do YOU Have to Create?, page 22.) 

Advance fees. An ―advance fee‖ is money your client gives you upfront to pay the cost of legal 
representation. Unlike true retainers, which are paid to ensure your availability to a client and are 

therefore earned in full at the time you receive them, advance fees don't belong to you until you 

perform services for that client. If you don't perform all the services, you have to refund the unearned 

money. Therefore, while you aren't clearly required to, the simplest and safest thing to do is to hold 

advance fees in your client trust bank account and draw them out as you earn them. In fact, it would 
be a good idea for you to withdraw your fees on a regular basis, perhaps when you do your monthly 

reconciliation. (See Reconciliation, page 28.) 

Although advanced fees are not required to be maintained in a client trust account, case law has 
recognized a duty to account for such fees.  In the Matter of Fonte (Review Dept. 1994) 2 Cal. State 

Bar Ct. Rptr. 752, 756-758, the State Bar Court Review Department found that a lawyer violated rule 

4-100(B)(3) requiring a lawyer ―to maintain complete records of all funds, securities, and other 
properties of a client coming into the possession of the [lawyer] or law firm and render appropriate 

accounts to the client regarding them . . . . ‖.  In Fonte, the lawyer had taken a ―minimum‖ fee 

payment from the client, allegedly paid solely to secure the lawyer’s availability for the client’s 
matter.  The lawyer argued that he had no duty to account to the client because the minimum fee was 

a true retainer fee, earned upon receipt, and was not placed in the lawyer’s client trust account.  The 
lawyer argued that the duty to account found in rule 4-100(B)(3) applied only to fees placed in the 

lawyer’s client trust account.  The court disagreed, upholding the trial judge’s finding that 

―minimum‖ fee paid for more than just the lawyer’s availability and, therefore, was not a true retainer 
fee but simply an advance fee payment for service.  The court then held that the lawyer had a duty to 

account for lawyer’s fees taken out of the client’s advance fee payment, regardless of the fact that 
such fees were not deposited in the lawyer’s client trust account. 

The lesson of Fonte is that, except in the case of a true retainer fee which is paid solely to secure the 

lawyer’s availability and which is thereafter treated as such by the lawyer, lawyers have a duty to 

account to clients for advance fee payments, regardless of whether such fee payments are designated 
as ―nonrefundable‖ in the attorney-client fee agreement or whether such fee payments are deposited 

in the lawyer’s client trust account.  While such duty to account may appear onerous to some lawyers, 

an accounting effectively protects a lawyer, allowing the lawyer to show what services were 
performed for the client and that the advance fees were in fact earned.  A proper accounting can be 

the best defense against a client’s claim, in a court action or fee arbitration, that a refund of advance 
fees is due to the client. 

What MUST NOT Go into Your Client Trust Bank Account? 

Rule 4-100(A) says that, other than bank charge money, ―no funds that belong to the member or the 

law firm shall be deposited‖ into your client trust bank account. Unless one of your clients has an 

interest in the money, keep it out of your client trust bank account. NEVER put your personal or 
office money, including funds like employee payroll taxes, into your client trust bank account.  
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What MUST Be Held in Your IOLTA Account? 

As we've mentioned, Business and Professions Code section 6211 requires you to keep amounts of 

money that are ―nominal in amount‖ or ―on deposit or invested for a short period of time‖ in your 

IOLTA account.  Client funds that can earn revenue for the client in excess of the costs to hold those 

accounts must be deposited for the benefit of the client.  Thus, you are required to make the practical 
determination of whether your clients' money must be held in your IOLTA account. 

The constitutionality of California’s Legal Services Trust Fund Program was upheld in Carroll v. 

State Bar (1985) 166 Cal.App.3d 1193 [213 Cal.Rptr. 305] (see generally, Brown v. Legal 

Foundation of Washington (March 26, 2003) 538 U.S. 216, 123 S.Ct. 1406, 155 L.Ed.2d 376). In 
Carroll, the court suggested a convenient rule of thumb for determining whether client funds must be 

placed in the IOLTA account: your clients' money is ―nominal in amount‖ or being held ―for a short 
period of time‖ if the cost of opening and administering a separate, individual client trust bank 

account or otherwise accounting for the funds separately is greater than the amount of interest the 

money would earn for your client. 

Rule 2.110(A) of the Rules of the State Bar of California includes six factors that an attorney must 

consider in determining whether funds can earn income in excess of costs: 

 the amount of the funds to be deposited; 

 the expected duration of the deposit, including the likelihood of delay in resolving the matter 

for which the funds are held; 

 the rates of interest or dividends at eligible institutions where the funds are to be deposited; 

 the cost of establishing and administering non-IOLTA accounts for the client or third party’s 
benefit, including service charges, the costs of the member’s services, and the costs of 

preparing any tax reports required for income earned on the funds; 

 the capability of eligible institutions or the member to calculate and pay income to individual 
clients or third parties; 

 any other circumstances that affect the ability of the funds to earn a net return for the client or 

third party. 

To help you make this determination, the following chart shows that if you're holding $5,000 for a 

client for 209 days—about seven months—that money will earn $50 in interest. (The chart assumes 
the current highest interest rate of 1¾%, compounded daily. Since interest rates change constantly, 

and most are now lower than this you shouldn't rely too heavily on this chart.) However, if your bank 
charges $8 a month to keep a separate account open, by the time your client earns $50, the bank will 

have charged your client about $56. Therefore, the $5,000 must be deposited into your IOLTA 

account because the actual transactional costs would prevent it from earning net income for your 
client. 

Amount of Client Money           
You’re Holding 

Time Needed to Ear $50 Interest 

(At 1¾% Compounded Daily 

$ 5,000 
209 days 

$10,000 106 days 

$15,000 71 days 

$20,000 54 days 

$25,000 43 days 
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What if the money you are holding is not ―nominal in amount‖ or not being held for ―a short period of 

time‖?  While you are not required to earn interest for the client, in no case are you allowed to keep 
the interest your clients' money earns. In light of the fact that the funds would generate interest 

income for the client if held in a separate interest-bearing account and you are in a fiduciary 
relationship with the client, you should ordinarily place the funds in an interest-bearing account for 

the benefit of the client. Tell the bank to code the account with your client's taxpayer identification 

number. In addition, make sure the type of account you choose doesn't limit access to your client's 
money in any way that will harm your client. 

Your banker can help you figure out whether the amount of money a client has given you could 

generate net income for that client in a separate interest-bearing client trust bank account during the 
time you hold it, if you're having trouble deciding. Under rule 2.110(B), the State Bar will not bring 

disciplinary charges against an attorney for determining in good faith whether or not to place funds in 

an IOLTA account. However, rule 2.112 requires an attorney to review IOLTA accounts at 
reasonable intervals to determine whether changed circumstances warrant moving the funds out of the 

account.  
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SECTION VI:  PAYING MONEY OUT OF YOUR CLIENT TRUST BANK 
ACCOUNT 

Before you write your first client trust bank account check, there are five things you should know. 

What Payments CAN You Make? 

You can make any payments on behalf of your client out of your client trust bank account, including 
paying client costs and expenses (e.g., court filing fees or deposition transcript costs), disbursing 

settlement proceeds, paying yourself earned and undisputed legal fees, etc. You may also pay bank 
charges for the account. Those are the only payments you're allowed to make out of your client trust 

bank account. 

Bank charges. For individual client trust bank accounts, paying bank charges is simple: since all of 

the charges are incurred for the client for whom you have the account, you can pay the charges out of 
that client's money.  

For IOLTA accounts, paying bank charges is a little more complicated. Under amended Business and 

Professions Code section 6212(c), reasonable fees may be deducted from the interest remitted on an 
IOLTA account. Reasonable service charges include per-check charges, per-deposit charges, monthly 

fees such as fees in lieu of minimum balance, federal deposit insurance fees, or sweep fees. However, 

the attorney is responsible for paying account expenses that are incurred in the ordinary course of 
business, such as charges for check printing, deposit stamps, collection charges, or insufficient fund 

charges. These fees may only be charged to the lawyer or law firm maintaining the IOLTA account 

and will not be deducted from the interest remitted on the account. That’s why rule 4-100(A)(1) 
allows you to keep a little of your own money–an amount ―reasonably sufficient to cover bank 

charges‖–in your client trust bank accounts without violating the rules against commingling. 
However, when the bank charges for a service (e.g., for wiring money) for a specific client, you can 

treat the charge as you would any other cost and pay for it out of money you are holding for that 

client in the IOLTA account. 

What Payments CAN'T You Make? 

You can't make payments out of your client trust bank account to cover your own expenses, personal 
or business, or for any other purpose that isn't directly related to carrying out your duties to an 

individual client. You also can't pay money out of your client trust bank account on behalf of a client 
if the client doesn't have money available in the account to cover those payments. (See Key Concept 

2: You Can't Spend What You Don't Have, page 5.) 

You should also remember that you can't pay yourself legal fees that your client is disputing, whether 

or not you feel you've earned them. The moment a client disputes your fees, the disputed amount is 
frozen in your client trust bank account until the dispute is settled. When the amount of your fees is 

no longer in dispute, you have an ethical obligation to take those fees out of the client trust bank 
account as soon as you reasonably can.  

How Should You Make Payments? 

You should always pay out money from your client trust bank account by using a check, a wire 

transfer or another instrument that specifies who is getting the money and who is paying it out. You 

should never pay out money in cash, or with checks or other instruments made out to cash because 
you have no evidence of payment. (See Key Concept 7: Always Maintain an Audit Trail, page 7.) 

If you do make a payment in cash (or another instrument that doesn't give you a record of the 
transaction), you must get a receipt, or you have violated your professional responsibilities. 

Some attorneys carry blank client trust bank account checks around to pay client expenses that come 

up when they're out of the office. Don't. This is a bad practice which results in checks being written 
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out of numerical order (i.e., lower numbered checks being dated later than higher numbered checks), 

and, more often than not, a few checks disappearing altogether. That can make it hard to keep orderly 
records and reconcile your books. If you're out of the office and a client expense comes up, pay it out 

of your general office account and, when you get back to the office, write a client trust bank account 
check to reimburse yourself. 

Who Should Make Payments? 

As we've discussed, your clients have entrusted you with their money, and you are personally 

accountable for it. Giving other people access to your clients' money is even riskier than giving them 

access to your own money. If your money is stolen because you trusted the wrong person, all you lose 
is the money. If your clients' money is stolen because you trusted your employees or your spouse to 

sign client trust bank account checks, you can lose your clients' money, your professional reputation 
and even your license to practice law. Don't make a signature block or stamp for your client trust 

bank account checks; don't pre-sign blank client trust bank account checks. If you do, sooner or later 

some of your clients' money will be missing, and whether the cause is dishonesty or incompetence, 
you will bear responsibility for both the financial loss and the violation of your fiduciary 

responsibility. 

When Can You Make Payments? 

As we've discussed, you can only pay out money from your client trust bank account when the client 
you're making the payment for has money to cover the payment in the account. (See Key Concept 2: You 

Can't Spend What You Don't Have, page 5 and Key Concept 4: Timing Is Everything, page 6.) 

When MUST You Make Payments? 

Rule 4-100(B)(4) says that you must ―promptly pay . . . as requested by the client‖ money which the 
client is entitled to receive. This means that if your client asks you to return money you are holding in 

trust for that client, you must deliver that money promptly. Often, a client request for payment is 

triggered by notice from you that certain money has been received for the client, such as settlement 
proceeds.  Rule 4-100(B)(1) requires that you ―promptly notify a client‖ about the receipt of any 

client funds.  What is meant by ―promptly‖ for purposes of both notifying clients about funds 

received and making payment as requested by clients will depend upon the specific circumstances of 
each client’s matter. 

Attorney fees. As we've discussed, when you're holding client money that includes your undisputed 

fees, you have to take those fees out of the client trust bank account promptly after you've earned 
them.  

Third party claims. You also may have a duty to promptly pay expenses due to a third party incurred 

on behalf of a client. In some cases, the client may dispute a third party's claim to the money. This 

situation most often arises in connection with a medical lien which the attorney and client have both 
signed. After the recovery is received, the client instructs you not to pay the doctor.  Since you signed 

the lien, turning the funds over to the client may expose you to potential civil liability and may violate 
your fiduciary duty to the doctor. On the other hand, paying the doctor against the express instructions 

of the client also presents difficulties. You should consider writing to the client and the doctor to 

inform them of the problem, and your intention to hold the disputed funds in your client trust bank 

account until the dispute is resolved. If the parties cannot resolve their dispute, you should advise 

them of your intent to file an interpleader action. In no case should you use the disputed funds, which 
would constitute misappropriation. 
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SECTION VII:  RECORDKEEPING 

The next two sections will describe a simple, effective system for accounting for your clients' money. 

Whenever something in this section is mandatory, we'll cite the applicable rule, statute or case. 
Otherwise, we're giving you practice pointers, not law. 

Rule of Professional Conduct 4-100(C) does not mandate any particular client trust accounting 

system. (However, keep in mind that an absence of records can subject you to discipline.) You can 

hire consultants to set up a system, buy computer accounting software—whatever works for you—as 
long as you get the results and keep the records that the rules require. If your client trust accounting 

system will accomplish what our client trust accounting system does, then it's probably alright. 
However, the system described below will give you everything you need to do in order to account for 

your clients' funds. 

Our client trust accounting system is designed for sole practitioners and attorneys in small law firms. 

It assumes that you will be directly involved in every aspect of handling your clients' money. 
However, whatever size firm you work in and whatever client trust accounting system you use, you 

still have full personal fiduciary responsibility for accounting for your clients' money. 

Keeping records is the way you do the ―accounting‖ part of client trust accounting. Recordkeeping 
must be done consistently and keeping incomplete records is just as great a breach of your 

professional responsibility as keeping no records at all. 

As we've discussed, rule 4-100(C) requires you to keep two kinds of records: records created by the 

bank that show what went into and out of your client trust bank accounts; and records created by you 
to explain the transactions reflected in the bank documents. 

How Long Must You Keep Records? 

Rule 4-100(C) requires you to keep trust accounting records for five years after you pay out the 

money the records refer to. To be on the safe side, you should keep the records of all money you 
handled for a client for a minimum of five years after you closed that client's case, unless they relate 

to a matter under disciplinary investigation. In that case, you must retain the records until the 

investigation is concluded as part of your duty under Bus. & Prof. Code sec. 6068(I) to cooperate and 
participate in a State Bar investigation.  

Where Can You Keep Your Records? 

If you have a practice involving a lot of clients, you have to hold on to a lot of paper. Since office 

space is limited and expensive, you may find it makes more sense to keep some client trust 
accounting records off-site rather than in your office. That's OK, as long as you can produce the 

records within a reasonable time after receiving notice that you're the subject of a disciplinary inquiry. 

If you keep orderly files, label each box with the names of the client trust bank accounts the records 
apply to and the dates covered by the records, and keep an index listing the names of all the boxes 

you send into storage, this won't be a problem. If you don't, you're going to have to retrieve all the 
boxes from storage and sort through all the records they contain in order to respond to the disciplinary 

inquiry. This can be expensive, time-consuming, and, if you have to request a time extension, can 

create the wrong impression. 

What If You Have a Computerized System? 

A computerized accounting system is acceptable. However, you should consider generating and 
keeping hard copies of all the records required by the rule (including bank-created records). You can 

use computer printouts instead of hand-written ledgers for the records you are responsible for 
creating, but just having the data on a disk is risky. (It's a good idea to have these printouts dated and 

signed by the preparer to show when and by whom they were generated.) 
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If you're using a computerized accounting system, you should remember that computer data can be 

lost through natural disaster (like earthquake or fire), power or equipment failure and human error. 
For your own protection, make hard copies regularly and have all of your computer records regularly 

backed up onto disks. In addition, if you use computerized records, remember that if the records are 
offered as evidence, they must be authenticated as business records pursuant to Evidence Code 

sections 1270-1272. (See Appendix 2, page 68 for the text for those sections and Evidence Code 

sections 1552 and 1553.)  

Beyond preservation of the computer data, you also should be very careful when changing or 
upgrading your specific accounting software application, your overall computer operating system, and 

the computer hardware itself.  Different software applications and newer versions of your same 
software application may not be fully compatible with the data generated by your current software 

application.  Similarly, changing computers or operating systems can cause difficult compatibility 

problems.  These days, it is not unusual for computer technology to advance dramatically in a five 
year time period, rendering some application data obsolete and problematic to use.  

What Bank-Created Records Do You Have to Keep? 

Rule 4-100(C) requires you to keep two kinds of bank-created records: client trust bank account 

statements and cancelled checks.  Some attorneys don't take their duty to keep bank-created records 
seriously because they can always get copies from their bank. This is a clear violation of rule  

4-100(C); it also isn't true. If your bank fails, merges with or is taken over by another bank, you may 

find that copies of your four-year-old cancelled client trust bank account checks just aren't available. 
As previously noted, finding a bank that still offers ―cancelled checks‖ may take some searching and, 

if you’re unable to find such a bank, be sure to access and maintain ―cancelled check‖ information by 
requesting check imaging or other documentation from your bank.   

While it isn't required by the rule, you should also keep your client trust bank account deposit slips 

and checkbook stubs so you will have a complete audit trail. (See Key Concept 7: Always Maintain 

an Audit Trail, page 7.) These records will make it much easier to balance your books and to show 
what you did with your clients' money. 

How Should You File Bank-Created Records? 

To ensure that you have a complete set of bank-created records, and to save you time when you need 

to find a particular record, you should have a simple, consistent filing system. One good system is to 
keep separate binders for each of your client trust bank accounts. Each binder should have one section 

for bank statements, one section for cancelled checks, one section for deposit slips and one section for 

checkbook stubs. File each record in date order in the appropriate section of the binder for the account 
they refer to. Just label each binder with the name of the client trust bank account and the period it 

covers, and you should be able to find any record in one or two minutes. 

What Records Do YOU Have to Create? 

As we've discussed, rule 4-100(C) requires you to create three kinds of records to show that you know 
at all times what you're doing with your clients' money. We'll discuss each of these records in detail 

below, but a few general points apply to all of them: 

 Like bank-created records, rule 4-100(C) requires you to retain these records for a minimum 

of five years after you pay out the money the records refer to. 

 Never round off figures in these records. Rule 4-100(C) says that you must record ―all funds 
received on behalf of a client.‖ That means all receipts and payments must be recorded to the 

penny. 

 These records can be handwritten, typed or printed out from a computer file. However, they 
should be complete, neat and legible, and stored in such a way that you can find them—and 
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read them—as many as five years later. Handwritten records should be kept in ink—not 

pencil or magic marker—in bound accounting books, and typed records or computer 
printouts should be filed in binders. As with bank-created records, you can save yourself time 

and trouble by labeling the covers of the books and binders with complete account or client 
names and the dates the records cover. 

 All deposits and payments should be recorded to the account journal and client ledger within 

24 hours. Waiting longer increases the chance that you will forget to record a transaction or 

will record it wrong. It also means that your records aren't up-to-date, and that you might be 
spending money your clients don't have. (See Key Concept 5: You Can't Play the Game 

Unless You Know the Score, page 7.) 

The client ledger. Rule 4-100(C) says you must keep a ―written ledger‖ for each client whose money 
you hold. This client ledger must give the name of the client, detail all money you receive and pay out 

on behalf of the client, and show the client's balance following every receipt or payment. 

Maintaining a client ledger is like keeping a separate checkbook for each client, regardless of whether 

or not the client's money is being held in your common client trust bank account. (See Key Concept 

1: Separate Clients Are Separate Accounts, page 5.) The only difference between properly 

maintaining a client ledger and properly maintaining your personal checkbook is that you can be 
disciplined if you fail to properly maintain your client ledger. 

Every receipt and payment of money for a client must be recorded in that client's client ledger. For 

every receipt, you must list the date, amount and source of the money. For every payment, you must 

list the date, the amount, the payee (who the payment went to) and purpose of the payment. After you 
record each receipt, you must add the amount to the client's old balance and write in the new total. 

After you record each payment, you must subtract the amount from the client's old balance and write 
in the new total. Leave a number of blank lines after the last entry of each month, so that you can 

make additional entries during the monthly reconciliation process. 

When you deposit more than one check at a time for a client (i.e., using one deposit slip for all the 

checks), you should record each check as a separate deposit in your account journal. If you don't, it 
will be harder to reconcile your books and to answer any questions that may come up later. 

You will find it much easier to keep your records straight if you don't put more than one client's 

records on a given page. Also, you shouldn't use the front of a page for one client and the back of the 
page for another. This means wasting some paper, but it will enable you to file all the client ledger 

pages that refer to a given client in chronological order and find those pages faster if you need them. 

If you're handling more than one case for the same client, it may be helpful to maintain a separate 
client ledger for each matter. If you don't, make sure that it's clear to which case the transaction is 

related when you record your client's receipts and payments. 

Let's go through the motions of opening and maintaining a client ledger for a new client, KB. At your 
first meeting, on Thursday, July 9, KB gives you a check for $1,500 as an advance against costs and 

expenses. The first question is whether you should open an individual client trust bank account for 

KB, where it will earn interest for her, or deposit this money into your IOLTA account, where it will 
earn interest for the Legal Services  

Trust Fund Program. When you apply the requirements of Business and Professions Code section 

6211, you decide that the $1,500 couldn't earn interest for KB after costs are deducted. (See What 

MUST Be Held in Your IOLTA Account?, page 17.) Therefore, you deposit KB's money into your 

IOLTA account and create a new client ledger for her, starting on the front of an unused page in the 

book you use for client ledgers. The new client ledger looks like this: 
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CLIENT LEDGER 
CLIENT: KB 
CASE#:  920137 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/09/06 KB   1,500.00 1,500.00 

 

As rule 4-100(C) requires, you've recorded the date you received KB's money, who the money came 

from, the amount of money and the balance you're holding for KB. Notice that the ―Payee, # & 
Purpose‖ and ―Checks (Subtract)‖ columns are left blank, since they are only used when you are 

recording a payment out of the account. 

The first thing KB needs is a private investigator to locate witnesses for her case. Since you know that 

your bank won't clear KB's check (which is drawn on an out-of-town bank) until the third working 
day after the deposit, you wait until then to hire one. (If the matter required immediate attention, you 

could have paid the private investigator with a check drawn on your general office account, and then 
reimbursed yourself for the expense after KB's check had cleared.) 

On Tuesday, July 14, when the check has cleared, you look up KB's balance to make sure she has 

enough money in the account (you can't keep every client's balance in your head) and then make out a 

client trust bank account check, #437, for $500 to FS, a private investigator. You record the payment 
in KB's client ledger, subtract the amount of the check from her running balance and write in the new 

balance. KB's client ledger now looks like this: 

 
CLIENT LEDGER 
CLIENT: KB 
CASE#:  920137 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/09/06 KB   1,500.00 1,500.00 

7/14/06  FS, #437 Investigation 500.00  1,000.00 

 

As rule 4-100(C) requires, you've recorded the date you paid out KB's money, who you paid the 

money out to, why you spent the money, the amount of money you spent and the balance you're 
holding for KB. You also recorded the number of the check you wrote, to make it easier to reconcile 

your records at the end of the month. Notice that the ―Source of Deposit‖ and ―Deposits (Add)‖ 

columns were left blank, since they are only used when you are recording a deposit to the account. 
Also notice that you didn't round off; you recorded the amount of the payment to ―FS‖ and the new 

balance to the penny. 

During the next couple of weeks, you receive two more checks from KB and (after checking KB's 

balance) make one additional payment to cover court costs. Following the procedure above, you 

record these transactions in KB's client ledger. When KB calls you at 5:30 p.m. on Friday, July 24, to 

ask how much you're still holding for her, you are able to tell her immediately, even though your 
secretary has already gone home. When KB's case is closed at the end of the month, per your written 

fee agreement, you pay yourself your legal fees. At the time you close the matter, KB's client ledger 

looks like this: 
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CLIENT LEDGER 
CLIENT: KB 
CASE#:  920137 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/09/06 KB   1,500.00 1,500.00 

7/14/06  FS, #437 Investigation 500.00  1,000.00 

7/15/06 KB   325.00 1,325.00 

7/15/06  SF Muni Court, #446 
Filing Fee 

50.00  1,275.00 

7/19/06 KB   225.00 1,500.00 

8/01/06  Self, #448 Legal Fee 1,500.00  0 

 

If KB questions your fees, or if a State Bar investigator asks you to explain what you did with KB's 
money, this client ledger gives you a complete, clear record to account for the funds you held in trust. 

In the course of keeping this client ledger, you've completely fulfilled the client ledger requirements 
of rule 4-100(C). You've also fulfilled six of the seven key concepts.  You've kept KB's money 

separate from all your other clients', even though it's being held in your common client trust bank 

account (Key Concept 1: Separate Clients Are Separate Accounts, page 5); you haven't spent more 
money than KB had and have thus avoided a ―negative balance‖ (Key Concept 2: You Can't Spend 

What You Don't Have,  page 5, and Key Concept 3: There's No Such Thing as a “Negative 

Balance,” page 6); you waited until KB's check cleared before paying out any of the money (Key 

Concept 4: Timing Is Everything, page 6); you've been able to tell at all times exactly how much of 

KB's money you're holding (Key Concept 5: You Can't Play the Game Unless You Know the 

Score, page 7); and you've zeroed out KB's balance (Key Concept 6: The Final Score Is Always 

Zero, page 7).  As for Key Concept 7: Always Maintain an Audit Trail, page 7, your goal of 

maintaining an audit trail is not complete until you have identified and corrected any accounting errors 

that can be ascertained by reviewing and reconciling your records (see Reconciliation, page 28). 

The account journal. Rule 4-100(C) says you must keep a ―written journal‖ for each client trust 

bank account. This account journal must give the name of the bank account, detail all money you 
receive and pay out, say which clients you received or paid out the money for, and give the account 

balance after every receipt or payment. 

Maintaining an account journal is very similar to keeping a client ledger. In fact, for your individual 

client trust bank accounts (i.e., accounts in which you keep only one client's money), you only need to 
keep the client ledger in order to comply with rule 4-100(C). But for your common client trust bank 

account, keeping the account journal is the only way you can know how much you have in the 
account at any given time. If you maintain the account journal properly, you will never bounce a 

client trust bank account check unless there's been a bank error. 

In the account journal, you must record every deposit into and payment out of the client trust bank 

account. For every deposit, you must record the name of the client you received the money for, the 
date you deposited the money, and the amount of money you deposited. After you record each 

deposit, you have to add the amount to the account's old balance and write in the new total. For every 
payment, you must list the client for whom you paid out the money, the date and the amount of the 

payment. Although it's not required by the rule, you will find it a lot easier to balance your books if 

you also record the number of the check and the payee or source of the money. After you record each 
payment, you have to subtract the amount from the account's old balance and write in the new total. 

As with the client ledger, leave a number of lines blank after the last entry of each month, so that you 

can make additional entries during the monthly reconciliation process. 



26 

 

When you deposit more than one check at a time (i.e., using one deposit slip for all the checks), you 

must record each check as a separate deposit in your account journal. If you don't, you won't be able 

to indicate how much was deposited for each client, thus you won't be in compliance with rule 4-

100(C). 

If you are keeping your own money in the account to cover bank charges, you must also record every 
deposit of your own funds and every bank charge. In the account journals for interest-bearing client 

trust bank accounts, you must also record any interest the bank credits to or charges the bank takes 

from the account. 

Let's look at an example of an account journal for a common client trust bank account. To show you 

how the account journal relates to the client ledger, we'll look at the account journal page for the day 

you deposited KB's first check, July 9, 2006:   

ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/09/06 DS  FB, #423 Prof. Fee 1,800.00  13,000.00 

7/09/06 KB KB   1,500.00 14,500.00 

7/09/06 GC Insurance Co.   3,500.00 18,000.00 

7/09/06 DC  DC, #424          
Settlement Proceeds 

6,500.00  11,500.00 

As you can see, at the time you deposited KB's first check, there was already a substantial amount of 

money in the account that belonged to other clients. The account journal doesn't show you how much 

of this money belonged to each client. To find that out, you have to look in the client ledgers for those 
clients. What the account journal does tell you is how much, to the penny, was in your common client 

trust bank account at any given time. 

As rule 4-100(C) requires, for each transaction you've recorded the date you received or paid out the 
money, which client you received or paid out the money for, how much you received or paid out and 

what your client trust bank account balance was after each deposit or payment. As with the client 

ledger, you've recorded who the money came from (in the ―Source of Deposit‖ column), who the 
money went to, why you paid out the money and the number of the client trust bank account check 

you used to make each payment (in the ―Payee, # and Purpose‖ column). You recorded the amount of 
each deposit in the ―Deposits (Add)‖ column, the amount of each payment in the ―Checks (Subtract)‖ 

column, and, after adding in each deposit and subtracting each payment, you recorded a new running 

balance in the ―Balance‖ column. 

Bank charges ledger. Rule 4-100(C) requires you to record every bank charge against your client 
trust bank account in the account journal and permits you to keep your own money in your common 

client trust bank account to pay these bank charges. If you keep your own money in the client trust 
bank account to pay these charges, you should create a separate ledger where this money, and all the 

bank charges you pay with it, are recorded. We'll call this the ―bank charges ledger.‖ You should keep 

the bank charges ledger the same way you keep your client ledgers, recording every deposit, every 
charge the bank makes against the account, and the running balance of money you have left to cover 

the charges. 
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The bank charges ledger should look like this: 

BANK CHARGES LEDGER 
CLIENT: Bank Charges 
CASE#: N/A 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

6/30/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE  50.00 

7/01/06 Self   100.00 150.00 

7/31/06  Check printing 10.00  140.00 

 

What Records Do You Have to Keep of Other Properties? 

Rule 4-100 requires you to keep a written journal of all securities and other properties you hold in 

trust for clients that explains what you were holding, who you were holding it for, when you received 

it, when you distributed it, and who you distributed it to. You have to maintain this written record, 

which we'll call the other properties journal, from the day you receive the properties until five years 

after the day you disburse them. (Naturally, if these properties become the subject of a disciplinary 
investigation, you have to keep the records until the investigation is completed.) As with the other 

records we've discussed, it's prudent to retain these records for five years after you closed the matter 

of the client for whom you held the other properties. 

While you can keep a separate other properties journal for each client, the simplest thing to do is 

maintain a single journal in which you record all other properties. Here's a sample of such a journal: 

 

OTHER PROPERTIES JOURNAL 

CLIENT/ 
CASE# 

ITEM DATE RECEIVED DATE DISBURSED DISBURSED TO 

KB/920137 Emerald Brooch 7/09/06 8/01/06 KB 

DS/920123 AT&T stock 7/16/06   

GC/920125 Red Porsche 8/07/06 8/15/06 GC 

Rule 4-100(B)(2) requires you to actually label the properties to identify the owner (i.e., put a tag on 

them with the owner's name) and put them into a ―safe deposit box or other place of safe keeping as 
soon as practicable.‖ In this case, a safe deposit box is fine for the brooch and the stock certificates, 

but you'll need to find a secured garage or similar ―place of safekeeping‖ for the Porsche.  

As rule 4-100(C) requires, the sample journal lists the client you're holding the properties for, what 
properties you're holding for the client, when you received the properties, when you disbursed them, 

and who you disbursed them to. If you're holding many properties for a single client, you may want to 

keep a separate other properties journal for that client; otherwise, a single journal like the one shown 

above is sufficient. 
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SECTION VIII:  RECONCILIATION 

Rule 4-100(C) requires you to keep records of your ―monthly reconciliation (balancing)‖ of your 

client ledgers, account journals and bank statements. ―Reconciliation‖ means checking the three basic 
records you are required to keep—the bank statements, the client ledgers, and the account journal—

against each other so you can find and correct any mistakes. 

Rule 4-100(C) requires you to reconcile your client trust bank account records because mistakes 

always happen when people keep track of money. Even banks make mistakes when it comes to 
recording money transactions. That's because when you're working with numbers, mistakes are easy 

to make and difficult to notice. No amount of training can eliminate these mistakes. 

To make sure that you find and correct these mistakes, rule 4-100(C) requires that you record every 
client trust bank account transaction twice (in your client ledger and your account journal), check 

these records against each other and against the bank's records. For example, let's say you deposit a 

check for $1,000 into your common client trust bank account but mistakenly record it as ―$10,000" in 
your client ledger and add $10,000 to your client's running balance. In your account journal, you 

record the check correctly and add $1,000 to your client trust bank account's running balance. How 
will you find the mistake? The account journal balance is right, so you won't find the mistake by 

bouncing a check. The numbers in the client ledger all add up—there's no way to tell you made a 

mistake. Unless you compare your client ledger balance to your account journal balance, you won't be 
able to find the recording error. And unless you compare your client ledger and account journal 

against the bank statement, you won't know which entry was right—$10,000 or $1,000. 

We've just described the reconciliation process. The theory is that it's unlikely that the same mistakes 
will be made in three different records—the client ledgers, the account journal and the bank 

statement—so if those records are all checked against each other, any mistakes will show up. 

Rule 4-100(C) requires that your client trust bank account records be reconciled every month and that 

you create a written record that shows you went through the reconciliation process. It's alright to hire 
a bookkeeper or the equivalent, but you are still personally responsible for accounting to your clients 

and to the State Bar for the money in your client trust bank accounts. Therefore, even if you never 

intend to do the reconciling, you should understand the process. Even if it's your bookkeeper's 
mistake, if you bounce a client trust bank account check, you're the one your client or the State Bar is 

going to come to for an explanation. 

You can't do a reconciliation for one month until you're sure you have correct balances in all your 
client ledgers and account journals for the previous month. If you haven't recently reconciled your 

books, or if you are worried that they're wrong, you may want to bring in a bookkeeper to straighten 

them out before you take on the monthly reconciliations yourself. Once you have correct balances for 
the previous month, you are ready to reconcile.  

There are four main steps in reconciling your books: 

1. Reconciling the account journal with the client ledgers to make sure they agree with one 

another. 

2. Entering bank charges and interest shown on the bank statement into your account journal 
and client ledgers as appropriate. 

3. Reconciling the account journal and client ledgers with the bank statement to make sure that 

your records agree with the bank's. 

4. Entering Corrected Month Ending Balances and Corrected Current Running Balances into 
your account journal and client ledgers. 
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As you can see, the third step of the reconciliation process is comparing your monthly bank statement with 

the account records you've created. A bank statement is a list of all the withdrawals, deposits, charges and 
interest that the bank has credited to your account during the month. (For IOLTA accounts, the bank 

statement may also show interest paid to the State Bar, and amounts charged to the State Bar, which should 
not be entered into your account journal.) It takes some banks several weeks to prepare and mail out 

statements for the previous month; that means you may be reconciling your books as much as three or four 

weeks after the month in which the deposits or withdrawals are made.  (In the example that follows, you 
are reconciling your records for July on August 22.)  Also, as we've discussed, it can take days or weeks 

for checks to be presented for payment. These delays mean that you can't just compare the balance in your 
account journal to the balance shown on the bank statement to see if anything is wrong. You have to 

―adjust‖ your account balance by backing out all the transactions that weren't debited or credited by the 

time the bank statement was prepared. This adjustment process may seem complicated, but if you carefully 
follow the instructions for filling out the forms below, you shouldn't have any problems. 

The goal of the reconciliation process is to figure out the Corrected Month Ending Balance for the month 

you are reconciling (that is, the amount of money that was actually in the account on the last day of the 
month) and the Corrected Current Running Balance as of the date you complete the reconciliation (that is, 

the amount of money that is actually in the account now) by entering interest, bank charges and mistake 

corrections into your account journal and client ledgers. (You'll put these entries in the space you left after 
the last entry of the month so that you could add entries during the reconciliation process.) Since you can't 

be sure you've found every mistake until you've finished reconciling, you can't enter a Corrected Month 

Ending Balance or a Corrected Current Running Balance into your account journal and client ledgers until 
you've finished the reconciliation process. 

The following is a recommended three-form system that makes reconciliation simple. Remember that each 

of the three forms—the Client Ledger Balance form, the Adjustments to Month Ending Balance form, and 
the Reconciliation form—should be filled out every month for every client trust bank account. 

When filling out these forms, it's a good idea to use an adding machine or other calculator that will produce 

a printed record of the calculation you performed. That way, if your records don't match, you can easily 

check to see if the reason is a mathematical mistake made while preparing the form. 

Reconcile the Account Journal with the Client Ledgers 

The first step in reconciliation is to reconcile the account journal with the client ledgers. The purpose of 

this step is to make sure that the entries in your client ledgers agree with the entries in your account journal. 

Here's an example: 

FORM ONE 

CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE 

RECONCILIATION DATE:    8/22/06 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:  COMMON CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT 
PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:  7/1/106 TO 7/31/06 

CLIENT CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE  

KB   1,500.00  

DC   200.00  

GC   8,500.00  

DS   250.00  

Bank Charges  125.00  

TOTAL CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE:  10,575.00 

MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE: 10,575.00 

TOTAL MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES (+ or -):  _______ 
(From Form Two) 

 

ADJUSTED MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE: ________ 



30 

In the space after ―Reconciliation Date,‖ write the day, month and year you are doing the 

reconciliation; in the space after ―Client Trust Bank Account Name,‖ write the name of the client trust 
bank account (e.g., ―Common Client Trust Bank Account‖); in the space after ―Period Covered by 

Bank Statement,‖ write the dates of the period covered by your most recent bank statement (e.g., 
7/1/06 to 7/31/06, if you are doing your July 2006 reconciliation). 

On the lines under ―Client,‖ write the name of each client whose money you are holding in the client 

trust bank account. On the lines under ―Client Ledger Balance,‖ write the running balance as of the 

last day covered by the bank statement (in this case, July 31, 2006) from each client ledger next to the 
name of that client. (For your common client trust bank account, this may require more lines than 

shown here. For an individual client trust bank account, you will only need the first line.) Add up the 
client ledger balances in the ―Client Ledger Balance‖ column and write in the total after ―Total Client 

Ledger Balance.‖ Even if only one client's money is in the client trust bank account, you have to write 

that client's balance on this line. In the space after ―Month Ending Account Journal Balance,‖ write in 
the running balance for the client trust bank account as of the last day covered by the bank statement. 

Notice that the ―Total Client Ledger Balance‖ exactly matches the ―Month Ending Account Journal 

Balance.‖ That means that your client ledger balance entries for the month agree with your account 

journal entries, and you're ready to move on to the next step of the reconciliation process. For the 

moment, leave the last two lines, ―Total Mistake Correction Entries (+ or -)‖ and ―Adjusted Month 

Ending Balance,‖ blank; you might find mistakes during the rest of the reconciliation process. 

When the ―Total Client Ledger Balance‖ doesn't exactly match the ―Month Ending Account Journal 
Balance,‖ don't panic; you've found a mistake, and that's what reconciliation is for. You can call in a 

bookkeeper to help you, or make the correction yourself (see Finding and correcting mistakes, 
below). When you've found and corrected the mistake, move on to step 2. 

Finding and correcting mistakes. What do you do if you add up all your client ledger balances and 

the total doesn't match the month ending account journal balance? 

Since rule 4-100(C) requires you to record every deposit and withdrawal twice, if you systematically 

compare each entry in the account journal with the corresponding entry in the client ledger, and check 
the new balance you entered after each entry, you will always find the mistake. 

For example, let's say that the sample form shown above had looked like this: 

FORM ONE 

CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE 

RECONCILIATION DATE:    8/22/06 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:  COMMON CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT 
PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:  7/1/106 TO 7/31/06 

CLIENT CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE  

KB   1,500.00  

DC   200.00  

GC   8,500.00  

DS   250.00  

Bank Charges  125.00  

TOTAL CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE:  10,575.00 

MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE: 10,500.00 

TOTAL MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES (+ or -):  _____ 
(From Form Two) 

 

ADJUSTED MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE: ________ 
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The Total Client Ledger Balance and Month Ending Account Journal Balance differ by $25.00. This 

difference could be the result of a single mistake, or of several mistakes; it could be in a client ledger, 
the account journal, or both. It could be that you forgot to record a deposit or withdrawal, or that you 

recorded the amounts incorrectly; or it could be the result of incorrectly adding a deposit or 
subtracting a withdrawal. 

You open your account journal to the page that shows the corrected month ending balance for the 

previous month and the first entries for the month you are reconciling, which looks like this: 

ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

6/30/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE  9,500.00 

7/01/06 DS  FB, #408 Prof. Fee 500.00  9,000.00 

7/01/06 GC  Self, #409 Atty Fees 1,500.00  7,500.00 

7/01/06 DC DC   2,000.00 9,500.00 

7/02/06 DS DS   1,000.00 10,500.00 

 

Since you reconciled this account last month, you know that the corrected month ending balance 
shown for June 30, 2006, is right, and agrees with the total client ledger balance for that date; 

whatever is causing the $25.00 difference between the account journal balance and the total client 
ledger balance must have happened since then. Therefore, you look at the first entry for July 1, 2006, 

check #408 which you wrote for DS to FB for $500, which gave you a new running balance of 

$9,000.00. You make sure that you correctly subtracted $500 from the 6/30/06 corrected month 
ending balance to get this new running balance, then open DS's client ledger to the page where you 

recorded check #408: 

CLIENT LEDGER 
CLIENT: DS 
CASE#:  920123 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

6/30/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE  600.00 

7/01/06  FB. #408 Prof. Fee 500.00  100.00 

7/02/06 DS   1,800.00 1,900.00 

 

You compare the entry in the client ledger with the entry in the account journal; they are both for the 

same check and the same amount. You subtract the amount of the check—$500—from the client 
ledger's 6/30/06 corrected month ending balance of $600.00, and see that the new running balance of 

$100.00 you entered was right. You have now determined that the $25.00 difference you are trying to 

correct wasn't caused by recording the check to FB, and that the balances in the account journal and in 
this client ledger after you wrote this check are right. 

You put a light pencil mark (shown as an asterisk) next to these balances and repeat this process with 

each entry in the account journal. Everything is right until you get to the deposit of $3,550.00 on July 
9, 2006 for GC: 
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ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/09/06 DS  FB, #423 Prof. Fee 1,800.00  13,000.00* 

7/09/06 KB KB   1,500.00 14,500.00* 

7/09/06 GC Insurance Co.   3,500.00 18,000.00*  

7/09/06 DC  DC, #424  
Settlement Proceeds 

6,500.00  11,500.00* 

      

Notice the asterisks you put next to each balance that you have already verified.  You add the 

$3,500.00 to the last verified balance, and see that the new running balance of $18,000.00 you entered 

was right. You open GC's client ledger to the page where you recorded this deposit: 

CLIENT LEDGER 
CLIENT: GC 
CASE#:  920125 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

6/30/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE  13,000.00* 

7/01/06  Self, #409 Atty Fees 1,500.00  11,500.00* 

7/09/06 Insurance Co.   3,525.00 15,025.00* 

You compare the entry in the client ledger with the entry in the account journal; the deposit was 

recorded, but the amount of the deposit is $3,525.00, not $3,500.00. You subtract one amount from 

another and find that the difference is exactly $25.00. You add $3,525.00 to the previous client ledger 

balance and verify that the new running balance is right. That means the mistake was made by 

entering the amount of the deposit incorrectly; but which entry is wrong, the account journal entry or 

the client ledger entry? 

To find out, you can compare the account journal and client ledger entries to the deposit slip, which 

you filed in the appropriate binder, or to your most recent bank statement. The bank statement shows 

one deposit on 7/9/06 of $5,025.00, which doesn't match either number. But your account journal 

shows that you made two deposits on July 9:  

ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/09/06 DS  FB, #423 Prof. Fee 1,800.00  13,000.00* 

7/09/06 KB KB   1,500.00 14,500.00* 

7/09/06 GC Insurance Co.   3,500.00 18,000.00* 

7/09/06 DC  DC, #424  
Settlement Proceeds 

6,500.00  11,500.00* 
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Since the bank statement shows only one deposit for July 9, 2006, that means you deposited both 

checks on the same deposit slip. You add these two deposits together, and get $5,000.00, not 

$5,025.00, as the bank statement shows. You subtract the smaller amount from the larger amount, and 

get $25.00, the exact difference you're looking for. That means that the entry in the account journal—

$3,500.00—is wrong, and the entry in the client ledger, $3,525.00 is right. (If you'd kept a copy of the 

deposit slip you filled out on July 9, which listed the two deposits separately, you could have found 

the mistake without doing the math.) 

Now that you've found the mistake, you need to correct it so that your account journal reflects the right 

amount of the July 9, 2006 deposit. Since you keep your records in ink, not in pencil, you can't just erase 

and write in the correct deposit amount and balance. You don't want to scratch out the incorrect amount 

and write in the new one. This is messy, and it means you'll have to scratch out all the running balances 

from the July 9 deposit on; they were all based on the mistaken entry, and they are all wrong. The 

easiest—and clearest—way to correct the mistake is to mark the wrong entry (you can use any prominent 

notation that doesn't make it hard to read the entry), make a mistake correction entry using the lines you 

left blank for entering the Corrected Month Ending Balance, and make the same mistake correction entry 

after your most recent entry to correct your current running balance. (Since the mistake was in the account 

journal, not the client ledger, you don't have to make any mistake corrections entries there.) This means 

that you have to record the correction twice; at the end of the month in which you made the mistake, so 

that it's included in the Corrected Month Ending Balance, and after your last entry, so that it's included in 

the Corrected Current Running Balance. In this example, the mistake correction entry for the Corrected 

Month Ending Balance would look like this: 

ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/31/06 DS  FB, #447 Prof. Fee 250.00  8,000.00 

7/31/06 DC JA   2,500.00 10,500.00 

7/09/06 ERROR - backing out wrong deposit 

- adding in correct deposit 

3,500.00  

3,525.00 

 

7/31/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE    

8/01/06 KB  Self, #448 Atty. Fees 1,500.00  9,000.00 

 To show that you've backed out the wrong amount and inserted the correct amount, the mistake 

correction entry shows that you have subtracted the wrong amount from the account balance, and 

added the right amount to the account balance. (If you make a mistake in recording a withdrawal, you 

do the same thing.) You could have corrected the mistake with a mistake correction entry that just added 

the missing $25.00; however, that entry wouldn't tell you what the mistake was, or help you track it 

down if any questions come up in the future. Notice that you haven't filled in the Corrected Month 

Ending Balance yet; you won't do that until you complete all the steps in the reconciliation process. 

Now let's look at the mistake correction entry that corrects the account's current running balance: 
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ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

8/21/06 Bank 
Chg. 

Self   100.00 11,500.00 

8/22/06 DS  FB, #447 Prof. Fee 1,000.00  10,500.00 

8/22/06 DC DC   6,500.00 17,000.00 

7/09/06 ERROR - backing out wrong deposit 
- adding in correct deposit 

3,500.00 3,525.00  

This entry ensures that when you enter the Corrected Current Running Balance at the end of the 
reconciliation process, it will reflect the correct deposit, instead of the mistake. 

Now that you've corrected the mistake and the account journal entries agree with the client ledger 

entries, go back to Form One and fill out the last two lines with the total of the mistake 

correction entries you made and the Adjusted Month Ending Account Balance: 

FORM ONE 

CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE 

RECONCILIATION DATE:    8/22/06 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:  COMMON CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT 
PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:  7/1/106 TO 7/31/06 

CLIENT CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE  

KB   1,500.00  

DC   200.00  

GC   8,500.00  

DS   250.00  

Bank Charges  125.00  

TOTAL CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE:  10,575.00 

MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE: 10,500.00 

TOTAL MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES (+ or -) :  25.00 
(From Form Two) 

ADJUSTED MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE 10,575.00 

When we get to step 3, we'll record these mistake correction entries, and any others we have to 
make, on Form Two, ―Adjustments to Month Ending Balance.‖ 

What if the mistake had been in the entry in GC's client ledger instead of in the account journal 

entry? In that case, you would put mistake correction entries in the client ledger the same way 
you would in the account journal, once in the space above the Corrected Month Ending Balance 

and once after the most recent entry. However, on Form One, instead of recording the mistake on 

the ―Total Mistake Correction Entries (+ or -)‖ line, you would simply cross out the incorrect 
client ledger balance for GC and write the correct balance beside it. Since GC's balance was  

wrong, the Total Client Ledger Balance you recorded is wrong. Cross it out and write in the 

correct total; it should exactly match the Month Ending Account Journal Balance. Put a zero on 
the ―Total Mistake Correction Entries (+ or -)‖ line; this line is only for recording mistakes in the 

account journal, not for mistakes in client ledgers. Fill in the ―Adjusted Month Ending Account 
Journal Balance‖ line.  
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When you're done, Form One should look like this: 

FORM ONE 

CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE 

RECONCILIATION DATE:    8/22/06 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:  COMMON CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT 
PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:  7/1/106 TO 7/31/06 

CLIENT CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE  

KB   1,500.00  

DC   200.00  

GC   8,525.00 8,500.00 

DS   250.00  

Bank Charges  125.00  

  10,550.00 

TOTAL CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE:  10,575.00 

MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE: 10,550.00 

TOTAL MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES (+ or -) :   0.00 
(From Form Two) 

ADJUSTED MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE 10,550.00 

 

Enter Bank Charges and Interest 

The purpose of this step is to make sure that bank charges and interest credits reflected on the bank 

statement are also reflected in your records. Since you don't know what these bank charges or interest 

credits are until you receive the bank statement, you need to enter them into your records after you 
receive the bank statement. 

All bank charges must be recorded in the account journal. If a bank charge was incurred on behalf of 

a specific client (as, for example, a charge for wiring money to a client), the charge must also be 
entered in that client's client ledger. (This ensures that the account journal balance will continue to 

match the total of the individual client ledger balances.) If the charge was not for a specific client (for 

example, a charge for printing common client trust bank account checks), the charge must also be 
entered in the bank charges ledger. 

Since all interest earned on money held in an individual interest-bearing client trust bank account 

belongs to the client, interest must always be entered in the account journal and the client ledgers. 
(Since the interest on IOLTA accounts is transmitted by the bank to the State Bar, it shouldn't be 

entered into your records.)  

Like mistake correction entries, bank charge and interest entries must be recorded twice; at the end of 

the month in which the transaction occurred, so that they are included in the Corrected Month Ending 
Balance, and after your last entry, so that they are included in the Corrected Current Running 

Balance. 

This example will deal with an IOLTA account which pays interest to the State Bar. (Remember, 
interest which is paid to the State Bar should not be entered in your account journal.) In the account 

journal for our sample common client trust bank account, the bank charges (other than the regular 

service charges to the State Bar) for July are entered twice, once in the space above the Corrected 
Month Ending Balance: 
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ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/31/06 DS  FB, #447 Prof. Fee 250.00  8,000.00 

7/31/06 DC JA   2,500.00 10,500.00 

7/09/06 ERROR - backing out wrong deposit 
- adding in correct deposit 

3,500.00  
3,525.00 

 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE  - new checks 
                             - wire for DS  

    10.00 
    15.00 

  

7/31/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE    

8/01/06 KB  Self, #448 Atty. Fees 1,500.00  9,000.00 

And once after the most recent entry: 

ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

8/21/06 Bank Chg. Self     100.00 11,500.00 

8/22/06 DS  FB, #457 Prof. Fee 1,000.00  10,500.00 

8/22/06 DC DC   6,500.00 17,000.00 

7/09/06 ERROR - backing out wrong deposit 
- adding in correct deposit 

3,500.00  
3,525.00 

13,500.00 
17,025.00 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE  - new checks 
                              - wire for DS  

    10.00 
    15.00 

  

As you can see, there were two bank charges during July; one for printing new checks, which is not 

specific to an individual client and must be recorded in the bank charges ledger; and one for sending 
money by wire for DS, which is specific to an individual client and must be recorded in DS's client 

ledger. (Notice that we still haven't filled in the ―Corrected Month Ending Balance‖ for July; as we've 

discussed, we won't do that until we've finished the reconciliation process.) 

The bank charge entry in DS's client ledger should look like this: 

CLIENT LEDGER 
CLIENT: DS 
CASE#:  920123 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/31/06  FB, #447 Prof. Fee 250.00  1,000.00 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE – wiring $ to FB  15.00   

7/31/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE   

8/03/06 DS   250.00 1,250.00 

8/07/06  FS, #451 Investigation 500.00  775.00 

8/15/06 DS   250.00 1,000.00 

8/22/06  FB, #456 Prof. Fee 750.00  250.00 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE – wiring $ to FB  15.00   
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The entry in the bank charges ledger should look like this: 

BANK CHARGES LEDGER 
CLIENT: Bank Charges 
CASE#: N/A 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

6/30/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE  50.00 

7/01/06 Self   100.00 150.00 

7/31/06  Check Printing 10.00  140.00 

7/31/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE   

 
Reconcile the Account Journal with the Bank Statement 

The purpose of this step is to make sure that the bank's records of the deposits and withdrawals you've 

made to your client trust bank account during the past month match your records. Since you've 

already reconciled the client ledgers with the account journal, you know that the entries in the client 
ledger agree with the ones in the account journal. Therefore, unless you find a mistake, during this 

stage of the reconciliation process you only have to compare the bank statement with the account 
journal. 

Adjustments to Month Ending Balance. First, record any mistake correction entries that you made 

in the account journal and all uncredited deposits and undebited withdrawals on the ―Adjustments to 

Month Ending Balance‖ form, as shown on the following page: 

FORM TWO 

ADJUSTMENTS TO MONTH ENDING BALANCE 

RECONCILIATION DATE:    8/22/06 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:  COMMON CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT 
PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:  7/1/106 TO 7/31/06 

A.  DEPOSITS AND WITHDRAWALS NOT POSTED ON BANK STATEMENTS  

UNCREDITED DEPOSITS 

Date  Amount 

UNDEBITED WITHDRAWALS 

Date  Amount 

7/31/06  2,500.00 7/09/06  1,800.00 

0/00/00  0,000.00 7/31/06      250.00 

0/00/00  0,000.00 6/30/06        30.00 

TOTAL:  2,500.00   2,080.00 

B.  MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES (from Account Journal) 

DATE AMOUNT NET MISTAKE 
 Additions Subtraction (+ OR -) 

7/09/06 3,525.00   3,500.00 25.00 

0/00/00 0,000.00   0,000.00 25.00 

TOTAL MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES: 25.00 

In the space after ―Reconciliation Date,‖ write the day, month and year you do the reconciliation; in 

the space after ―Client Trust Bank Account Name,‖ write the name of the client trust bank account 

(e.g., ―Common Client Trust Bank Account‖); in the space after ―Period Covered by Bank 
Statement,‖ write the dates of the period covered by your most recent bank statement (e.g., 7/1/06 to 

7/31/06, if you are doing your July 2006 reconciliation). 
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Deposits and withdrawals not posted on bank statement. Generally, the bank sends out statements 

one to three weeks after the end of the month. As a result, by the time you reconcile the account, you 

will usually have made deposits or withdrawals that aren't shown on the bank statement. In addition, 

checks you wrote or deposits you made may not have cleared by the time the bank produced the 

statement, and therefore the amounts of those checks or deposits won't be reflected in the account 

balance shown on the bank statement. Thus, in order to compare the balance the bank statement says 

is in the account at the end of the month with the balance your account journal shows for the end of 

the month, you have to adjust the account journal balance by subtracting all uncredited deposits and 

adding all undebited withdrawals. 

These unposted transactions should be listed under ―Deposits and Withdrawals Not Posted by the 

Bank.‖ To find out which transactions haven't been posted, you have to compare the entries on the 

bank statement with the entries in your account journal. 

Go through each entry on the bank statement and compare it to the corresponding entry in your 

account journal. If the entry in the account journal exactly matches the entry on the bank statement, 

mark off the entry in the account journal to show that the money has cleared the banking process, and 

mark off the entry on the bank statement to show that you have verified it against the account journal. 

The marks in the account journal will help you keep track of items like checks that are never cashed, 

which otherwise can become those small, inactive balances that make your account harder to 

reconcile. (See Key Concept 6: The Final Score is Always Zero, page 7.) The marks should be 

permanent (i.e., in ink) and clearly visible, but shouldn't make it harder to read the entries. You 

should use the same mark consistently, to avoid confusion later. 

When you are finished, all the entries on the bank statement should be checked off to show that you 

have verified them against the corresponding entries in the account journal. Now go back through the 

account journal to find any entries that are unmarked; these transactions haven't yet been debited or 

credited by the bank, and should therefore be listed in the appropriate column on the Adjustments to 

Month Ending Balance form. All entries in your account journal must either be marked to indicate 

that they have appeared on a bank statement, or recorded on this form. 

Write the date and amount of the entry in the appropriate column on the Adjustments to Month 

Ending Balance form. Write uncredited deposits in the ―Uncredited Deposits‖ column and undebited 

withdrawals in the ―Undebited Withdrawals‖ column. (For busy client trust bank accounts, you may 

need more lines than the sample form gives to list all the unposted transactions. If you do, you can 

add lines to the copies of the forms you use, or attach additional pages that list the transactions that 

didn't fit on the form.) 

When you've listed all the unposted transactions, add up the amounts in the ―Uncredited Deposits‖ 

column and write the total in the space at the bottom of that column. Then add up the amounts in the 

―Undebited Withdrawals‖ column and write the total in the space at the bottom of that column. 

As you go through the bank statement, there are two kinds of mistakes you may find: 

1. You find a deposit or withdrawal listed on the bank statement that isn't in your account 

journal.  To correct this mistake, go through your cancelled checks (if it's a withdrawal) or 

deposit slips (if it's a deposit) until you find the one that reflects the transaction on the bank 

statement. If you can't find a cancelled check or deposit slip that matches the entry on the 

bank statement, contact your banker and ask him or her to help you track down the 

transaction. DON'T record the bank statement entry in your records until you verify that the 

transaction occurred; banks make mistakes too. 

When you find the cancelled check or deposit slip that shows the transaction, record the 

transaction in both your account journal and in the client ledger of the client for whom the 
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money was deposited or paid out. Remember that you have to enter the transaction twice in 

the account journal and twice in the client ledger; once above the ―CORRECTED MONTH 

ENDING BALANCE‖ line, and once after the latest entry. The entries should be the same as 

when recording any other transaction, but include a notation indicating that you'd forgotten to 

enter the transaction at the time it occurred. 

After you correct the mistake in your client ledger and account journal, record it on Form 

Two under ―Mistake Correction Entries,‖ as described below. 

2. An entry in the bank statement is different from the corresponding entry in the account 

journal. You correct this mistake the same way you correct a transaction you forgot to 

record. First, find the cancelled check or deposit slip that shows the transaction to figure out 

which record is correct, the account journal or the bank statement. If you can't find a 

cancelled check or deposit slip for this transaction, contact your banker and ask him or her to 

help you track it down before you make any changes in your records. 

If the cancelled check or deposit slip shows that the bank statement is wrong, write a note on 

the bank statement that clearly describes the mistake, then contact your banker and tell him 

or her to correct their records. If it shows that your account journal is wrong, record the 

correction in the account journal and the appropriate client ledgers using the same kind of 

mistake correction entries we used in our example. Like all mistake correction entries, these 

must be entered twice in both the account journal and the client ledger for the client on 

whose behalf you deposited or paid out the money; once above the ―Corrected Month Ending 

Balance‖ line, and once after the latest entry. 

After you correct the mistake in your client ledger and account journal, record it on Form 

Two under ―Mistake Correction Entries,‖ as described below. 

Mistake correction entries. Under ―MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES,‖ list all mistake 

correction entries you entered in the space above the Corrected Month Ending Balance in your 

account journal. In the ―Date‖ column, write the date of each mistake. In the ―Amount‖ column, write 

the amount of each mistake correction entry. As you remember, each mistake correction entry 

requires two notations; one to back out the incorrect amount, and one to add in the correct amount. If 

the mistake correction entry amount was entered under the ―Deposits (Add)‖ column in your account 

journal, write the amount under the ―Additions‖ column. If the mistake correction entry amount was 

entered under the ―Withdrawals (Subtract)‖ column in your account journal, write the amount under 

the ―Subtractions‖ column. Then write in the net amount of the mistake under the ―Net Mistake (+ or 

-)‖ column. (If the amount in the ―Subtractions‖ column is larger than the amount in the ―Additions‖ 

column, the net mistake will be negative and should be recorded with parentheses around it. If the 

amount in the ―Additions‖ column is larger than the amount in the ―Subtractions‖ column, the net 

mistake will be positive and should be recorded without parentheses around it.) When you have 

recorded all the mistake correction entries, total the amounts in the ―Net Mistake (+ or -)‖ column and 

enter it in the space after ―Total Mistake Correction Entries.‖ If this amount is negative, put 

parentheses around it. If it's positive, don't. 

If you found mistakes while you were going through the bank statement (in other words, after you 

finished filling out Form One), you have to go back to Form One, enter the new ―Total Mistake 

Correction Entries‖ and a new ―Adjusted Month Ending Account Balance‖ before you go on to the 

next step. 

Reconciliation form. The next step is to reconcile the balance the bank statement shows for the end 

of the month you are reconciling with the balance your account journal shows for the date by filling 

out the ―Reconciliation‖ form: 
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FORM THREE 

RECONCILIATION 

RECONCILIATION DATE: 8/22/06 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: COMMON CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT 
PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT: 7/1/106 TO 7/31/06 

ADJUSTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE: 
(From Form One) 

10,575.00 

MINUS TOTAL BANK CHARGES 
(From Bank Statement) 

 (25.00) 

PLUS TOTAL INTEREST EARNED 
(From Bank Statement) 

  IOLTA 

CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE: 
(Total) 

10,550.00 

MINUS UNCREDITED DEPOSITS: 
(From Form Two) 

  (2,500.00) 

PLUS UNDEBITED WITHDRAWALS: 
(From Form Two) 

 2,080.00 

RECONCILED TOTAL: 10,130.00 

BANK STATEMENT BALANCE: 10,130.00 

1. In the space after ―Reconciliation Date,‖ write the day, month and year you did the
reconciliation; in the space after ―Client Trust Bank Account Name,‖ write the name of the

client trust bank account (e.g., ―Common Client Trust Bank Account‖); in the space after
―Period Covered by Bank Statement,‖ write the dates of the period covered by your most

recent bank statement (e.g., 7/1/06 to 7/31/06, if you are doing your July 2006

reconciliation).

2. In the space after ―Adjusted Month Ending Balance,‖ write the balance shown in the
―Adjusted Month Ending Account Journal Balance‖ space on the Client Ledger Balance

form.

3. In the space after ―Minus Total Bank Charges,‖ write in the total of all bank charges to the
account shown on the bank statement. For IOLTA accounts, don't include amounts charged

to the State Bar. (Note the parentheses around this number show it is negative and should be

subtracted.)

4. If this is an individual interest-bearing individual client trust bank account, in the space after
―Plus Total Interest Earned,‖ write in the total interest shown on the bank statement. Write

―IOLTA‖ in this space if this is an IOLTA account, and ―non-interest bearing‖ if it is a non-
interest bearing client trust bank account.

5. To the amount in the ―Month Ending Balance‖ space:

Subtract the amount you wrote in the ―Total Bank Charges‖ space; 

Add the amount in the ―Total Interest Earned‖ space; and 

Write the result in the ―Corrected Month Ending Balance‖ space. 

6. In the ―Minus Uncredited Deposits‖ space, write the total of the ―Uncredited Deposits‖

column you listed on Form Two.

7. In the ―Plus Uncredited Withdrawals‖ space, write the total of the ―Uncredited Withdrawals‖
column you listed on Form Two.
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8. To the amount in the ―Corrected Month Ending Balance‖ space: 

Add the undebited withdrawals; 

Subtract the uncredited deposits; and 

Write the total in the ―Reconciled Total‖ space. 

9. Write the balance shown on the bank statement in the space after ―Bank Statement Balance.‖ 

This amount should exactly match the reconciled total above it. If it does, you have 

successfully reconciled the account and are ready to proceed to the last step. (If it doesn't, call 

in a bookkeeper or refer to Appendix 5, What to Do When the Reconciled Total and the 

Bank Statement Balance Don't Exactly Match, page 87, and use the process it describes to 

find and correct the mistake.) 

Entering the Corrected Month Ending Balance and Corrected Current Running 
Balance 

When you have completed all three forms and the Corrected Month Ending Balance is exactly the 

same as the Bank Statement Balance, the account is reconciled. Now you are ready to enter the 

Corrected Month Ending Balance for July and the Corrected Current Running Balance in the account 

journal and in each client ledger. 

Here's how the Corrected Month Ending Balance entry would look in the account journal: 

ACCOUNT JOURNAL 

CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 

DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 

(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 

(ADD) 

RUNNING 

BALANCE 

7/31/06 DS  FB, #447 Prof. Fee   250.00    8,000.00 

7/31/06 DC JA   2,500.00 10,500.00 

7/09/06 ERROR - backing out wrong deposit 

- adding in correct deposit 

3,500.00  

3,525.00 

7,000.00 

10,525.00 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE - new checks 

  - wire for DS 

     10.00 

     15.00 

 10,515.00 

10,500.00 

7/31/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE   10,500.00 

8/01/06 DC  Self, #448 Legal Fee 1,500.00  9,000.00 

As you can see, you got the Corrected Month Ending Balance by subtracting the amount of the wrong 

deposit from the old July 31 balance of $10,500.00, adding the amount of the correct deposit and 

subtracting the amounts of the bank charges. Notice that the Corrected Month Ending Balance is 

identical to the balance after the interest entry. 
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This is how the Corrected Current Running Balance entry looks in the account journal: 

ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: Common Client Trust Bank Account 

DATE CLIENT SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

8/21/06 Bank Chg. Self     100.00 11,500.00 

8/22/06 DS  FB, #457 Prof. Fee 1,000.00  10,500.00 

8/22/06 DC DC   6,500.00 17,000.00 

7/09/06 ERROR - backing out wrong deposit 
- adding in correct deposit 

3,500.00  
3,525.00 

13,500.00 
17,025.00 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE   - new checks 
                        - wire for DS  

    10.00 
    15.00 

 17,015.00 
17,000.00 

8/22/06 CORRECTED CURRENT RUNNING BALANCE   17,000.00 

As you can see, you got the Corrected Current Running Balance by subtracting the amount of the 

wrong deposit from the old August 22 balance of $17,000.00, adding the amount of the correct 

deposit and subtracting the amounts of the bank charges.  

Now you have to go into each client ledger and enter the Corrected Month Ending Balance for July 
and Corrected Current Running Balance for each client. Let's look at DS's ledger to see what these 

entries should look like: 

CLIENT LEDGER 
CLIENT: DS 
CASE#:  920123 

DATE SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

PAYEE, # & PURPOSE CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

RUNNING 
BALANCE 

7/31/06  FB, #447 Prof. Fee 250.00  1,000.00 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE – wiring $ to FB  15.00  985.00 

7/31/06 CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE  985.00 

8/03/06 DS   250.00 1,235.00 

8/07/06  FS, #451 Investigation 500.00  735.00 

8/15/06 DS   250.00 985.00 

8/22/06  FB, #456 Prof. Fee 750.00  235.00 

7/31/06 BANK CHARGE – wiring $ to FB  15.00  220.00 

8/22/06 CORRECTED CURRENT RUNNING BALANCE 220.00 

As you can see, you got the Corrected Month Ending Balance by subtracting the amount of the bank 
charge from the old July 31 balance of $1,000.00. You got the Corrected Current Running Balance by 

subtracting the amount of the bank charge from the old August 22 balance of $235.00. 

When you write in the Corrected Month Ending Balance for July and the Corrected Current Running Balance 

for KB, DC and GC, you will have reconciled this trust account and fully complied with rule 4-100(C).  
These steps are particularly important since you may have written a client trust account check based on an 

erroneous balance shown on one or more of your written records.  If, at some point in the future the State Bar 
asks you about the issuance of that check, you can respond by showing that it was an isolated mistake in 

posting an entry; and that you found and corrected the entry when you reconciled the account. 

Now clip all the pages that relate to the reconciliation process together (all three forms, any attached pages, 

and any adding machine tapes) and file them away. 
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Afterword 
 

If you've read all the way through this handbook, you should now know 

everything you need in order to properly receive, pay out and account for 

money you hold for your clients. However, your professional 

responsibility isn't to know client trust accounting, it's to do client trust 

accounting. There are three final points without which your best efforts to 

properly account for your clients' money will be in vain: 

1. Set up a complete client trust accounting system; 

2. Consistently and rigorously follow your client trust 

accounting system; and 

3. Don't rely on others to do your client trust accounting. It's 

your responsibility. 
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 Appendix 1 47 

APPENDIX 1: OTHER REGULATIONS RELATING TO CLIENTS AND 
MONEY 

There are a few basic rules relating to clients and money that, while not directly related to client trust 
accounting, are so fundamental to the attorney-client relationship that we have to mention them here. 

(The text of these rules can be found in Appendix 2, page  47.) 

Amount of Fees. The amount you can charge for your services is regulated by Rule of Professional 
Conduct 4-200, which says that you can't enter into an agreement for, charge or collect an illegal or 

―unconscionable‖ fee. The rule lays out eleven of the many factors that go into determining whether 
or not a fee is unconscionable, including the amount of the fee in proportion to the value of the 

services, the relative sophistication of attorney and client, the novelty and difficulty of the case and 
skill necessary to handle it, whether the fee is fixed or contingent, and the time and work involved. 

Fee Agreements. There are three provisions of the Business and Professions Code relating to fee 
agreements. Section 6148 requires that whenever you can reasonably foresee that the total expense to 

the client, including attorney's fees, will exceed $1,000, you must enter into a written fee agreement 

with your client. The written fee agreement must contain the hourly rate and any standard rates, fees 
and charges applicable to the case, the general nature of the services to be provided to the client, and 

the responsibilities you and the client have with respect to performance of the contract. Consider 
utilizing the fee agreement to advise your client of your duties to third parties in the presence of an 

executed medical lien. 

All bills for services rendered must include the basis for the bill, including the amount, rate, and the 

basis for calculation or other method of determining your fee. You are obligated to give a bill to your 
client no later than 10 days after your client requests one. Your client is entitled to request a bill every 

30 days. 

If you fail to enter into a written agreement with your client, the fee agreement is voidable at the 
client's option, after which you are entitled to collect a reasonable fee. The provisions of section 6148 

don't apply if you render legal services in an emergency, if the services are of the same general kind 

you've already provided to and been paid for by the client, if the client knowingly states in writing 

after full disclosure that a written fee agreement isn't required, or if the client is a corporation. 

Business and Professions Code section 6149 makes the required written fee agreement a confidential 

communication within the meaning of Business and Professions Code section 6068, subdivision (e) 
and Evidence Code section 952. 

When you and your client enter into a fee agreement on a contingency fee basis, you must comply 

with the provisions of Business and Professions Code section 6147. You and your client must sign the 

fee agreement and you must give the client a duplicate copy. The contract must be in writing and 
must include the contingency rate, how disbursement and costs will be handled, whether your client 

will be required to pay any compensation arising out of matters not covered by the agreement, notice 
that the fee is not set by law but is negotiable, and a statement that the rates set forth pursuant to 

section 6146, which applies in medical malpractice actions, sets the maximum contingency fee limits. 

If you fail to comply with the provisions of this section, the agreement is voidable at your client's 
option, after which you are entitled to collect a reasonable fee. 

Business and Professions Code section 6146 sets the limits on the fee you can charge a  client on a 

contingency basis where your client is seeking damages in connection with an action for an injury or 
damage against a health care provider based on the health care provider's alleged professional 

negligence. For example, section 6146 provides that you can only charge up to 40% of the first 

$50,000 recovered, 33.3% of the next $50,000, and so forth. The limits in section 6146 apply 
regardless of whether the recovery is by settlement, arbitration or judgment, and whether the person 

for whom the recovery is made is a responsible adult, an infant, or a person of unsound mind. 
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Fee Disputes. Fee disputes with your client are regulated by Business and Professions Code section 

6200 et seq., which sets forth the fee arbitration program. This section requires you to participate in 
fee arbitration if your client requests it. When you file a fee collection action against your client, you 

must forward a written notice to the client before or at the time of service of the summons. Failure to 

give this written notice is a grounds for dismissal of your fee collection action. If the client fails to 
request fee arbitration within 30 days of receipt of this notice, the client is deemed to have waived the 

right to arbitration. Most fee arbitrations are conducted by the county bar association in the county 

where the fee dispute took place. However, if the county bar association isn't equipped to carry out 
the fee arbitration, the State Bar will conduct it. If an attorney fails to pay a binding award to the 

client of fees or costs, the attorney can be placed on inactive status and would not be eligible to 
practice law until the award is paid. 

Loans To and From Clients and Securing Payments from Clients. You are permitted to 
borrow money from or lend money to your client, or obtain a security interest to ensure payment of 

fees, provided that you fully comply with Rule of Professional Conduct 3-300. This rule requires that: 

1. The transaction and terms of the acquisition are fair and reasonable to the client and are 

transmitted to the client in a manner and under terms which should have been reasonably 
understood by the client; 

2. The client is given a reasonable opportunity to seek the advice of independent counsel on the 

transaction; and 

3. The client consents in writing to the transaction. 

Cash Reporting Requirement. The Internal Revenue Code (26 U.S.C. § 6050I) requires that when 
you receive more than $10,000 in cash, you report that fact to the IRS on form 8300 within 15 days of 

the date of the transaction. This section appears to apply to both cash you receive for fees, and cash 
you hold in trust. 
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APPENDIX 2: TEXT OF RULES AND STATUTES CITED 

Relevant California Rules of Professional Conduct 

Rule 3-300  Avoiding Interests Adverse to a Client 

A member shall not enter into a business transaction with a client; or knowingly acquire an 

ownership, possessory, security, or other pecuniary interest adverse to a client, unless each of the 
following requirements has been satisfied: 

(A) The transaction or acquisition and its terms are fair and reasonable to the client and are fully 

disclosed and transmitted in writing to the client in a manner which should reasonably have been 
understood by the client; and 

(B) The client is advised in writing that the client may seek the advice of an independent lawyer of 

the client's choice and is given a reasonable opportunity to seek that advice; and 

(C) The client thereafter consents in writing to the terms of the transaction or the terms of the 

acquisition. 

Discussion:  

Rule 3-300 is not intended to apply to the agreement by which the member is retained by the client, 
unless the agreement confers on the member an ownership, possessory, security, or other pecuniary 

interest adverse to the client. Such an agreement is governed, in part, by rule 4-200. 

Rule 3-300 is not intended to apply where the member and client each make an investment on terms 
offered to the general public or a significant portion thereof. For example, rule 3-300 is not intended 

to apply where A, a member, invests in a limited partnership syndicated by a third party. B, A's client, 

makes the same investment. Although A and B are each investing in the same business, A did not 
enter into the transaction "with" B for the purposes of the rule. 

Rule 3-300 is intended to apply where the member wishes to obtain an interest in client's property in 

order to secure the amount of the member's past due or future fees. (Amended by order of Supreme 
Court, operative September 14, 1992.) 

 

Rule 4-100  Preserving Identity of Funds and Property of a Client 

(A) All funds received or held for the benefit of clients by a member or law firm, including advances 
for costs and expenses, shall be deposited in one or more identifiable bank accounts labeled 

―Trust Account,‖ ―Client's Funds Account‖ or words of similar import, maintained in the State of 

California, or, with written consent of the client, in any other jurisdiction where there is a 
substantial relationship between the client or the client's business and the other jurisdiction. No 

funds belonging to the member or the law firm shall be deposited therein or otherwise 

commingled therewith except as follows: 

(1) Funds reasonably sufficient to pay bank charges. 

(2) In the case of funds belonging in part to a client and in part presently or potentially to the 

member or the law firm, the portion belonging to the member or law firm must be withdrawn 

at the earliest reasonable time after the member's interest in that portion becomes fixed. 
However, when the right of the member or law firm to receive a portion of trust funds is 

disputed by the client, the disputed portion shall not be withdrawn until the dispute is finally 

resolved. 
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(B) A member shall: 

(1) Promptly notify a client of the receipt of the client's funds, securities, or other properties. 

(2) Identify and label securities and properties of a client promptly upon receipt and place them in a 
safe deposit box or other place of safekeeping as soon as practicable. 

(3) Maintain complete records of all funds, securities, and other properties of a client coming into the 

possession of the member or law firm and render appropriate accounts to the client regarding 

them; preserve such records for a period of no less than five years after final appropriate 
distribution of such funds or properties; and comply with any order for an audit of such records 

issued pursuant to the Rules of Procedure of the State Bar. 

(4) Promptly pay or deliver, as requested by the client, any funds, securities, or other properties in the 
possession of the member which the client is entitled to receive. 

(C) The Board of Governors of the State Bar shall have the authority to formulate and adopt standards as 

to what ―records‖ shall be maintained by members and law firms in accordance with subparagraph 

(B)(3). The standards formulated and adopted by the Board, as from time to time amended, shall be 
effective and binding on all members. 

Standards: 

Pursuant to rule 4-100(C) the Board of Governors of the State Bar adopted the following standards, 

effective January 1, 1993, as to what ―records‖ shall be maintained by members and law firms in 
accordance with subparagraph (B)(3).  

(1) A member shall, from the date of receipt of client funds through the period ending five years 

from the date of appropriate disbursement of such funds, maintain: 

(a)  a written ledger for each client on whose behalf funds are held that sets forth: 

(i) the name of such client, 

(ii) the date, amount and source of all funds received on behalf of such client, 

(iii) the date, amount, payee and purpose of each disbursement made on behalf of such 
client, and 

(iv) the current balance for such client; 

(b) a written journal for each bank account that sets forth: 

(i) the name of such account, 

(ii) the date, amount and client affected by each debit and credit, and 

(iii) the current balance in such account; 

(c) all bank statements and cancelled checks for each bank account; and 

(d) each monthly reconciliation (balancing) of (a), (b), and (c). 

(2) A member shall, from the date of receipt of all securities and other properties held for the 

benefit of client through the period ending five years from the date of appropriate 
disbursement of such securities and other properties, maintain a written journal that specifies: 

(a)  each item of security and property held; 
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(b)  the person on whose behalf the security or property is held; 

(c) the date of receipt of the security or property; 

(d) the date of distribution of the security or property; and 

(e) person to whom the security or property was distributed.  

(Trust Account Record Keeping Standards as Adopted by the Board of Governors on July 11, 1992, 
effective on January 1, 1993.) 

 

Rule 4-200  Fees for Legal Services 

(A) A member shall not enter into an agreement for, charge, or collect an illegal or unconscionable 
fee. 

(B) Unconscionability of a fee shall be determined on the basis of all the facts and circumstances 
existing at the time the agreement is entered into except where the parties contemplate that the fee 
will be affected by later events. Among the factors to be considered, where appropriate, in 
determining the conscionability of a fee are the following: 

(1) The amount of the fee in proportion to the value of the services performed. 

(2) The relative sophistication of the member and the client. 

(3) The novelty and difficulty of the questions involved and the skill requisite to perform the 
legal service properly. 

(4) The likelihood, if apparent to the client, that the acceptance of the particular employment will 

preclude other employment by the member. 

(5) The amount involved and the results obtained. 

(6) The time limitations imposed by the client or by the circumstances. 

(7) The nature and length of the professional relationship with the client.   

(8) The experience, reputation, and ability of the member or members performing the services. 

(9) Whether the fee is fixed or contingent. 

(10)  The time and labor required. 

(11)  The informed consent of the client to the fee. 

(Amended by order of Supreme Court, operative September14, 1992.) 

  

Relevant Business and Professions Code Sections 

§ 6069  Authorization for Disclosure of Financial Records; Subpoena; Notice; Review 

(a) Every member of the State Bar shall be deemed by operation of this law to have irrevocably 

authorized the disclosure to the State Bar and the Supreme Court pursuant to Section 7473 of the 
Government Code of any and all financial records held by financial institutions as defined in 

subdivisions (a) and (b) Section 7465 of the Government Code pertaining to accounts which the 
member must maintain in accordance with the Rules of Professional Conduct; provided that no 

such financial records shall be disclosed to the State Bar without a subpoena therefor having been 
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issued pursuant to Section 6049 of this code, and further provided that the board of trustees shall 

by rule provide notice to the member similar to that notice provided for in subdivision (d) of 
Section 7473 of the Government Code. Such notice may be sent by mail addressed to the 

member’s current office or other address for State Bar purposes as shown on the member’s 
registration records of the State Bar. 

The State Bar shall, by mail addressed to the member’s current office or other address for State 

Bar purposes as shown on the member’s registration records of the State Bar, notify its members 

annually of the provisions of this subdivision. 

(b) With regard to the examination of all financial records other than those mentioned in subdivision 
(a), held by financial institutions as defined in subdivisions (a) and (b) of Section 7465 of the 

Government Code, no such financial records shall be disclosed to the State Bar without a 
subpoena therefor having been issued pursuant to Section 6049 of this code and the board of 

trustees shall by rule provide for service of a copy of the subpoena on the customer as defined in 

subdivision (d) of Section 7465 of the Government Code and an opportunity for the customer to 
move the board or committee having jurisdiction to quash the subpoena prior to examination of 

the financial records. Review of the actions of the board or any committee on such motions shall 

be had only by the Supreme Court in accordance with the procedure prescribed by the court. 

Service of a copy of any subpoena issued pursuant to this subdivision (b) may be made on a 

member of the State Bar by mail addressed to the member’s current office or other address for 
State Bar purposes as shown on the member’s registration records of the State Bar. If the 

customer is other than a member, service shall be made pursuant to Chapter 4 (commencing with 

Section 413.10) of Title 5 of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure, except that service may be 
made by an employee of the State Bar. 

(c) For purposes of this section, ―member of the State Bar‖ or ―member‖ means every member of the 

State Bar, law firm in California of which a member of the State Bar is a member, and law 
corporation within the meaning of Article 10 of Chapter 4 of Division 3 of this code. (Added by 

Stats. 1976, ch. 1320; Amended by Stats. 1978, ch. 1346; Stats. 2011, ch. 417.) 

 

§ 6091.1  Client Trust Fund Accounts—Investigation of Overdrafts and 
Misappropriations 

(a) The Legislature finds that overdrafts and misappropriations from attorney trust accounts are 

serious problems, and determines that it is in the public interest to ensure prompt detection and 
investigation of instances involving overdrafts and misappropriations from attorney trust 

accounts. 

A financial institution, including any branch, which is a depository for attorney trust accounts 
under subdivision (a) or (b) of Section 6211, shall report to the State Bar in the event any 

properly payable instrument is presented against an attorney trust account containing 

insufficient funds, irrespective of whether or not the instrument is honored. 

(b) All reports made by the financial institution shall be in the following format:  

(1) In the case of a dishonored instrument, the report shall be identical to the overdraft notice 

customarily forwarded to the depositor, and shall include a copy of the dishonored 

instrument, if such a copy is normally provided to depositors. 

(2) In the case of instruments that are presented against insufficient funds but which 
instruments are honored, the report shall identify the financial institution, the attorney or 

law firm, the account number, the date of presentation for payment, and the date paid, as 

well as the amount of overdraft created thereby. These reports shall be made 
simultaneously with, and within the time provided by law for notice of dishonor, if any. 
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If an instrument presented against insufficient funds is honored, then the report shall be 

made within five banking days of the date of presentation for payment agains t 
insufficient funds. 

(c) Every attorney practicing or admitted to practice in this state shall, as a condition thereof, be 

conclusively deemed to have consented to the reporting and production requirements of this 
section. 

(d) Nothing in this section shall preclude a financial institution from charging an attorney or law 

firm for the reasonable cost of producing the reports and records required by sub-divisions (a) 

and (b). (Added by Stats. 1988, ch. 1159.) 

 

§ 6091.2  Definitions Applicable to Section 6091.1 

As used in Section 6091.1: 

(a) ―Financial institution‖ means a bank, savings and loan, or other financial institution serving as 

a depository for attorney trust accounts under subdivision (a) or (b) of Section 6211. 

(b) ―Properly payable‖ means an instrument that, if presented in the normal course of business, is in 
a form requiring payment under the laws of this state. 

(c) ―Notice of dishonor‖ means the notice that a financial institution is required to give, under the 

laws of this state, upon presentation of an instrument that the institution dishonors. (Added by 
Stats. 1988, ch. 1159.  Amended by Stats. 2007, ch. 422.) 

 

§ 6146  Limitations; Periodic Payments; Definitions 

(a) An attorney shall not contract for or collect a contingency fee for representing any person seeking 
damages in connection with an action for injury or damage against a health care provider based 

upon such person's alleged professional negligence in excess of the following limits: 

(1) Forty percent of the first fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) recovered. 

(2) Thirty-three and one-third percent of the next fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) recovered 

(3) Twenty-five percent of the next five hundred thousand dollars ($500,000) recovered. 

(4) Fifteen percent of any amount on which the recovery exceeds six hundred thousand dollars 

($600,000). 

The limitations shall apply regardless of whether the recovery is by settlement, arbitration, or 

judgment, or whether the person for whom the recovery is made is a responsible adult, an infant, 

or a person of unsound mind.  

(b) If periodic payments are awarded to the plaintiff pursuant to section 667.7 of the Code of Civil 
Procedure, the court shall place a total value on these payments based upon the projected life 

expectancy of the plaintiff and include this amount in computing the total award from which 
attorney's fees are calculated under this section. 

(c) For purposes of this section: 

(1) ―Recovered‖ means the net sum recovered after deducting any disbursements or costs 
incurred in connection with prosecution or settlement of the claim. Costs of medical care 
incurred by the plaintiff and the attorney's office-overhead costs or charges are not deductible 
disbursements or costs for such purpose. 
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(2) ―Health care provider‖ means any person licensed or certified pursuant to Division 2 
(commencing with Section 500) or licensed pursuant to the Osteopathic Initiative Act, or the 
Chiropractic Initiative Act, or licensed pursuant to Chapter 2.5 (commencing with Section 
1440) of Division 2 of the Health and Safety Code; and any clinic, health dispensary, or 
health facility, licensed pursuant to Division 2 (commencing with Section 1200) of the 
Health and Safety Code. ―Health care provider‖ includes the legal representatives of a health 
care provider. 

(3) ―Professional negligence‖ is a negligent act or omission to act by a health care provider in the 
rendering of professional services, which act or omission is the proximate cause of a personal 
injury or wrongful death, provided that the services are within the scope of services for which 
the provider is licensed and which are not within any restriction imposed by the licensing 
agency or licensed hospital. (Added by Stats. 1975, 2nd Ex. Sess., ch. 1.  Amended by Stats. 
1975, 2nd Ex. Sess., ch. 2, effective September 24, 1975, operative December 12, 1975; 
Stats. 1981, ch. 714; Stats. 1987, ch. 1498.) 

            

§ 6147  Contingency Fee Contract: Contents; Effect of Noncompliance; Application to 
Contracts for Recovery of Workers' Compensation Benefits 

(a) An attorney who contracts to represent a client on a contingency fee basis shall, at the time the 
contract is entered into, provide a duplicate copy of the contract, signed by both the attorney and 
the client, or the client's guardian or representative, to the plaintiff, or to the client's guardian or 
representative. The contract shall be in writing and shall include, but is not limited to, all of the 
following: 

(1) A statement of the contingency fee rate that the client and attorney have agreed upon. 

(2) A statement as to how disbursements and costs incurred in connection with the prosecution 
or settlement of the claim will affect the contingency fee and the client's recovery. 

(3) A statement as to what extent, if any, the client could be required to pay any compensation to 
the attorney for related matters that arise out of their relationship not covered by their 
contingency fee contract. This may include any amounts collected for the plaintiff by the 
attorney. 

(4) Unless the claim is subject to the provisions of Section 6146, a statement that the fee is not 
set by law but is negotiable between attorney and client. 

(5) If the claim is subject to the provisions of Section 6146, a statement that the rates set forth in 
that section are the maximum limits for the contingency fee agreement, and that the attorney 
and client may negotiate a lower rate.  

(b) Failure to comply with any provision of this section renders the agreement voidable at the option 

of the plaintiff, and the attorney shall thereupon be entitled to collect a reasonable fee. 

(c) This section shall not apply to contingency fee contracts for the recovery of workers' 

compensation benefits. 

(d) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2000. (Added by Stats. 1993, ch. 982.  

Amended by Stats. 1994, ch. 479; Stats. 1996, ch. 1104, operative January 1, 2000.) 
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§ 6147.5  Contingency Fee Contracts; Recovery of Claims between Merchants 

 (a) Sections 6147 and 6148 shall not apply to contingency fee contracts for the recovery of claims 

between merchants as defined in Section 2104 of the Commercial Code, arising from the sale or 

lease of goods or services rendered, or money loaned for use, in the conduct of a business or 

profession if the merchant contracting for legal services employs 10 or more individuals. 

 (b) (1) In the instances in which no written contract for legal services exists as permitted by 
subdivision (a), an attorney shall not contract for or collect a contingency fee in excess of the 

following limits: 

(A)  Twenty percent (20%) of the first three hundred dollars ($300) collected. 

(B) Eighteen percent (18%) of the next one thousand seven hundred dollars ($1,700) 
collected. 

(C) Thirteen percent (13%) of sums collected in excess of two thousand dollars ($2,000). 

(2) However, the following minimum charges may be charged and collected: 

(A)  Twenty-five dollars ($25) in collections of seventy-five dollars ($75) to one hundred 

twenty-five dollars ($125). 

(B) Thirty-three and one-third percent of collections less than seventy-five dollars ($75). 
(Added by Stats. 1990, ch. 713.) 

           

§ 6148  Written Fee Contract: Contents; Effect of Noncompliance 

(a) In any case not coming within Section 6147 in which it is reasonably foreseeable that total 

expense to a client, including attorney fees, will exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), the 
contract for services in the case shall be in writing. At the time the contract is entered into, the 

attorney shall provide a duplicate copy of the contract signed by both the attorney and the client, 
or the client's guardian or representative, to the client, or the client's guardian or representative. 

The written contract shall contain all of the following: 

(1) Any basis of compensation including, but not limited to, hourly rates, statutory fees or flat 

fees, and other standard rates, fees, and charges applicable to the case. 

(2) The general nature of the legal services to be provided to the client. 

(3) The respective responsibilities of the attorney and the client as to the performance of the 
contract. 

(b) All bills rendered by an attorney to a client shall clearly state the basis thereof. Bills for the fee 

portion of the bill shall include the amount, rate, basis for calculation, or other method of 
determination of the attorney's fees and costs. Bills for the cost and expense portion of the bill 

shall clearly identify the costs and expenses incurred and the amount of the costs and expenses. 

Upon request by the client, the attorney shall provide a bill to the client no later than 10 days 

following the request unless the attorney has provided a bill to the client within 31 days prior to 

the request, in which case the attorney may provide a bill to the client no later than 31 days 
following the date the most recent bill was provided. The client is entitled to make similar 

requests at intervals of no less than 30 days following the initial request. In providing responses 

to client requests for billing information, the attorney may use billing data that is currently 
effective on the date of the request, or, if any fees or costs to that date cannot be accurately 

determined, they shall be described and estimated. 
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(c) Failure to comply with any provision of this section renders the agreement voidable at the option 

of the client, and the attorney shall, upon the agreement being voided, be entitled to collect a 
reasonable fee. 

(d) This section shall not apply to any of the following: 

(1) Services rendered in an emergency to avoid foreseeable prejudice to the rights or interests of 

the client or where a writing is otherwise impractical. 

(2) An arrangement as to the fee implied by the fact that the attorney's services are of the same 
general kind as previously rendered to and paid for by the client. 

(3) If the client knowingly states in writing, after full disclosure of this section, that a writing 

concerning fees is not required. 

(4) If the client is a corporation. 

(e) This section applies prospectively only to fee agreements following its operative date. 

(f) This section shall become operative on January 1, 2000. (Added by Stats. 1993, ch. 982. 
Amended by Stats. 1994, ch. 479; Stats. 1996, ch. 1104, operative January 1, 2000.) 

           
  

§ 6149  Written Fee Contract Confidential Communication 

A written fee contract shall be deemed to be a confidential communication within the meaning of 

subdivision (e) of Section 6068 and of Section 952 of the Evidence Code. (Added by Stats. 1986, ch. 
475.) 

            

§ 6149.5  Insurer Notification to Claimant of Settlement Payment Delivered to 
Claimant's Attorney 

(a) Upon the payment of one hundred dollars ($100) or more in settlement of any third-party liability 

claim the insurer shall provide written notice to the claimant if both of the following apply: 

(1) The claimant is a natural person. 

(2) The payment is delivered to the claimant's lawyer or other representative by draft, check, or 

otherwise. 

(b) For purposes of this section, ―written notice‖ includes providing to the claimant a copy of the cover 
letter sent to the claimant's attorney or other representative that accompanied the settlement payment. 

 (c) This section shall not create any cause of action for any person against the insurer based upon the 

insurer's failure to provide the notice to a claimant required by this section. This section shall not 
create a defense for any party to any cause of action based upon the insurer's failure to provide 

this notice. (Added by Stats. 1994, ch. 479.) 

 

§ 6200  Establishment of System and Procedure; Jurisdiction; Local Bar Association 
Rules 

(a) The board of trustees shall, by rule, establish, maintain, and administer a system and procedure 

for the arbitration, and may establish, maintain, and administer a system and procedure for 
mediation of disputes concerning fees, costs, or both, charged for professional services by 

members of the State Bar or by members of the bar of other jurisdictions. The rules may include 

provision for a filing fee in the amount as the board may, from time to time, determine. 
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(b) This article shall not apply to any of the following: 

(1) Disputes where a member of the State Bar of California is also admitted to practice in 

another jurisdiction or where an attorney is only admitted to practice in another jurisdiction, 

and he or she maintains no office in the State of California, and no material portion of the 

services were rendered in the State of California. 

(2) Claims for affirmative relief against the attorney for damages or otherwise based upon alleged 
malpractice or professional misconduct, except as provided in subdivision (a) of Section 6203. 

(3) Disputes where the fee or cost to be paid by the client or on his or her behalf has been 

determined pursuant to statute or court order. 

(c) Unless the client has agreed in writing to arbitration under this article of all disputes concerning 
fees, costs, or both, arbitration under this article shall be voluntary for a client and shall be 

mandatory for an attorney if commenced by a client. Mediation under this article shall be 

voluntary for an attorney and a client. 

(d) The board of trustees shall adopt rules to allow arbitration and mediation of attorney fee and cost 
disputes under this article to proceed under arbitration and mediation systems sponsored by local 

bar associations in this state. Rules of procedure promulgated by local bar associations are subject 
to review by the board or a committee designated by the board to ensure that they provide for a 

fair, impartial, and speedy hearing and award. 

(e) In adopting or reviewing rules of arbitration under this section, the board shall provide that the 

panel shall include one attorney member whose area of practice is either, at the option of the 
client, civil law, if the attorney’s representation involved civil law, or criminal law, if the 

attorney’s representation involved criminal law, as follows: 

(1) If the panel is composed of three members the panel shall include one attorney member 
whose area of practice is either, at the option of the client, civil or criminal law, and shall 

include one lay member. 

(2) If the panel is composed of one member, that member shall be an attorney whose area of 

practice is either, at the option of the client, civil or criminal law. 

(f) In any arbitration or mediation conducted pursuant to this article by the State Bar or by a local bar 
association, pursuant to rules of procedure approved by the board of trustees, an arbitrator or 

mediator, as well as the arbitrating association and its directors, officers, and employees, shall 
have the same immunity which attaches in judicial proceedings. 

(g) In the conduct of arbitrations under this article the arbitrator or arbitrators may do all of the 

following: 

(1) Take and hear evidence pertaining to the proceeding. 

(2) Administer oaths and affirmations. 

(3) Issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, papers, and 
documents pertaining to the proceeding.  

(h) Participation in mediation is a voluntary consensual process, based on direct negotiations 

between the attorney and his or her client, and is an extension of the negotiated settlement 

process. All discussions and offers of settlement are confidential and may not be disclosed in any 
subsequent arbitration or other proceedings.  (Added by Stats. 1978, ch. 719. Amended by Stats. 

1984, ch. 825; Stats. 1989, ch. 1416; Stats. 1990, ch. 483; Stats. 1990, ch. 1020; Stats. 1993, ch. 
1262; Stats. 1994, ch. 479; Stats. 1996, ch. 1104; Stats. 2009, ch. 54; Stats. 2011, ch. 417.) 



58 Appendix 2 

  

§ 6201  Notice to Client; Request for Arbitration; Client's Waiver of Right to Arbitration 

(a) The rules adopted by the board of trustees shall provide that an attorney shall forward a written 

notice to the client prior to or at the time of service of summons or claim in an action against the 

client, or prior to or at the commencement of any other proceeding against the client under a 
contract between attorney and client which provides for an alternative to arbitration under this 

article, for recovery of fees, costs, or both. 

The written notice shall be in the form that the board of trustees prescribes, and shall include a 

statement of the client’s right to arbitration under this article. Failure to give this notice shall be a 
ground for the dismissal of the action or other proceeding. The notice shall not be required, 

however, prior to initiating mediation of the dispute. 

The rules adopted by the board of trustees shall provide that the client’s failure to request 
arbitration within 30 days after receipt of notice from the attorney shall be deemed a waiver of 

the client’s right to arbitration under the provisions of this article. 

(b) If an attorney, or the attorney’s assignee, commences an action in any court or any other 
proceeding and the client is entitled to maintain arbitration under this article, and the dispute is 

not one to which subdivision (b) of Section 6200 applies, the client may stay the action or other 

proceeding by serving and filing a request for arbitration in accordance with the rules established 
by the board of trustees pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 6200. The request for arbitration 

shall be served and filed prior to the filing of an answer in the action or equivalent response in the 

other proceeding; failure to so request arbitration prior to the filing of an answer or equivalent 
response shall be deemed a waiver of the client’s right to arbitration under the provisions of this 

article if notice of the client’s right to arbitration was given pursuant to subdivision (a). 

(c) Upon filing and service of the request for arbitration, the action or other proceeding shall be 
automatically stayed until the award of the arbitrators is issued or the arbitration is otherwise 

terminated. The stay may be vacated in whole or in part, after a hearing duly noticed by any party 

or the court, if and to the extent the court finds that the matter is not appropriate for arbitration 
under the provisions of this article. The action or other proceeding may thereafter proceed subject 

to the provisions of Section 6204. 

(d) A client’s right to request or maintain arbitration under the provisions of this article is waived by 
the client commencing an action or filing any pleading seeking either of the following: 

(1) Judicial resolution of a fee dispute to which this article applies. 

(2) Affirmative relief against the attorney for damages or otherwise based upon alleged 

malpractice or professional misconduct. 

(e) If the client waives the right to arbitration under this article, the parties may stipulate to set aside 
the waiver and to proceed with arbitration. (Added by Stats. 1978, ch. 719. Amended by Stats. 

1979, ch. 878; Stats. 1982, ch. 979; Stats. 1984, ch. 825; Stats. 1989, ch. 1416; Stats. 1990, ch. 

483; Stats. 1993, ch. 1262; Stats. 1994, ch. 479; Stats. 1996, ch. 1104; Stats. 2011, ch. 417.) 

   

§ 6202  Disclosure of Attorney-Client Communication and Work Product; Limitation 

The provisions of Article 3 (commencing with section 950) of Chapter 4 of Division 8 of the 

Evidence Code shall not prohibit the disclosure of any relevant communication, nor shall the 
provisions of Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 2018.010) of Title 4 of Part 4 of the Code of Civil 

Procedure be construed to prohibit the disclosure of any relevant work product of the attorney in 

connection with: (a) an arbitration hearing or mediation pursuant to this article; (b) a trial after 
arbitration; or (c) judicial confirmation, correction, or vacation of an arbitration award. In no event 
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shall such disclosure be deemed a waiver of the confidential character of such matters for any other 

purpose. (Added by Stats. 1978, ch. 719.  Amended by Stats. 1982, ch. 979; Stats. 1984, ch. 825; 
Stats. 1996, ch. 1104; Stats. 2004, ch. 182.)    

 

§ 6203  Award; Contents; Finality; Petition to Court; Award of Fees and Costs 

(a) The award shall be in writing and signed by the arbitrators concurring therein. It shall include a 
determination of all the questions submitted to the arbitrators, the decision of which is necessary 

in order to determine the controversy. The award shall not include any award to either party for 

costs or attorney’s fees incurred in preparation for or in the course of the fee arbitration 
proceeding, notwithstanding any contract between the parties providing for such an award or 

costs or attorney’s fees. However, the filing fee paid may be allocated between the parties by the 
arbitrators. This section shall not preclude an award of costs or attorney’s fees to either party by a 

court pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section or of subdivision (d) of Section 6204. The State 

Bar, or the local bar association delegated by the State Bar to conduct the arbitration, shall deliver 
to each of the parties with the award, an original declaration of service of the award. 

Evidence relating to claims of malpractice and professional misconduct, shall be admissible only 

to the extent that those claims bear upon the fees, costs, or both, to which the attorney is entitled. 
The arbitrators shall not award affirmative relief, in the form of damages or offset or otherwise, 

for injuries underlying the claim. Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the 

arbitrators from awarding the client a refund of unearned fees, costs, or both previously paid to 
the attorney 

(b) Even if the parties to the arbitration have not agreed in writing to be bound, the arbitration award 

shall become binding upon the passage of 30 days after service of notice of the award, unless a party 
has, within the 30 days, sought a trial after arbitration pursuant to Section 6204. If an action has 

previously been filed in any court, any petition to confirm, correct, or vacate the award shall be to the 

court in which the action is pending, and may be served by mail on any party who has appeared, as 
provided in Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 1003) of Title 14 of Part 2 of the Code of Civil 

Procedure; otherwise it shall be in the same manner as provided in Chapter 4 (commencing with 

Section 1285) of Title 9 of Part 3 of the Code of Civil Procedure. If no action is pending in any court, 
the award may be confirmed, corrected, or vacated by petition to the court having jurisdiction over 

the amount of the arbitration award, but otherwise in the same manner as provided in Chapter 4 
(commencing with Section 1285) of Title 9 of Part 3 of the Code of Civil Procedure. 

(c) Neither party to the arbitration may recover costs or attorney’s fees incurred in preparation for or 

in the course of the fee arbitration proceeding with the exception of the filing fee paid pursuant to 

subdivision (a) of this section. However, a court confirming, correcting, or vacating an award 
under this section may award to the prevailing party reasonable fees and costs incurred in 

obtaining confirmation, correction, or vacation of the award including, if applicable, fees and 
costs on appeal. The party obtaining judgment confirming, correcting, or vacating the award shall 

be the prevailing party except that, without regard to consideration of who the prevailing party 

may be, if a party did not appear at the arbitration hearing in the manner provided by the rules 
adopted by the board of trustees, that party shall not be entitled to attorney’s fees or costs upon 

confirmation, correction, or vacation of the award. 

(d) (1) In any matter arbitrated under this article in which the award is binding or has become 
binding by operation of law or has become a judgment either after confirmation under 

subdivision (c) or after a trial after arbitration under Section 6204, or in any matter mediated 

under this article, if: (A) the award, judgment, or agreement reached after mediation includes 
a refund of fees or costs, or both, to the client and (B) the attorney has not complied with that 

award, judgment, or agreement the State Bar shall enforce the award, judgment, or agreement 

by placing the attorney on involuntary inactive status until the refund has been paid. 
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(2) The State Bar shall provide for an administrative procedure to determine whether an award, 

judgment, or agreement should be enforced pursuant to this subdivision. An award, 
judgment, or agreement shall be so enforced if: 

(A) The State Bar shows that the attorney has failed to comply with a binding fee arbitration 

award, judgment, or agreement rendered pursuant to this article. 

(B) The attorney has not proposed a payment plan acceptable to the client or the State Bar. 

However, the award, judgment, or agreement shall not be so enforced if the attorney has 
demonstrated that he or she (i) is not personally responsible for making or ensuring payment 

of the refund, or (ii) is unable to pay the refund. 

(3) An attorney who has failed to comply with a binding award, judgment, or agreement shall 
pay administrative penalties or reasonable costs, or both, as directed by the State Bar. 

Penalties imposed shall not exceed 20 percent of the amount to be refunded to the client or 

one thousand dollars ($1,000), whichever is greater. Any penalties or costs, or both, that are 
not paid shall be added to the membership fee of the attorney for the next calendar year. 

(4) The board shall terminate the inactive enrollment upon proof that the attorney has complied 

with the award, judgment, or agreement and upon payment of any costs or penalties, or both, 
assessed as a result of the attorney’s failure to comply.  

(5) A request for enforcement under this subdivision shall be made within four years from the 

date (A) the arbitration award was mailed, (B) the judgment was entered, or (C) the date the 

agreement was signed. In an arbitrated matter, however, in no event shall a request be made 
prior to 100 days from the date of the service of a signed copy of the award. In cases where 

the award is appealed, a request shall not be made prior to 100 days from the date the award has 
become final as set forth in this section.  (Added by Stats. 1978, ch. 719. Amended by Stats. 

1982, ch. 979; Stats. 1984, ch. 825; Stats. 1989, ch. 1416; Stats. 1990, ch. 483; Stats. 1992, ch. 

1265; Stats. 1993, ch. 1262, Stats. 1996. ch. 1104; Stats. 2009, ch. 54; Stats. 2011, ch. 417.) 

 

§ 6204  Agreement to be Bound by Award of Arbitrator; Trial After Arbitration in 
Absence of Agreement; Prevailing Party; Effect of Award and Determination 

(a) The parties may agree in writing to be bound by the award of arbitrators appointed pursuant to 

this article at any time after the dispute over fees, costs, or both, has arisen. In the absence of 

such an agreement, either party shall be entitled to a trial after arbitration if sought within 30 

days, pursuant to subdivisions (b) and (c), except that if either party willfully fails to appear at 

the arbitration hearing in the manner provided by the rules adopted by the board of trustees, 

that party shall not be entitled to a trial after arbitration. The determination of willfulness shall 

be made by the court. The party who failed to appear at the arbitration shall have the burden of 

proving that the failure to appear was not willful. In making its determination, the court may 

consider any findings made by the arbitrators on the subject of a party’s failure to appear. 

(b) If there is an action pending, the trial after arbitration shall be initiated by filing a rejection of 

arbitration award and request for trial after arbitration in that action within 30 days after service of 

notice of the award. If the rejection of arbitration award has been filed by the plaintiff in the 

pending action, all defendants shall file a responsive pleading within 30 days following service 

upon the defendant of the rejection of arbitration award and request for trial after arbitration. If the 

rejection of arbitration award has been filed by the defendant in the pending action, all defendants 

shall file a responsive pleading within 30 days after the filing of the rejection of arbitration award 

and request for trial after arbitration. Service may be made by mail on any party who has appeared; 
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otherwise service shall be made in the manner provided in Chapter 4 (commencing with Section 

413.10) of Title 5 of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure. Upon service and filing of the rejection 

of arbitration award, any stay entered pursuant to Section 6201 shall be vacated, without the 

necessity of a court order. 

(c) If no action is pending, the trial after arbitration shall be initiated by the commencement of an 

action in the court having jurisdiction over the amount of money in controversy within 30 days 

after service of notice of the award. After the filing of such an action, the action shall proceed in 

accordance with the provisions of Part 2 (commencing with Section 307) of the Code of Civil 

Procedure, concerning civil actions generally. 

(d) The party seeking a trial after arbitration shall be the prevailing party if that party obtains a 

judgment more favorable than that provided by the arbitration award, and in all other cases the other 

party shall be the prevailing party. The prevailing party may, in the discretion of the court, be 

entitled to an allowance for reasonable attorney’s fees and costs incurred in the trial after arbitration, 

which allowance shall be fixed by the court. In fixing the attorney’s fees, the court shall consider 

the award and determinations of the arbitrators, in addition to any other relevant evidence. 

(e) Except as provided in this section, the award and determinations of the arbitrators shall not be 

admissible nor operate as collateral estoppel or res judicata in any action or proceeding. (Added by 

Stats. 1978, ch. 719. Amended by Stats. 1979, ch. 878; Stats. 1982, ch. 979; Stats. 1984, ch. 825; Stats. 

1992, ch. 1265; Stats. 1996. ch. 1104; Stats. 1998, ch. 798; Stats. 2009, ch. 54; Stats. 2011, ch. 417.) 

 

§ 6204.5  Disqualification of Arbitrators; Post-arbitration Notice 

(a) The State Bar shall provide by rule for an appropriate procedure to disqualify an arbitrator upon 

request of the client. 

(b) The State Bar, or the local bar association delegated by the State Bar to conduct the arbitration, 

shall deliver a notice to the parties advising them of their rights to judicial relief subsequent to the 

arbitration proceeding. (Added by Stats. 1986, ch. 475; Stats. 1996, ch. 1104.) 

 

§ 6206  Arbitration Barred if Time for Commencing Civil Action Barred; Exception 

The time for filing a civil action seeking judicial resolution of a dispute subject to arbitration under 
this article shall be tolled from the time an arbitration is initiated in accordance with the rules adopted 

by the board of trustees until (a) 30 days after receipt of notice of the award of the arbitrators, or (b) 
receipt of notice that the arbitration is otherwise terminated, whichever comes first. Arbitration may 

not be commenced under this article if a civil action requesting the same relief would be barred by 

any provision of Title 2 (commencing with Section 312) of Part 2 of the Code of Civil Procedure; 
provided that this limitation shall not apply to a request for arbitration by a client, pursuant to the 

provisions of subdivision (b) of Section 6201, following the filing of a civil action by the attorney. 

(Added by Stats. 1978, ch. 719. Amended by Stats. 1984, ch. 825; Stats. 2011, ch. 417.) 

 

§ 6211  Maintenance of Interest Bearing IOLTA Account; Payment of Interest and 
Dividends into Fund 

(a) An attorney or law firm that, in the course of the practice of law, receives or disburses trust funds 
shall establish and maintain an IOLTA account in which the attorney or law firm shall deposit or 

invest all client deposits or funds that are nominal in amount or are on deposit or invested for a 

short period of time. All such client funds may be deposited or invested in a single unsegregated 
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account. The interest and dividends earned on all those accounts shall be paid to the State Bar of 

California to be used for the purposes set forth in this article. 

(b) Nothing in this article shall be construed to prohibit an attorney or law firm from establishing one 

or more interest bearing bank trust deposit accounts or dividend-paying trust investment accounts 

as may be permitted by the Supreme Court, with the interest or dividends earned on the accounts 
payable to clients for trust funds not deposited or invested in accordance with subdivision (a). 

(c) With the approval of the Supreme Court, the State Bar may formulate and enforce rules of 

professional conduct pertaining to the use by attorneys or law firms of an IOLTA account for 

unsegregated client funds pursuant to this article. 

(d) Nothing in this article shall be construed as affecting or impairing the disciplinary powers and 

authority of the Supreme Court or of the State Bar or as modifying the statutes and rules 

governing the conduct of members of the State Bar. (Added by Stats.1981, ch 789.  Amended by 
Stats. 2007, ch 422). 

 

§ 6212  Requirements in Establishing Client Trust Accounts; Amount of Interest; 
Remittance to State Bar; Statements and Reports 

An attorney who, or a law firm that, establishes an IOLTA account pursuant to subdivision (a) of 

Section 6211 shall comply with all of the following provisions: 

(a) The IOLTA account shall be established and maintained with an eligible institution offering or 

making available an IOLTA account that meets the requirements of this article. The IOLTA 
account shall be established and maintained consistent with the attorney's or law firm's duties of 

professional responsibility. An eligible financial institution shall have no responsibility for 
selecting the deposit or investment product chosen for the IOLTA account. 

(b) Except as provided in subdivision (f), the rate of interest or dividends payable on any IOLTA 

account shall not be less than the interest rate or dividends generally paid by the eligible 

institution to nonattorney customers on accounts of the same type meeting the same minimum 

balance and other eligibility requirements as the IOLTA account. In determining the interest rate 

or dividend payable on any IOLTA account, an eligible institution may consider, in addition to 

the balance in the IOLTA account, risk or other factors customarily considered by the eligible 
institution when setting the interest rate or dividends for its non-IOLTA accounts, provided that 

the factors do not discriminate between IOLTA customers and non-IOLTA customers and that 
these factors do not include the fact that the account is an IOLTA account. The eligible institution 

shall calculate interest and dividends in accordance with its standard practice for non-IOLTA 

customers. Nothing in this article shall preclude an eligible institution from paying a higher 
interest rate or dividend on an IOLTA account or from electing to waive any fees and service 

charges on an IOLTA account. 

(c) Reasonable fees may be deducted from the interest or dividends remitted on an IOLTA account 
only at the rates and in accordance with the customary practices of the eligible institution for non-

IOLTA customers. No other fees or service charges may be deducted from the interest or 

dividends earned on an IOLTA account. Unless and until the State Bar enacts regulations 

exempting from compliance with subdivision (a) of Section 6211 those accounts for which 

maintenance fees exceed the interest or dividends paid, an eligible institution may deduct the fees 
and service charges in excess of the interest or dividends paid on an IOLTA account from the 

aggregate interest and dividends remitted to the State Bar. Fees and service charges other than 

reasonable fees shall be the sole responsibility of, and may only be charged to, the attorney or law 
firm maintaining the IOLTA account. Fees and charges shall not be assessed against or deducted 

from the principal of any IOLTA account. It is the intent of the Legislature that the State Bar 

develop policies so that eligible institutions do not incur uncompensated administrative costs in 



 Appendix 2 63 

adapting their systems to comply with the provisions of Chapter 422 of the Statutes of 2007 or in 

making investment products available to IOLTA members. 

(d) The attorney or law firm shall report IOLTA account compliance and all other IOLTA account 

information required by the State Bar in the manner specified by the State Bar. 

(e) The eligible institution shall be directed to do all of the following: 

(1) To remit interest or dividends on the IOLTA account, less reasonable fees, to the State Bar, 

at least quarterly. 

(2) To transmit to the State Bar with each remittance a statement showing the name of the 
attorney or law firm for which the remittance is sent, for each account the rate of interest 

applied or dividend paid, the amount and type of fees deducted, if any, and the average 
balance for each account for each month of the period for which the report is made. 

(3) To transmit to the attorney or law firm customer at the same time a report showing the 

amount paid to the State Bar for that period, the rate of interest or dividend applied, the 

amount of fees and service charges deducted, if any, and the average daily account balance 
for each month of the period for which the report is made. 

(f) A n eligible institution has no affirmative duty to offer or make investment products available to 

IOLTA customers. However, if an eligible institution offers or makes investment products 
available to non-IOLTA customers, in order to remain an IOLTA-eligible institution, it shall 

make those products available to IOLTA customers or pay an interest rate on the IOLTA deposit 

account that is comparable to the rate of return or the dividends generally paid on that investment 
product for similar customers meeting the same minimum balance and other requirements 

applicable to the investment product. If the eligible institution elects to pay that higher interest 
rate, the eligible institution may subject the IOLTA deposit account to equivalent fees and 

charges assessable against the investment product. [See Appendix A for Supreme Court order 

pursuant to Statutes 1981, Chapter 789.] (Added by Stats. 1981, ch. 789.  Amended by Stats. 
2007, ch. 422; Stats. 2008, ch. 179; Stats. 2009, ch. 129.) 

 

§ 6213  Definitions  

As used in this article: 

(a)  "Qualified legal services project" means either of the following: 

(1) A nonprofit project incorporated and operated exclusively in California that provides as its 
primary purpose and function legal services without charge to indigent persons and that has 

quality control procedures approved by the State Bar of California. 

(2) A program operated exclusively in California by a nonprofit law school accredited by the 

State Bar of California that meets the requirements of subparagraphs (A) and (B). 

(A) The program shall have operated for at least two years at a cost of at least twenty 

thousand dollars ($20,000) per year as an identifiable law school unit with a primary 

purpose and function of providing legal services without charge to indigent persons. 

(B) The program shall have quality control procedures approved by the State Bar of 
California. 

(b) "Qualified support center" means an incorporated nonprofit legal services center that has as its 

primary purpose and function the provision of legal training, legal technical assistance, or 
advocacy support without charge and which actually provides through an office in California a 
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significant level of legal training, legal technical assistance, or advocacy support without charge 

to qualified legal services projects on a statewide basis in California. 

(c) "Recipient" means a qualified legal services project or support center receiving financial 

assistance under this article. 

(d) "Indigent person" means a person whose income is (1) 125 percent or less of the current poverty 

threshold established by the United States Office of Management and Budget, or (2) who is 
eligible for Supplemental Security Income or free services under the Older Americans Act or 

Developmentally Disabled Assistance Act. With regard to a project that provides free services of 

attorneys in private practice without compensation, "indigent person" also means a person whose 
income is 75 percent or less of the maximum levels of income for lower income households as 

defined in Section 50079.5 of the Health and Safety Code. For the purpose of this subdivision, 
the income of a person who is disabled shall be determined after deducting the costs of medical 

and other disability-related special expenses. 

(e) "Fee generating case" means a case or matter that, if undertaken on behalf of an indigent person 

by an attorney in private practice, reasonably may be expected to result in payment of a fee for 

legal services from an award to a client, from public funds, or from the opposing party. A case 

shall not be considered fee generating if adequate representation is unavailable and any of the 
following circumstances exist: 

(1) The recipient has determined that free referral is not possible because of any of the following 

reasons: 

(A) The case has been rejected by the local lawyer referral service, or if there is no such service, 

by two attorneys in private practice who have experience in the subject matter of the case. 

(B)  Neither the referral service nor any attorney will consider the case without payment of a 

consultation fee. 

(C) The case is of the type that attorneys in private practice in the area ordinarily do not 

accept, or do not accept without prepayment of a fee. 

(D) Emergency circumstances compel immediate action before referral can be made, but the 
client is advised that, if appropriate and consistent with professional responsibility, 

referral will be attempted at a later time. 

(2) Recovery of damages is not the principal object of the case and a request for damages is 
merely ancillary to an action for equitable or other nonpecuniary relief, or inclusion of a 

counterclaim requesting damages is necessary for effective defense or because of applicable 

rules governing joinder of counterclaims. 

(3) A court has appointed a recipient or an employee of a recipient pursuant to a statute or a 
court rule or practice of equal applicability to all attorneys in the jurisdiction. 

(4) The case involves the rights of a claimant under a publicly supported benefit program for 

which entitlement to benefit is based on need. 

(f) "Legal Services Corporation" means the Legal Services Corporation established under the Legal 
Services Corporation Act of 1974 (P.L. 93-355; 42 U.S.C. Sec. 2996 et seq.). 

(g) "Older Americans Act" means the Older Americans Act of 1965, as amended (P.L. 89-73; 42 

U.S.C. Sec. 3001 et seq.). 

(h) "Developmentally Disabled Assistance Act" means the Developmentally Disabled Assistance and 
Bill of Rights Act, as amended (P.L. 94-103; 42 U.S.C. Sec. 6001 et seq.). 
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(i) "Supplemental security income recipient" means an individual receiving or eligible to receive 

payments under Title XVI of the federal Social Security Act, or payments under Chapter 3 
(commencing with Section 12000) of Part 3 of Division 9 of the Welfare and Institutions Code. 

(j) " IOLTA account" means an account or investment product established and maintained pursuant 

to subdivision (a) of Section 6211 that is any of the following:     

(1) An interest-bearing checking account.     

(2) An investment sweep product that is a daily (overnight) financial institution repurchase 
agreement or an open-end money market fund. 

(3) An investment product authorized by California Supreme Court rule or order. 

A daily financial institution repurchase agreement shall be fully collateralized by United States 

Government Securities or other comparably conservative debt securities, and may be established only 
with any eligible institution that is "well-capitalized" or "adequately capitalized" as those terms are 

defined by applicable federal statutes and regulations. An open-end money-market fund shall be 

invested solely in United States Government Securities or repurchase agreements fully collateralized 
by United States Government Securities or other comparably conservative debt securities, shall hold 

itself out as a "money-market fund" as that term is defined by federal statutes and regulations under 
the Investment Company Act of 1940 (15 U.S.C. Sec. 80a-1 et seq.), and, at the time of the 

investment, shall have total assets of at least two hundred fifty million dollars ($250,000,000).     

(k)  ―Eligible institution" means either of the following: 

(1) A bank, savings and loan, or other financial institution regulated by a federal or state agency 

that pays interest or dividends in the IOLTA account and carries deposit insurance from an 
agency of the federal government. 

(2)  Any other type of financial institution authorized by the California Supreme Court.  (Added 

by Stats. 1981, ch. 789. Amended by Stats. 1984, ch. 784; Stats. 2007, ch. 422; Stats. 2008, ch. 
179; Stats. 2009, ch. 129; Stats. 2010, ch. 328.) 

 

Relevant Code of Civil Procedure Section 

§ 1518  When Fiduciary Property Escheats to State 

(a) (1) All tangible personal property located in this state and, subject to Section 1510, all intangible 
personal property, including intangible personal property maintained in a deposit or account, 

and the income or increment on such tangible or intangible property, held in a fiduciary 

capacity for the benefit of another person escheats to this state if for more than three years 
after it becomes payable or distributable, the owner has not done any of the following: 

(A) Increased or decreased the principal. 

(B)  Accepted payment of principal or income. 

(C) Corresponded in writing concerning the property. 

(D) Emergency circumstances compel immediate action before referral can be made, but the 

client is advised that, if appropriate and consistent with professional responsibility, 
referral will be attempted at a later time. 

(2) Notwithstanding paragraph (1), tangible or intangible property, and the income or increment 

on the tangible or intangible property, held in a fiduciary capacity for another person shall 

not escheat to the state if the requirements of subparagraphs (A) and (B) are satisfied. 
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(A) Increased or decreased the principal. 

(i) Held another deposit or account for the benefit of the owner.     

(ii) Maintained a deposit or account on behalf of the owner in an individual retirement 
account.     

(iii) Held funds or other property under a retirement plan for a self-employed 

individual, or similar account or plan, established pursuant to the internal revenue 

laws of the United States or the laws of this state. 

(B) During the previous three years, the owner has done any of the acts described in 
subparagraph (A), (B), (C), or (D) of paragraph (1) with respect to the deposit, account, 

or plan described in subparagraph (A), and the fiduciary has communicated 
electronically or in writing with the owner at the address to which communications 

regarding that deposit, account, or plan are regularly sent, with regard to the deposit, 

account, or plan that would otherwise escheat under this subdivision.  
―Communications,‖ for purposes of this subparagraph, includes account statements or 

statements required under the internal revenue laws of the United States. 

(b) Funds in an individual retirement account or a retirement plan for self-employed individuals or 
similar account or plan established pursuant to the internal revenue laws of the United States or of 

this state are not payable or distributable within the meaning of subdivision (a) unless either of 

the following is true: 

(1) Under the terms of the account or plan, distribution of all or part of the funds would then be 
mandatory.     

(2) For an account or plan not subject to mandatory distribution requirement under the internal 

revenue laws of the United States or the laws of this state, the owner has attained 701/2 years 
of age.     

(c) For the purpose of this section, when a person holds property as an agent for a business association, 

he or she is deemed to hold the property in a fiduciary capacity for the business association alone, 

unless the agreement between him or her and the business association clearly provides the contrary.  
For the purposes of this chapter, if a person holds property in a fiduciary capacity for a business 

association alone, he or she is the holder of the property only insofar as the interest of the business 
association in the property is concerned and the association is deemed to be the holder of the property 

insofar as the interest of any other person in the property is concerned.  (Formerly 1506, added by 

Stats. 1959, ch. 1809 and amended by Stats. 1961, ch. 1904. Renumbered 1518 and amended by 
Stats. 1968, ch. 356, operative January 1, 1969; Stats. 1976, ch. 49; Stats. 1982, ch. 786; Stats. 1988, 

ch. 286; Stats. 1990, ch. 450, effective July 31, 1990; Stats. 2011, ch. 305.) 

Relevant Internal Revenue Code Section 

§ 6050I  Returns relating to cash received in trade or business 

(a)  Cash receipts of more than $10,000 

Any person -  

(1) who is engaged in a trade or business, and 

(2) who, in the course of such trade or business, receives more than $10,000 in cash in 1 

transaction (or 2 or more related transactions), shall make the return described in subsection 
(b) with respect to such transactions (or related transactions) at such time as the Secretary 

may by regulations prescribe. 
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(b)  Form and manner of returns 

A return is described in this subsection if such return - 

(1) is in such form as the Secretary may prescribe, 

(2) contains - 

(A) the name, address, and TIN of the person from whom the cash was received, 

(B) the amount of cash received, 

(C)   the date and nature of the transaction, and 

(D)  such other information as the Secretary may prescribe. 

(c)  Exceptions 

(1)  Cash received by financial institutions.--Subsection (a) shall not apply to-- 

(A) cash received in a transaction reported under title 31, United States Code, if the 

Secretary determines that reporting under this section would duplicate the reporting to 

the Treasury under title 31, United States Code, or 

(B) cash received by any financial institution (as defined in subparagraphs (A), (B), (C), 
(D), (E), (F), (G), (J), (K), ®, and (S) of section 5312(a)(2) of title 31, United States 

Code). 

(2)  Transactions occurring outside the United States 

Except to the extent provided in regulations prescribed by the Secretary, subsection (a) shall not 
apply to any transaction if the entire transaction occurs outside the United States. 

(d)  Cash includes foreign currency and certain monetary instruments 

For purposes of this section, the term "cash" includes-- 

(1) foreign currency, and 

(2) to the extent provided in regulations prescribed by the Secretary, any monetary instrument 

(whether or not in bearer form) with a face amount of not more than $10,000. 

Paragraph (2) shall not apply to any check drawn on the account of the writer in a financial 
institution referred to in subsection (c)(1)(B). 

(e)  Statements to be furnished to persons with respect to whom information is required 

Every person required to make a return under subsection (a) shall furnish to each person whose name 

is required to be set forth in such return a written statement showing - 

(1) the name, address, and phone number of the information contact of the person required to 
make such return, and 

(2) the aggregate amount of cash described in subsection (a) received by the person required to 

make such return. 

The written statement required under the preceding sentence shall be furnished to the person on 

or before January 31 of the year following the calendar year for which the return under subsection 
(a) was required to be made. 
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(f)  Structuring transactions to evade reporting requirements prohibited 

(1)  In general 

No person shall for the purpose of evading the return requirements of this section - 

(A) cause or attempt to cause a trade or business to fail to file a return required under this 
section. 

(B) cause or attempt to cause a trade or business to file a return required under this section 

that contains a material omission or misstatement of fact, or 

(C) structure or assist in structuring, or attempt to structure or assist in structuring, any 

transaction with one or more trades or businesses. 

(2)  Penalties 

A person violating paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be subject to the same civil and criminal 

sanctions applicable to a person which fails to file or completes a false or incorrect return under 

this section.  

(g)  Cash received by criminal court clerks 

(1) In general 

Every clerk of a Federal or State criminal court who receives more than $10,000 in cash as bail 

for any individual charged with a specified criminal offense shall make a return described in 

paragraph (2) (at such time as the Secretary may by regulations prescribe) with respect to the 
receipt of such bail. 

(2)  Return 

A return is described in this paragraph if such return -  

(A)  is in such form as the Secretary may prescribe, and 

(B)  contains -  

(i)  the name, address, and TIN of— 

(I) the individual charged with the specified criminal offense, and 

(II)  each person posting the bail (other than a person licensed as a bail bondsman), 

(ii) the amount of cash received, 

(iii) the date the cash was received, and 

(iv) such other information as the Secretary may prescribe. 

(3)  Specified criminal offense 

For purposes of this subsection, the term ―specified criminal offense‖ means -  

(A) any Federal criminal offense involving a controlled substance, 

(B) racketeering (as defined in section 1951, 1952, or 1955 of title 18, United States Code), 

(C) money laundering (as defined in section 1956 or 1957 of such title), and 
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(D) any State criminal offense substantially similar to an offense described in subparagraph 

(A), (B), or (C). 

(4)  Information to Federal prosecutors 

Each clerk required to include on a return under paragraph (1) the information described in 

paragraph (2)(B) with respect to an individual described in paragraph (2)(B)(i)(I) shall furnish (at 

such time as the Secretary may by regulations prescribe) a written statement showing such 
information to the United States Attorney for the jurisdiction in which such individual resides and 

the jurisdiction in which the specified criminal offense occurred. 

(5)  Information to payors of bail 

Each clerk required to make a return under paragraph (1) shall furnish (at such time as the 
Secretary may by regulations prescribe) to each person whose name is required to be set forth in 

such return by reason of paragraph (2)(B)(i)(II) a written statement showing— 

(A) the name and address of the clerk's office required to make the return, and 

(B) the aggregate amount of cash described in paragraph (1) received by such clerk. 

(Added Pub.L. 98-369, Div. A, Title I, § 146(a), July 18, 1984, 98 Stat. 685.  Amended by Pub.L. 99-
514, Title XV § 1501(c)(12), Oct. 22, 1986, 100 Stat. 2739; Pub.L. 100-690, Title VII, § 7601(a)(1), 

Nov. 18, 1988, 102 Stat. 4503; Pub.L. 101-508, Title XI, § 11318(a), (c) Nov. 5, 1990, 104 Stat. 

1388-458, 1388-459; Pub. L. 103-322, Title II, § 20415(a), (b)(3), Sept. 13, 1994, 108 Stat. 1832, 
1833; Pub.L. 104-168, Title XII, § 1201(a)(9), July 30, 1996, 110 Stat. 1469.) 

 

 

Relevant Evidence Code Sections 

§ 1270  ―A business‖  

As used in this article, ―a business‖ includes every kind of business, governmental activity, 

profession, occupation, calling, or operation of institutions, whether carried on for profit or not. (Stats. 

1965, ch. 299.) 

 

§ 1271  Business record 

Evidence of a writing made as a record of an act, condition, or event is not made inadmissible by the 

hearsay rule when offered to prove the act, condition, or event if: 

(a) The writing was made in the regular course of a business; 

(b) The writing was made at or near the time of the act, condition, or event; 

(c) The custodian or other qualified witness testifies to its identity and the mode of its preparation; 
and 

(d) The sources of information and method and time of preparation were such as to indicate its 

trustworthiness. (Stats. 1965, ch. 299.) 

 

§ 1272  Absence of entry in business records 

Evidence of the absence from the records of a business of a record of an asserted act, condition, or 

event is not made inadmissible by the hearsay rule when offered to prove the nonoccurrence of the act 
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or event, or the nonexistence of the condition, if: 

(a) It was the regular course of that business to make records of all such acts, conditions, or events at 

or near the time of the act, condition, or event and to preserve them; and 

(b) The sources of information and method and time of preparation of the records of that business 

were such that the absence of a record of an act, condition, or event is a trustworthy indication 

that the act or event did not occur or the condition did not exist. (Stats. 1965, ch. 299.) 

 

§ 1552  Evidence–Printed Representation of Computer Information or Computer 
Program; Burden of Proof 

(a) A printed representation of computer information or a computer program is presumed to be an 
accurate representation of the computer information or computer program that it purports to 

represent.  This presumption is a presumption affecting the burden of producing evidence.  If a 

party to an action introduces evidence that a printed representation of computer information or 
computer program is inaccurate or unreliable, the party introducing the printed representation into 

evidence has the burden of proving, by a preponderance of evidence, that the printed 
representation is an accurate representation of the existence and content of the computer 

information or computer program that it purports to represent. 

(b) Subdivision (a) shall not apply to computer-generated official records certified in accordance 
with Section 452.5 or 1530.  (Added by Stats. 1998, ch. 100.) 

 

§ 1553  Evidence—Printed Representation of Images Stored on Video or Digital 
Medium; Burden of Proof 

A printed representation of images stored on a video or digital medium is presumed to be an accurate 
representation of the images it purports to represent.  This presumption is a presumption affecting the 
burden of producing evidence.  If a party to an action introduces evidence that a printed 
representation of images stored on a video or digital medium is inaccurate or unreliable, the party 
introducing the printed representation into evidence has the burden of proving, by a preponderance of 
evidence, that the printed representation is an accurate representation of the existence and content of 
the images that it purports to represent.  (Added by Stats. 1998, ch. 100.) 
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RULES OF THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 

TITLE 2.  RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES OF MEMBERS 

Division 5.  Trust Accounts 

Chapter 1.  Global Provisions  

Rule 2.100  Definitions  

(A) A ―Chargeable fee‖ is a per-check charge, per-deposit charge, fee in lieu of minimum balance, 
federal deposit insurance fee, or sweep fee.  

(B) A "Client" is a person or a group of persons that has engaged the attorney or firm for a common 

purpose.  

(C) Comparably conservative‖ in Business and Professions Code 6213(j) includes, but is not limited 
to, securities issued by Government Sponsored Enterprises.  

(D) An ―Exempt Account‖ is exempt from IOLTA requirements because it does not meet the 

productivity criteria established by the Legal Services Trust Fund Commission.  

(E) ―Funds‖ are monies held in a fiduciary capacity by a member for the benefit of a client or a third 
party.  

(F) An ―IOLTA account‖ is an Interest on Lawyers’ Trust Account as defined in Business and 

Professions Code section 6213(j).  

(G) An ―IOLTA-eligible institution‖ is an eligible institution as defined in 6213(k) that meets the 
requirements of these rules, State Bar guidelines, and the State Bar Act.  

(H) ―IOLTA funds‖ are the interest or dividends generated by IOLTA accounts.  

(I) A ―member‖ is a member and a member’s law firm.  

(J) A ―member business expense‖ is an expense that a member incurs in the ordinary course of 

business, such as charges for check printing, deposit stamps, insufficient fund charges, collection 

charges, wire transfer fees, fees for cash management, and any other fee that is not a chargeable 

fee.  

 

Chapter 2.  Members’ Duties 

Rule 2.110  Funds to be held in an IOLTA account 

(A) Members must establish IOLTA accounts for funds that cannot earn income for the client or third 

party in excess of the costs incurred to secure such income because the funds are nominal in 

amount or held for a short period of time. In determining whether funds can earn income in 

excess of costs, a member must consider the following factors: 

(1) the amount of the funds to be deposited; 

(2) the expected duration of the deposit, including the likelihood of delay in resolving the matter 

for which the funds are held; 

(3) the rates of interest or dividends at eligible institutions where the funds are to be deposited; 



72 Appendix 2 

(4) the costs of establishing and administering non-IOLTA accounts for the client or third party’s 

benefit, including service charges, the costs of the member’s services, and the costs of 

preparing any tax reports required for income earned on the funds; 

(5) the capability of eligible institutions or the member to calculate and pay income to individual 

clients or third parties; 

(6) any other circumstances that affect the ability of the funds to earn a net return for the client or 

third party. 

(B) The State Bar will not bring disciplinary charges against a member for determining in good faith 

whether or not to place funds in an IOLTA account. 

 
Rule 2.111  Funds not to be held in an IOLTA account 

(A) If a member determines that the funds can earn income for the benefit of the client or third party 

in excess of the costs incurred to secure such income, the funds must be deposited in a trust 
account in accordance with the provisions of Section 6211(b) of the Business and Professions 

Code and Rule 4-100 of the Rules of Professional Conduct or as the client or third party directs in 
writing  

(B) A member should not designate an exempt account as an IOLTA account. 

 

Rule 2.112  Review of funds in an IOLTA account 

A member must review an IOLTA account at reasonable intervals to determine whether changed 
circumstances require funds be moved out of the IOLTA account. 

  

Rule 2.113  Charges against IOLTA funds 

A member may allow an IOLTA-eligible institution to deduct chargeable fees permitted by Business 

and Professions Code 6212(c) from IOLTA funds. A member must pay any member business expense 
and may not allow the bank to deduct such expenses from IOLTA funds. If the State Bar becomes 

aware that a member business expense is erroneously deducted from IOLTA funds, the State Bar will 
inform the IOLTA-eligible institution and request that the error be corrected.  

 

Rule 2.114  Reporting to the State Bar 

A member must report compliance with these rules. 

 

Rule 2.115  Consent to reporting 

By establishing funds in an account, a member consents to the eligible institution’s furnishing account 

information to the State Bar as required by these rules, State Bar guidelines, and the State Bar Act. 

 

Rule 2.116  Liquidity Requirements 

IOLTA accounts must allow prompt withdrawal of funds, except that such accounts may be subject to 
notification requirements applicable to all other accounts of the same class at the eligible institution 

so long as the notification requirement does not exceed thirty days. 



 Appendix 2 73 

 

Rule 2.117  Institution eligibility requirements 

A member may place an IOLTA account only in an IOLTA-eligible institution. The State Bar will 

maintain a list of IOLTA-eligible institutions.  

 

Rule 2.118  No change to other duties and obligations of a member 

Nothing in these rules shall be construed as affecting or impairing the duties and obligations of a 
member pursuant to the statutes and rules governing the conduct of members of the State Bar 

including, but not limited to, provisions of Rule 4-100 of the Rules of Professional Conduct requiring 
a member to promptly notify a client of the receipt of the client’s funds and to promptly pay or deliver 

to the client, as requested by the client, the funds in the possession of the member which the client is 

entitled to receive. 

 

Chapter 3.  Duties of an IOLTA Eligible Institution  

Rule 2.130  Comparable Interest Rate or Dividend Requirement  

(A) An IOLTA-eligible institution must pay comparable interest rates or dividends as required under 

Business and Professional Code 6212(b) and 6212(e) and may choose to do so in one of three 
ways:  

(1) allow establishment of IOLTA accounts as comparable-rate products;  

(2) pay the comparable-product rate on IOLTA deposit accounts, less chargeable fees, if any; or  

(3) pay the Established Compliance Rate determined by the Legal Services Trust Fund 

Commission.  

(B) "Accounts of the same type" in section 6212(b) refers to comparable-rate products described in 
sections 6212(e) and 6212(j) for which the IOLTA-eligible institution pays no less than the 

highest interest rate or dividend generally available from the institution to non-IOLTA account 

customers when the IOLTA account meets the same minimum balance or other eligibility 
qualifications.  

 

Rule 2.131  Payments to the State Bar  

An IOLTA-eligible institution must remit payments to the State Bar in accordance with Business and 
Professions Code 6212(d)(1-3) and State Bar rules and guidelines.  
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APPENDIX 3: INDEX OF SELECTED CASES AND OPINIONS BY TOPIC 

Duties, In General  

In the Matter of Wells (Rev. Dept. 2006) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 896. While practicing outside of 

California, attorney violated rule 4-100 by not depositing in a client trust account settlement benefits 
that were received for the benefit of the client. A finding that attorney was culpable of unauthorized 

practice of law compels a conclusion that the attorney charged and collected illegal fees under rule 4-

200(A).    

In the Matter of Robins (Rev. Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 708. The duty to keep client's 
funds safe is a personal obligation of the attorney which is nondelegable. (See also Palomo v. State 

Bar (1984) 36 Cal.3d 785 [685 P.2d 1185, 205 Cal.Rptr. 834].) 

Giovanazzi v. State Bar (1980) 28 Cal.3d 465 [619 P.2d 1005, 169 Cal.Rptr. 581]. The mere fact that 
the balance in an attorney's trust account has fallen below the total of amounts deposited and 

purportedly held in trust supports a conclusion of misappropriation. 

Advanced Fees 

S.E.C. v. Interlink Data Network of Los Angeles (9th Cir. 1996) 77 F.3d 1201, 1206. An attorney must 
keep advances for fees in a client trust account if the attorney’s fee agreement specifically provides 

that the attorney must do so. 

T & R Foods, Inc. v. Rose (1996) 47 Cal.App.4th Supp.1. The appellate department of the Superior 

Court in Los Angeles held that an attorney has a duty to deposit advanced fees, which are not yet 
earned, into a client trust account.  

Baranowski v. State Bar (1979) 24 Cal.3d 139.  The Supreme Court held that rule 8-101 (current rule 

4-100) requires that advanced costs be placed in a designated trust account.  However, the court 
declined to resolve the issue of whether an advanced fee payment is required to be placed in an 

identifiable trust account until such time as it is earned. 

Settlement Drafts 

In the Matter of Robert Steven Kaplan (Rev. Dept. 1993) 2 Cal.State Bar Ct. Rptr. 509.  An attorney 

is obligated to act promptly to release funds to a former client by endorsing the settlement draft.  A 
delay has the effect of withholding funds the client is entitled to receive pursuant to Rule 4-100(B)(4). 

Maintain Actual Records of Trust Account Activity 

In the Matter of Rae Blum (Rev. Dept. 2002) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 403.  Attorney’s reliance on 

her husband/law partner to manage the client trust account does not relieve attorney of her personal, 
non-delegable duty to monitor client funds and her trust account.  An attorney is not relieved from 

professional responsibility when he or she relies on a partner to maintain client trust accounts. 

In the Matter of Doran (Rev. Dept. 1998) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 871, 876. Where an attorney 
made no effort to understand the responsibilities involved in maintaining a trust account, never 

determined the balance in the trust account, and did not maintain a ledger or confirm deposits made to 

the trust account, the attorney’s conduct is no less than gross negligence and supports a finding of 
moral turpitude. 

Dixon v. State Bar (1985) 39 Cal.3d 335 [702 P.2d 590, 216 Cal.Rptr. 432]. The purpose of keeping 

proper books of account, vouchers, receipts, and checks is to be prepared to make proof of the 

honesty and fair dealing of attorneys when their actions are called into question. (See also Clark v. 
State Bar (1952) 39 Cal.2d 161 [246 P.2d 1].) 
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Fitzsimmons v. State Bar (1983) 34 Cal.3d 327 [667 P.2d 700, 193 Cal.Rptr. 896].  An attorney's 

failure to keep adequate records warrants discipline. 

Weir v. State Bar (1979) 23 Cal.3d 564 [591 P.2d 19, 152 Cal.Rptr. 921]. The failure to keep proper 

books of accounts, vouchers, receipts and checks is a breach of an attorney's duty to his clients. 

Maintain Copies of Other Materials Relating to the Attorney's Financial Relationship 
with the Client 

Accounting for Fees 

In the Matter of Brockway (Rev. Dept. 2006) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr 944. An attorney must satisfy 
the accounting requirements of rule 4-100 even in the absence of a demand for such an accounting 

from the client.  

In the Matter of Cacioppo (Rev. Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. St. Bar Ct. Rptr. 128, 146. An attorney committed 

misconduct by providing a confusing, belated accounting to a client.  The attorney also did not follow 

an acceptable procedure to ensure informed consent of the client to the application of her recovery to 

pay attorney’s fees.  In this case, the court found that the attorney must give the client an opportunity 
to review a bill before applying the client’s recovery to pay attorney fees.  

In the Matter of Fonte (Rev. Dept. 1994) 2 Cal.State Bar Ct. Rptr. 752.  An attorney was obligated to 

maintain adequate records of monies drawn against a $5,000 advanced fee despite his claim that the 
fee was a retainer and ―earned upon receipt.‖  By failing to provide the client with an accounting 

regarding these funds, the attorney violated rule 4-100(B)(3), the client trust accounting rule, even 

though the rule does not refer specifically to attorney’s fees. 

Matthew v. State Bar (1989) 49 Cal.3d 784 [781 P.2d 952, 263 Cal.Rptr. 660].  An attorney should 
maintain time records or billing statements and account for unearned fees. 

All Retainer and Compensation Contracts 

In the Matter of Brockway (Rev. Dept. 2006) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr 944. The Court found the fee 

to be an advance against future services even though it had been designated ―True Retainer Fee.‖ The 
designation was not determinative of the obligations of the parties because the fee did not state that it 

was due and payable regardless of whether professional services were actually rendered. 

In the Matter of Respondent F (Rev. Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Rptr. 17. Attorneys must retain 
funds in trust when the attorney's right to the funds is disputed by the client. The funds are required to 

be kept in trust until the resolution of the dispute. 

In the Matter of Koehler (Rev. Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Rptr. 615, headnote 5. An attorney 

applied advanced costs to his legal fees, thereby violating the requirement that advanced costs be held 
in trust. The failure to return the unused portion of such funds promptly when requested violated the 

rule requiring prompt payment of client funds on demand. 

Friedman v. State Bar (1990) 50 Cal.3d 235 [786 P.2d 359, 266 Cal.Rptr. 632]. The failure to have a 
written contingency fee contract and to provide a copy to the client constitutes a failure to maintain 

records of or render appropriate accounts to the client. (See also Fitzsimmons v. State Bar (1983) 34 

Cal.3d 327 [667 P.2d 700, 193 Cal.Rptr. 896].)  

Palomo v. State Bar (1984) 36 Cal.3d 785 [685 P.2d 1185, 205 Cal.Rptr. 834]. General language in 
fee agreement will not convey general power of attorney to sign checks on client's behalf. 
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Grossman v. State Bar (1983) 34 C.3d 73 [664 P.2d 542, 192 Cal.Rptr. 397]. Attorney 

misappropriated client funds where he initially agreed to represent his client in a personal injury 
matter on a 33 1/3 contingent fee basis, and after settling the case, unilaterally increased the fee to 40 

percent. 

Academy of CA Optometrists v. Superior Court (1975) 51 Cal.App.3d 999 [124 Cal.Rptr. 668]. 
Contracts which violate the canons of professional ethics of an attorney may for that reason be void.  

Brody v. State Bar (1974) 11 Cal.3d 347 [521 P.2d 107, 113 Cal.Rptr. 371]. An attorney may not 

unilaterally determine his own fee and withhold trust funds to satisfy it, even though he may be 

entitled to reimbursement for his fees. (See also Crooks v. State Bar (1970) 3 Cal.3d 346 [75 P.2d 
872, 90 Cal.Rptr. 60].) 

All Statements to Clients Showing Disbursements 

Murray v. State Bar (1985) 40 Cal.3d 575 [709 P.2d 480, 220 Cal.Rptr. 677]. A finding of wilful 

misappropriation where the attorney failed to respond to his client's queries regarding funds held in 
trust. 

Attorney's Liens 

In re Popov (N.D.Cal. 2007, No. C-06-2696 MMC) 2007 WL 1970102. District court affirmed a 

bankruptcy court order finding that attorney did not violate rule 3-300 by not disclosing how an 
attorney’s lien provision in the fee contract might impact the client in the future.  

Fletcher v. Davis, (2004) 33 Cal.4th 61 [14 Cal.Rptr.3d 58] 

The Supreme Court held that a charging lien, securing payment of attorney's fees and costs against the 

client's future recovery, is an adverse interests and triggers the requirements of rule 3-300, including 

the requirements of written client consent and notice to seek the advice of an independent lawyer.  The 
court found that compliance with rule 3-300 was lacking and ruled that the agreement for a charging lien 

was not enforceable.  In a footnote, the court clarified that its decision was limited only to a charging 
lien securing an hourly fee and expressly declined to address situations involving contingency fees.  

In the Matter of Feldsott (Rev. Dept. 1997) 3 Cal. St. Bar Ct. Rptr. 754, 756-758. Where a prior 

attorney took reasonable and appropriate steps to protect his lien on a former client’s recovery, the 

prior attorney did not violate rule 4-100(B)(4) by refusing to sign a settlement check which was in the 
possession of the former client’s successor attorney and which was payable to the former 

client, the prior attorney, and the successor attorney.  The prior attorney agreed to release all 
funds not in dispute to his former client.  He suggested binding fee arbitration and, while the 

dispute was pending, requested that the disputed part of the recovery be placed in an account 

requiring both his and his former client’s signatures or be deposited in court until the 
resolution of the dispute. 

In the Matter of Respondent H (Rev. Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 234.  An attorney is 

a general creditor of the client and cannot reach monies held by the client’s attorney absent an 
enforceable lien or judgment. 

Baca v. State Bar (1990) 52 Cal.3d 294.  The WCAB awarded recovery to the applicant and 

attorney’s fees to both prior and subsequent counsel.  The WCAB’s adjudication caused the 

settlement funds to have client trust fund status.  The attorney’s conversion of the funds and 
failure to pay the prior attorney’s liens constituted misappropriation, an act of moral turpitude. 

Weiss v. Marcus (1975) 51 Cal.App.3d 390.  A valid lien may be created by contract and will 

survive the prior attorney’s discharge.  The attorney was permitted to maintain an action 
against subsequent counsel for constructive trust, interference with contractual relationship, 

and conversion. 
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Copies of all bills 

Dreyfus v. State Bar (1960) 54 Cal.2d 799 [356 P.2d 213, 8 Cal.Rptr. 469]. No receipt  given to 

client for monies deposited with attorney. 

Clark v. State Bar (1952) 39 Cal.2d 161 [246 P.2d 1]. The purpose of keeping vouchers and 

receipts is to be prepared to make proof of the honesty and fair dealings of attorneys when 

their actions are called into question. 

Maintain ―Books‖ Showing the Trust Account Activity Relating to Each Client or 
Matter 

In the Matter of Respondent F (Rev. Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 17. An attorney 

cannot be held responsible for every detail of office operations. Nevertheless, an attorney is 
held responsible if the attorney fails to manage funds, regardless of the attorney's intent or the 

absence of injury to anyone. (See also Palomo v. State Bar  (1984) 36 Cal.3d 785 [685 P.2d 

1185, 205 Cal.Rptr. 834]; Guzzetta v. State Bar (1987) 43 Cal.3d 962 [741 P.2d 172, 239 
Cal.Rptr. 675].) 

Maintain Books And Account To Third Parties 

In the Matter of Kaplan (Rev. Dept. 1996) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 547.  Where a client asks 

the attorney to distribute trust account funds claimed by both the client and a third party to 
whom the attorney owes a fiduciary duty, the attorney must promptly take  affirmative steps to 

resolve the competing claims in order to disburse the funds. 

Guzzetta v. State Bar (1987) 43 Cal.3d 962 [741 P.2d 172, 239 Cal.Rptr. 675]. An attorney's 

fiduciary obligation to account and pay funds extends to both parties claiming in terest therein. 
Duty extends to opposing party spouse. 

Maintain Separate Ledger Page or Card for Each Client 

In the Matter of Yagman (Rev. Dept. 1997) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 788.  An attorney must 

maintain for a period of five years a written ledger for each client for whom funds are held detailing 
the date, the amount, and source of all funds received on behalf of the client, in compliance with the 

Trust Account Record Keeping Standards adopted by the Board of Governors of the State Bar. An 

attorney must promptly withdraw any undisputed portion of the funds pursuant to rule 4-100(A)(2), at 
the earliest reasonable time after the attorney's right to those funds becomes fixed. 

Weir v. State Bar (1979) 23 Cal.3d 564 [591 P.2d 19, 152 Cal.Rprt. 921]. Fee ledger sheet used as 

evidence that all fees and costs had been paid by clients. 

Vaughn v. State Bar (1972) 6 Cal.3d 847 [494 P.2d 1257, 100 Cal.Rptr. 713]. Attorney's records 
failed to show receipt of client funds. Holding client's funds in cash or cashier's checks disapproved 

without client's written consent to do so. 

Medical Liens 

Kaiser Foundation Health Plan v. Aguiluz (1996) 47 Cal.App.4th 302.  The Court of Appeal held an 
attorney civilly liable for conversion for failing to honor a medical lien.  The attorney, after 

attempting unsuccessfully to negotiate a reduction of the lien amount, paid the funds to the client.  

The court held that the insurer was entitled to its judgment against the attorney for the full 
amount owed by the client for health care costs.  An attorney on notice of a third party’s 

contractual right to funds received on behalf of a client disburses those funds to the client at his 

or her own risk. 
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In the Matter of Riley (Rev. Dept. 1994) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 91.  An attorney must make 

efforts to determine how the client’s medical bills have been paid.  Ignorance of the client’s statutory 
liens is gross negligence rather than good faith error.  The attorney should have known of the 

existence of liens had a reasonable inquiry of the client been conducted. 

In the Matter of Respondent P (Rev. Dept. 1993) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 622.  An attorney has a 
fiduciary obligation to the State Department of Health Services to ensure DHS has an opportunity to 

collect the money due under a medical lien created by operation of law (Welfare and Institutions 

Code section 14124.79).  The attorney violated former rule 8-101(B)(4) (current rule 4-100(B)(4)) by 
distributing the settlement funds to the client.  An attorney has a duty to notify DHS when a matter 

has settled prior to the distribution of the settlement proceeds. 

In the Matter of Dyson (Rev. Dept. 1990) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 280. An attorney is obligated to 
segregate funds in a trust account, maintain, and render complete records and pay or deliver the funds 

promptly on request in the presence of a medical lien. An attorney has no excuse for placing funds 

subject to medical liens in a general account because at no time do the funds belong to the attorney.  

In the Matter of Mapps (Rev. Dept. 1990) 1 Cal. State Bar Rptr. 1. An attorney must keep 

sufficient funds in a trust account to pay the undisputed portion of treating doctor's medical  lien. 

Gross negligence in record keeping and handling funds, affecting non-clients, constituted moral 
turpitude. (See also Vaughn v. State Bar (1972) 6 Cal.3d 847 [494 P.2d 1257, 100 Cal.Rptr. 

713].) 

Simmons v. State Bar (1969) 70 Cal.2d 361 [450 P.2d 291, 74 Cal.Rptr. 915]. When an attorney 

receives client money on behalf of a third party, he has a fiduciary duty to the third party. 

Other Documentary Support for All Disbursements and Transfers 

In the Matter of Koehler (Rev. Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Rptr. 615. Respondent committed 

moral turpitude in violation of Business and Professions Code section 6106 by intentionally 

secreting his own funds in a client trust account in order to conceal them from the Franchise Tax 
Board. 

In the Matter of Heiner (Rev. Dept. 1990) 1 Cal. State Bar Rptr. 301. An attorney who repeatedly 

withdraws small amounts of cash for personal use from a trust account indicates that the attorney 

is improperly treating the trust account as a personal or general office account, and either 
allowing the attorney's own funds to remain in the trust account longer than they should, or 

misappropriating funds that properly belong to the clients. This is true regardless of the means by 
which the withdrawals are accomplished—check, ATM card, withdrawal slip, or other means. 

Receipts for fees 

Fitzsimmons v. State Bar (1983) 34 Cal.3d 327 [667 P.2d 700, 193 Cal.Rptr. 896]. Attorney’s 

failure to give client receipts for attorney’s fees disapproved. 

Reconciliation (monthly/quarterly) 

Friedman v. State Bar (1990) 50 Cal.3d 235 [786 P.2d 359, 266 Cal.Rptr. 632]. Attorney had no 

method by which he could reconcile or verify balances. 

Records Showing Payments to Attorneys, Investigators, Third Parties 

Fitzsimmons v. State Bar (1983) 34 Cal.3d 327 [667 P.2d 700, 193 Cal.Rptr. 896]. Failure to 

obtain a receipt for the disbursement of cash on a client's behalf constitutes a violation of an 

attorney's oath and involves moral turpitude. 
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Redeposit of Funds Withdrawn from a Client Trust Account 

In the Matter of Respondent E (Rev. Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 716.).   A lawyer was 

disciplined for failing to hold funds in a client trust account where the lawyer’s initial withdrawal of 

funds was based upon a belief that the disbursement was proper but that belief was subsequently 

discovered to be erroneous.  

Guzzetta v. State Bar (1987) 43 Cal.3d 962 [741 P.2d 172, 239 Cal.Rptr. 675]. To restore funds 
wrongfully withdrawn from a trust account, an attorney may deposit personal funds into the trust 

account so long as evidence supports a finding that once deposited the attorney believes that the funds 

belong to the client and do not belong to the attorney.  

State Bar Formal Opinion No. 2006-171. Attorney who has properly withdrawn fees from a client 

trust account in compliance with rule 4-100(A)(2) is not obligated to return to the trust account 

amounts that are later disputed by clients. (The full text of the opinion is available online at: 
http://calbar.ca.gov/calbar/pdfs/ethics/CAL%202006-171.pdf.) 

Regularly Perform Accounting Procedures 

In the Matter of Respondent E (Rev. Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 716. Where fiduciary 

violations occur as the result of serious and inexcusable lapses in office procedure, they may be 
deemed ―wilful‖ for disciplinary purposes, even if there was no deliberate wrongdoing. (See also 

Palomo v. State Bar (1984) 36 Cal.3d 785 [686 P.2d 1185, 205 Cal.Rptr. 834].) 

Miscellaneous 

Mardirossian & Associates, Inc. v. Ersoff (2007) 153 Cal.App.4th 257. Contingency fee law firm 

discharged prior to settlement may recover in quantum meruit for the reasonable value of services 
rendered as determined by testimony of the attorneys as to the amount of time spent on and 

complexity of legal issues involved in the matter despite absence of billing records. 

In re Silverton (2005) 36 Cal.4th 81 [29 Cal.Rptr.3d 766]. Attorney violated rule 4-100 by giving 
clients settlement checks drawn from a client trust account before the opposing party had actually 

paid the settlement. The court also found violations of rules 3-300 and 4-200 based on the attorney’s 

practice of seeking authorization from his clients in personal injury actions to compromise the clients’ 
medical bills as part of an agreement in which attorney would increase his clients’ recoveries in return 

for the right to keep any of the negotiated savings of the clients’ medical bills. Such agreements were 
not fair and reasonable and the fees collected were unconscionable. 

In the Matter of Davis (Rev. Dept. 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 576. An attorney representing a 

corporation must follow the instructions of appropriate corporate officers in the handling of trust 

funds.  Where there is an intractable dispute among board members concerning distribution of trust 
funds, an attorney may interplead the funds to resolve conflicting instructions. 

Farmers Insurance Exchange v. Smith (1999) 71 Cal. App.4th 660, 662 [83 Cal. Rptr.2d 911].  In an 

action to establish an equitable lien interest, the court found an insurer has no right to ―press-gang a 
policyholder’s personal injury attorney into service as a collection agent when the policyholder 

receives medical payments from the insurer and then later recovers from a third party tortfeasor. . . .  

The attorney is not the client’s keeper.‖ 

In the Matter of Kroff (Rev. Dept. 1998) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 838, 854. Where a client asks an 
attorney to distribute trust funds and the attorney claims an interest in the funds, the attorney must 

promptly take appropriate substantive steps to resolve the dispute, such as fee arbitration.  

In the Matter of Respondent F (Rev. Dept. 1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 17. An attorney is permitted 
to keep in a client trust account his or her own funds reasonably sufficient to cover bank charges. 
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In the Matter of Bleeker (Rev. Dept. 1990) 1 Cal State Bar Rptr. 113. Gross carelessness and 

negligence in maintaining a client trust account constitutes a violation of the oath of an attorney to 
faithfully discharge his duties to the best of his knowledge and ability, and involves moral turpitude 

as they breach the fiduciary relationship owed to clients. (See also Giovanazzi v. State Bar (1980) 28 
Cal. 3d 465 [619 P.2d 1005, 169 Cal.Rptr. 581].) 

In the Matter of Trillo (Rev. Dept. 1990) 1 Cal. State Bar Rptr. 59. All funds held for a client's 

benefit, including the costs received must be placed in a proper trust account. 

Jackson v. State Bar (1979) 25 Cal.3d 398 [600 P.2d 1326, 158 Cal.Rptr. 869]. Attorney engaged in 

practice of depositing personal funds and unearned fees into client trust account to provide ―margin‖ 
against overdraft is a violation. 

Signatories on Client Trust Account  

In the Matter of Malek-Yonan (Rev. Dept. 2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 627.  Where an attorney 

did not sign checks drawn on her client trust account, but instead authorized her staff to do so using a 
rubber stamp of her signature, attorney failed to supervise the management of the client trust account, 

resulting in the theft by her employees of $1.7 million which belonged to attorney, her clients, and 
their medical providers.  Attorney did not review any client trust account statement herself, never 

reconciled the client trust account, and never compared the settlement checks received with the 

deposits in the account and thus, failed to ensure that client funds were protected. 

In the Matter of Steele (Rev. Dept. 1997) 3 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 708.  An attorney was not 
absolved of his own duty to monitor the client trust account where attorney delegated responsibility of 

supervising the client trust account to his legal assistant and legal assistant became a signatory on 

attorney’s general and client trust account.  Legal assistant failed to balance both the client trust 
account and business account and embezzled funds from the client trust account.  

In re Basinger (1988) 45 Cal.3d 1348 [756 P.2d 833, 249 Cal.Rptr. 110]. Attorney gave 

secretary/office manager a general power of attorney to handle firm's accounts and issue checks. 
Secretary and attorney convicted of grand theft of client and partnership monies. 

Waysman v. State Bar (1986) 41 Cal.3d 452 [714 P.2d 1239, 224 Cal.Rptr. 101]. Supreme Court 

disapproved use of presigned checks left with secretary. 
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APPENDIX 4: MODEL FORMS 

CLIENT LEDGER 

CLIENT: 

CASE #: 

DATE  
SOURCE OF 
DEPOSIT 

 
PAYEE, # & 
PURPOSE 

 
CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

 
DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

 
REMAINING 
BALANCE 
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ACCOUNT JOURNAL 

 

CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME: 

DATE  CLIENT 
 SOURCE OF 

DEPOSIT 
 

PAYEE, # & 
PURPOSE 

 
CHECKS 
(SUBTRACT) 

 
DEPOSITS 
(ADD) 

 
REMAINING 
BALANCE 
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OTHER PROPERTIES JOURNAL 

CLIENT/CASE #:  ITEM  
DATE 
RECEIVED 

 
DATE 
DISBURSED 

 DISBURSED TO 
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FORM ONE: CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE 

RECONCILIATION DATE:     

CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:   

PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:   

CLIENT  CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE  

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

 

TOTAL CLIENT LEDGER BALANCE: 

 

 

MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL BALANCE: 

 

 

TOTAL MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES (+ or -)  
(From Form Two) 

 

 

ADJUSTED MONTH ENDING ACCOUNT JOURNAL 
BALANCE: 

 

   



 Appendix 4 85 

FORM TWO: ADJUSTMENTS TO MONTH ENDING BALANCE 

RECONCILIATION DATE:     

CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:   

PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:   

A.  DEPOSITS AND WITHDRAWALS NOT POSTED ON BANK STATEMENTS  

       UNCREDITED DEPOSITS 

Date                Amount 

        UNDEBITED WITHDRAWALS 

Date                     Amount 

       

       

       

       

       

       

TOTAL: 
   

TOTAL: 
  

  

B.  MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES (from Account Journal)  

AMOUNT 

DATE Additions Subtractions 
NET MISTAKE 

(+ or -) 

 
      

       

       

       

       

       

 

      

TOTAL MISTAKE CORRECTION ENTRIES:   
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FORM THREE: RECONCILIATION 

RECONCILIATION DATE:     

CLIENT TRUST BANK ACCOUNT NAME:   

PERIOD COVERED BY BANK STATEMENT:   

 

ADJUSTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE:                                               
(From Form One) 

 

 

 

 

MINUS TOTAL BANK CHARGES:                                                         
(From Bank Statement) 

 

PLUS TOTAL INTEREST EARNED:                     

(From Bank Statement) 

 

 

   

CORRECTED MONTH ENDING BALANCE: 
(Total) 

   

  

 

 

MINUS UNCREDITED DEPOSITS:                 
(From Form Two): 

  

   

PLUS UNDEBITED WITHDRAWALS:            
(From Form Two) 

  

   

 

 

RECONCILED TOTAL:   

    

BANK STATEMENT BALANCE:    
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APPENDIX 5: WHAT TO DO WHEN THE RECONCILED TOTAL AND 
THE BANK STATEMENT BALANCE DON'T EXACTLY MATCH 

If, after you've filled out Forms One, Two and Three, the Corrected Month Ending Balance for the 
client trust bank account doesn't exactly match the balance the bank statement shows for the account, 

it means that either your records are wrong, or the bank's records are wrong. Follow the steps detailed 

until you find the mistake; when you find it, go to “Correcting the mistake,” below: 

1. Subtract the Bank Statement Balance from the Corrected Month Ending Balance so 
you know exactly what the difference is. If there's only one mistake, knowing this number 

will help you recognize it. If there's more than one mistake, knowing this number will ensure 
that you don't stop looking too soon. Remember that until the whole difference is explained, 

you have to keep looking for mistakes. 

2. Check your copying. In preparing the Reconciliation form, you may have copied numbers 

from the Adjustments to Month Ending Balance form incorrectly. That's the easiest mistake 
to detect, so first, check to see that you copied those numbers correctly.  

3. Check your math. You probably did a lot of adding and subtracting to get those numbers, so 

check your math. (This will be a lot quicker if you kept an adding machine tape or other clear 
written record of your calculations.) 

4. Check each uncredited deposit and withdrawal you listed. Go back through the account 

journal and, using the date on the Adjustments to Month Ending Balance form, find each 

unposted deposit and withdrawal you listed and check to make sure you copied it correctly 
onto the form. Make a light pencil mark on the form next to each item after you've made sure 

it's right so you don't miss any. 

Next, go through the account journal and make sure that every uncredited deposit and undebited 
withdrawal has been listed on the Adjustments to Month Ending Balance form. Since you marked 

every entry in the account journal that you found on the bank statement, this should be easy. Go 

back at least two months; you may have missed an old check that was never deposited. 

5. Compare the bank statement to the account journal and make sure that you have 
correctly marked all the items that had been credited. You may have incorrectly marked 

off as credited an entry in the account journal that wasn't on the bank statement. Go through 
the bank statement item by item, and in the account journal put a clear additional mark next 

to every entry that matches the bank statement. When you're done, make sure that every item 

for the month you're reconciling has two marks: the one you put when you first prepared the 
Account Journal Balance form, and the one you just put next to every item you verified. 

6. Get last month's Adjustments to Month Ending Balance form and check the unposted 

deposits and withdrawals against the current month's bank statement. Since you 
successfully reconciled your client trust bank account last month, any mistake must have 

happened in this month's records. Take out last month's Adjustments to Month Ending 

Balance form and compare the list of uncredited deposits and undebited withdrawals to this 
month's bank statement. With a light pencil mark, check off all the items in last month's list 

of unposted transactions that show up on this month's bank statement. Any that aren't 
checked off are still unposted; therefore, they should be listed on this month's Adjustments to 

Month Ending Balance form. Make sure they are. 

7. Call in a bookkeeper. You have now gone through all of the steps necessary to check your 

own records. The mistake is in there, but the chances are that you aren't going to find it. It's 
also possible that the difference between the reconciled balance and the bank statement 

balance is caused by something you can't find this way. Don't waste any more of your 

valuable time hunting; call in a professional. 
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Correcting the mistake.  If the mistake is on the bank statement, write a note on the bank statement 

that clearly explains what the mistake is, then contact your banker and tell them to correct their 
records. Then go back to Form Three, put a line through the Bank Statement Balance (making sure 

that the original number is still legible) and write in the corrected Bank Statement Balance, which 
should be exactly the same as the Corrected Month Ending Balance, above it. 

If the mistake is in your records, correct it in the account journal and appropriate client ledgers using 

the same kind of mistake correction entries we described. Like all mistake correction entries, these 

must be entered twice in both the account journal and the client ledger for the client on whose behalf 
you deposited or paid out the money; once above the “Corrected Month Ending Balance” line, and 

once after the latest entry. 

After you correct the mistake in your client ledger and account journal, record it on Form Two under 
“Mistake Correction Entries” and change the “Total Mistake Correction Entries” on Form Two. Then 

go back to Form One, write in the new “Total Mistake Correction Entries” and new “Adjusted Month 

Ending Account Journal Balance.” Then go to Form Three, write in the new “Adjusted Month Ending 
Balance,” the new “Corrected Month Ending Balance” and the new “Reconciled Total.” If you make 

so many corrections that the numbers are getting hard to read, rewrite the form. 
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APPENDIX 6: STATE BAR FORMAL OPINION NO. 2005-169 

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 

STANDING COMMITTEE ON 

PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY 

AND CONDUCT 

 

FORMAL OPINION NO. 2005-169 
 

 

ISSUES 

1. Does an attorney commit an ethical 

violation merely by obtaining or using 

overdraft protection on a Client Trust 

Account? 

2. What are an attorney's ethical obligations 

when a check is issued against a Client Trust 
Account with insufficient funds to cover the 

amount of the check? 

3. Must an attorney immediately withdraw 

earned fees once funds deposited into a Client 
Trust Account have become fixed in order to 

comply with the attorney's ethical obligations? 

 

DIGEST 

1.  An attorney does not commit an ethical 

violation merely by obtaining or using 

overdraft protection on a Client Trust 
Account, so long as the protection in question 

does not entail the commingling of the 
attorney's funds with the funds of a client.  

Overdraft protection that compensates exactly 

for the amount that the overdraft exceeds the 
funds on deposit (plus funds reasonably 

sufficient to cover bank charges) is 

permissible, whereas overdraft protection that 
automatically deposits an amount leaving a 

residue after the overdraft is satisfied is not.  
In all cases, banks must report to the State Bar 

any presentment of a check against a Client 

Trust Account without sufficient funds, 
whether or not the check is honored.  

Although overdraft protection will not avoid 

State Bar notification, nor exculpate any 
unethical conduct that caused the overdraft, it 

may avoid negative consequences to a client 
resulting from a dishonored check. 

 

2. When a check is issued against a Client 

Trust Account with insufficient funds to cover 
the amount of the check, an attorney must 

deposit funds sufficient to clear the 

dishonored check or otherwise make payment, 
must take reasonably prompt action to 

ascertain the condition or event that caused the 
check to be dishonored, and must implement 

whatever measures are necessary to prevent its 

recurrence.  In addition, if a client will 
experience negative consequences from the 

dishonoring of the check, the attorney may 

have to advise the client of the occurrence. 

3. An attorney must withdraw earned fees 

from a Client Trust Account at the earliest 

reasonable time after they become fixed in 
order to comply with the attorney's ethical 

obligations, but need not do so immediately. 

 

AUTHORITIES INTERPRETED 

Rule 4-100 of the Rules of Professional 
Conduct of the State Bar of California. 

 

STATEMENT OF FACTS 

Attorney, a solo practitioner who is about to 
begin a three-month trial, has recently 

transferred accounts to Bank, which has just 

opened for business.  The accounts transferred 
are the office business account and the Client 

Trust Account (CTA). 
1/

   Attorney arranges 

for overdraft protection for the CTA by 
linking it to the office business account. 

A month later, while Attorney is in the midst 

of trial, a settlement check arrives for Client.  
Attorney obtains Client's approval of 

disbursements and Client's signature on the 

settlement check, Attorney's fee becomes 
fixed, and Attorney deposits the settlement 

check into the CTA, but Bank misposts the 
check into the office business account.  After 

making the deposit and waiting a sufficient 

period for the settlement check to clear, 
Attorney issues a check against the CTA for 

expenses related to Client's case.  Because of 
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its misposting of the settlement check, Bank 

determines that the expense check exceeds the 
amount on deposit.  Bank honors the expense 

check by debiting the linked office business 
account and notifies the State Bar and 

Attorney that the check was paid against 

insufficient funds. 

Three months after the arrival of the 
settlement check for Client, the trial having 

concluded, Attorney issues two checks on the 
CTA account:  The first check is payable to 

Client for Client's portion of the settlement; 

the second check is payable to Attorney for 
fees, and is immediately deposited by 

Attorney into the office business account.  
Because of its not-yet-corrected misposting of 

the settlement check, Bank determines that the 

two disbursements exceed the amount on 
deposit, but makes inquiry of Attorney.  As a 

result, Bank discovers, and corrects, its 

misposting, and honors the checks to the 
Client and to Attorney for fees. 

 

DISCUSSION 

1.  Overdraft protection is not prohibited 

by Rule 4-100. 

When a bank is presented with a check that is 

greater in amount than the combination of 

cash in the account on which it is drawn and 
checks deposited but not collected, the bank 

has the option of honoring or dishonoring the 
check.

2/
  If a bank elects to honor the check, 

the payment from its funds is an overdraft and 

is considered to be in the nature of a loan.
3/
  

An overdraft is not necessarily the result of 

negligence or wrongdoing by the depositor.  

For example, an overdraft can be the result of 
the bank's delay in crediting a deposit or as a 

result of the bank's dishonoring of a check 
submitted by the depositor in the good faith 

belief it would be paid
4/

,  or by an inadvertent 

bank computer or accounting error.
5/

  

In recent years, many banks have instituted 
overdraft protection to avoid the dishonoring of 

a depositor's checks.  In order to cover checks 
written against insufficient funds, overdraft 

protection can entail the making of payments 

by the bank on a voluntary basis
6/
  or as a result 

of a contract with the depositor for extensions 

of credit or for the linking of accounts.
7/
  

Whether it is permissible to obtain and use 

overdraft protection for a CTA depends on 
whether the protection in question entails the 

commingling of the attorney's funds with the 
funds of a client.  Rule 4-100 of the Rules of 

Professional Conduct
8/

  strictly limits the 

funds belonging to an attorney that may be 
deposited into a CTA to (1) funds reasonably 

sufficient to cover bank charges
9/

  and (2) 
undifferentiated funds belonging in part to a 

client and in part to the attorney.
10/

  The 

California Supreme Court has held that 
maintaining the personal funds of an attorney 

in a CTA as a cushion against overdrafts is not 

allowed by rule 4-100 and may therefore 
expose an attorney to discipline.

11/
  

Although rule 4-100 does not define 

commingling, judicial decisions provide a 
definition.  "[C]ommingling is committed 

when a client's money is intermingled with 

that of his attorney and its separate identity 
lost so that it may be used for the attorney's 

personal expenses or subjected to claims of his 
creditors."

12/
   Employing an overdraft 

protection program, such as a line of credit or 

linkage to another account, that compensates 
exactly for the amount that the overdraft 

exceeds the funds on deposit in a CTA does 

not threaten the separate identity of a client's 
funds, does not subject the client's funds to 

claims of the attorney's creditors,
13/

  and does 

not permit the attorney to use the client's 

funds.
14/

   Furthermore, the California 

Supreme Court has held that an attorney's 
deposit of personal funds to restore funds that 

have been improperly withdrawn does not 
constitute a separate wrongful act of 

impermissible commingling.
15/

  

A different situation is presented by an 

overdraft protection program that 
automatically deposits a fixed amount into a 

CTA leaving a residue after the overdraft is 
satisfied.  The excess funds, which belong to 

the attorney, are not required to remedy an 

error.  There is no meaningful distinction 
between depositing excess funds to cure an 

overdraft and maintaining a cushion of 

attorney funds in a CTA beyond an amount 
reasonably sufficient to cover bank charges, a 

practice that has been prohibited.
16/

    Leaving 
excess funds belonging to the attorney in a 

CTA in order to avoid the negative effect of 

error, even if it causes no harm to a client or 
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any other person or entity with an interest in 

the trust funds, may expose an attorney to 
discipline.

17/
       

Banks are required by law to report to the 

State Bar the presentment of any properly 
payable instrument against a CTA containing 

insufficient funds, whether or not the 

instrument is honored.
18/

   Although overdraft 
protection will not avoid notification of the 

State Bar, nor exculpate any unethical conduct 
that caused the overdraft, it may avoid 

negative consequences to a client resulting 

from a dishonored check.  Therefore, rather 
than violating an attorney's fiduciary duties to 

a client under rule 4-100, overdraft protection 
is a recognized method of protecting the 

client's funds from loss.
19/

  

It follows that, under the facts presented, Bank 

was required to notify the State Bar that the 
expense check drawn on the CTA was paid 

against insufficient funds, even though 

subsequent events would reveal that its action 
resulted from its misposting.  Attorney, 

however, should not be subject to discipline 
with respect to the triggering of overdraft 

protection for the expense check.  Of course, 

an attorney has a "personal obligation of 
reasonable care to comply with the critically 

important rules for the safekeeping and 
disposition of client funds."

20/
   That 

obligation is nondelegable.
21/

 "[W]here 

fiduciary violations occur as a result of the 
serious and inexcusable lapses in office 

procedure, they may be deemed 'wilful' for 

disciplinary purposes, even if there was no 
deliberate wrongdoing."

22/
   Moreover, if an 

attorney were to make use of overdraft 
protection for an impermissible purpose such 

as issuing checks prior to the availability of 

the funds against which they were to be paid, 
the attorney could be found culpable of failure 

to maintain the CTA in violation of rule 4-
100.  Under the facts presented, however, 

there was no violation by Attorney because 

there was no lapse in office procedure or 
repeated use of overdraft protection for an 

impermissible purpose.
23/

   There were indeed 

mistakes and errors, but they were attributable 
to Bank and not to Attorney.

24/
  

2.  An attorney who issues a CTA check 

against insufficient funds is required to 

make any dishonored check good or 

otherwise make payment, take reasonably 

prompt action to ascertain what caused the 

problem, and correct or change whatever 

led to the occurrence. 

Since an attorney has an obligation that is both 
personal and nondelegable to take reasonable 

care to protect client funds, the attorney has 

attendant obligations:  (1) to deposit funds 
sufficient to clear any check drawn on the CTA 

that is dishonored for insufficient funds
25/ 

-
depositing personal funds into a CTA to 

remedy an overdraft does not constitute 

impermissible commingling
26/ 

-or to make 
payment by other means; (2) to take reasonably 

prompt action to ascertain the condition or 
event that caused the check to be dishonored; 

and (3) to implement whatever measures are 

necessary to prevent its recurrence.
27/

   In 
addition, since an attorney has an obligation to 

keep clients advised of significant 

developments relating to the employment or 
representation, the attorney may also have an 

obligation to advise the affected client of the 
overdraft of the client's funds if the client will 

experience negative consequences.
28/

  

Under the facts presented, the expense check 

drawn on the CTA was not dishonored.  As a 
result, there was no check that Attorney had to 

make good or provide for payment otherwise; 
neither were there any practices or procedures 

Attorney had to change or any lapses Attorney 

had to correct.  Likewise, there was no 
significant development about which Attorney 

had to advise Client.  As its name declares, 

overdraft protection protected Client from 
experiencing any negative consequences from 

the dishonoring of the expense check by 
preventing dishonoring of the check.  It 

follows that, under these circumstances, 

Attorney has no obligation to advise Client of 
this occurrence. 

3.  Earned fees need not be withdrawn 

immediately from a CTA after they become 

fixed, but instead must be withdrawn at the 

earliest reasonable time. 

Rule 4-100(A)(2) provides: "In the case of funds 

belonging in part to a client and in part presently 
or potentially to the [attorney], the portion 

belonging to the [attorney] must be withdrawn at 
the earliest reasonable time after the [attorney's] 

interest in that portion becomes fixed." 
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Nothing in rule 4-100 or related judicial 

decisions defines "earliest reasonable time."  
But the rule does indeed give some indications 

in this regard.  As noted, it provides that an 
attorney must withdraw from a CTA the 

portion of funds belonging to the attorney at the 

earliest reasonable time "after the [attorney's] 
interest in that portion becomes fixed."  In so 

providing, the plain language of rule 4-100 
suggests that an attorney is not required to 

withdraw the attorney's fees from a CTA 

"immediately."  But it also suggests that an 
attorney is not allowed to delay until he or she 

finds it "convenient" to make the withdrawal.  

If the attorney delays unreasonably, the client's 
funds may be "endanger[ed]," as by 

"attachment" in a case where the attorney's 

"creditors [are led] to believe the funds belong 

to the [attorney] rather than the client."
29/

  

Although the phrase "earliest reasonable time" 

contains the word "reasonable" and therefore 
counsels that all relevant circumstances should be 

taken into account, including especially the risk to 
the client's interest, a rule of thumb is suggested 

by the standards for preserving the identity of 

funds and property of a client adopted by the 
Board of Governors of the State Bar.  Those 

standards require a monthly reconciliation of a 

CTA, which identifies the portion of the funds 
belonging to the attorney.

30/
  It follows, therefore, 

that an attorney should withdraw the attorney's 

fees from the CTA at the time of the monthly 

reconciliation after that portion has become fixed. 

Under the facts presented, Attorney appears not 

to have withdrawn Attorney's fees from the CTA 
at the "earliest reasonable time."  Attorney's fees 

had become fixed about three months earlier.  
Attorney's preoccupation with trial may have 

made such a period of time seem reasonable.  

But a delay of this length of time might have 
proved harmful to Client-and Attorney's other 

clients-if, for example, Attorney's creditors had 
attached the funds in the CTA on the belief they 

belonged to Attorney.
31/

  

This opinion is issued by the Standing 

Committee on Professional Responsibility and 
Conduct of the State Bar of California.  It is 

advisory only.  It is not binding upon the courts, 

the State Bar of California, its Board of 
Governors, any persons, or tribunals charged 

with regulatory responsibilities, or any 
member of the State Bar. 

Endnotes: 

1/
 In addition to clients' funds, a client trust 

account may contain other funds that have 

client trust fund status, such as court-awarded 
fees belonging to the attorney, medical lien 

money, etc.  For a discussion of client trust 

fund status, see Handbook on Client Trust 
Accounting for California Attorneys (State Bar 

of California 2003). 

2/ 
California Commercial Code section 4401, 

subdivision (a). 

3/
 Hoffman v. Security Pacific National Bank 

(1981) 121 Cal.App.3d 964, 969 [176 

Cal.Rptr. 14].  See 1 Brady on Bank Checks:  
The Law of Bank Checks (Sept. 2004) § 

19.01:  "An overdraft is the payment by a 
bank from its funds of a check drawn on it by 

a depositor who does not have sufficient funds 

on deposit to pay the check." 

4/
 Perdue v. Crocker National Bank (1985) 38 

Cal.3d 913, 932, footnote 18 [216 Cal.Rptr. 

345]. 

5/
 12 C.F.R. §  225.52(c)(1). 

6/
 Davis and Mabbit, Checking Account 

Bounce Protection Programs (2003) 57 

Consumer Finance Law Quarterly Report 26. 

7/
 Interagency Guidance on Overdraft 

Protection Programs, 70 Fed.Reg. 9127, 9128 
(Feb. 24, 2005) (speaking of overdraft 

protection by means including "line[s] of 
credit" and "linked accounts"). 

8/
 Unless otherwise indicated, all rule 

references are to the Rules of Professional 

Conduct of the State Bar of California. 

9/
 Rule 4-100(A)(1).  See In the Matter of 

Respondent F (1992) 2 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 17. 

10/ 
Rule 4-100(A)(2)-with the caveat that "the 

portion belonging to the [attorney] must be 

withdrawn at the earliest reasonable time after 

the [attorney's] interest in that portion 

becomes fixed." 

11/
 Jackson v. State Bar (1979) 25 Cal.3d 398, 

404 [158 Cal.Rptr. 869].  See, e.g., L.A. 

County Bar Ass'n, Formal Opinion No. 485 
(1996); Peck, Managing Clients' Trust 

Accounts (1994) 517 PLI/Lit 197, 207.   
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12/
 Clark v. State Bar (1952) 39 Cal.2d 161, 

167 [246 P.2d 1]. 

13/
 A bank may not offset an attorney 

depositor's debt against his CTA.  "The bank's 

right of offset . . . exists only if the depositor is 
indebted to the bank in the same capacity as he 

holds the account.  Thus, a bank may not 'apply 

the trust funds to a personal indebtedness of the 
trustee.'  [Citations omitted.]" (Chazen v. 

Centennial Bank (1998) 61 Cal.App.4th 532, 
541 [71 Cal.Rptr.2d 462].) 

14/
 Of course, if an attorney were to employ an 

overdraft protection program that compensates 

exactly for the amount that the overdraft 
exceeds the funds on deposit in a CTA as part 

of a scheme to siphon off a client's funds for 

the attorney's own use, the attorney would 

thereby misappropriate the client's funds. 

15/
 Guzzetta v. State Bar (1987) 43 Cal.3d 962, 

978-979 [239 Cal.Rptr. 675]. 

16/
 Silver v. State Bar (1974) 13 Cal.3d 134, 

145, footnote 7 [117 Cal.Rptr. 821]. 

17/
 Guzzetta v. State Bar, supra, 43 Cal.3d at p. 

976:  "However, as the State Bar Court 
correctly noted, 'good faith of an attorney is 

not a defense involving Rules of Professional 

Conduct 8-100(A)(B).'  [Citation omitted.]  
Rule 8-101 is violated where the attorney 

commingles funds or fails to deposit or 
manage the funds in the manner designated by 

the rule, even if no person is injured.  [Citation 

omitted.]" 

18/
 "A financial institution . . . which is a 

depository for attorney trust accounts . . . shall 

report to the State Bar in the event any 
properly payable instrument is presented 

against an attorney trust account containing 

insufficient funds, irrespective of whether or 
not the instrument is honored."  (Bus. & Prof. 

Code, § 6091.1.) 

19/
 "Overdraft protection for your client trust 

account is a good idea.  Client retainer checks 
may bounce, clerical errors may occur in 

drafting checks, and even banks sometimes 
make errors.  At a minimum, overdraft 

protection ensures that clients will not be 

harmed by a drop in the client trust account."  
(Vapnek et al., Cal. Practice Guide:  

Professional Responsibility (The Rutter Group 

2004) § 9:153 (italics in original).)  As the 

foregoing quotation indicates, overdraft 
protection for a client trust account is a good 

idea not only against errors by banks and other 
third parties, but also against errors by the 

attorney's staff and the attorney him- or 

herself. 

20/
 Palomo v. State Bar (1984) 36 Cal.3d 785, 

795 [205 Cal.Rptr. 834].  See, e.g., Tatlow v. 

State Bar (1936) 5 Cal.2d 520, 524 [55 P.2d 
214] (fundamental rule of ethics is common 

honesty, "without which the profession is 

worse than valueless in the place it holds in 
the administration of justice"). 

21/
 Coppock v. State Bar (1988) 44 Cal.3d 665, 

680 [244 Cal.Rptr. 462]. 

22/ Palomo v. State Bar (1984) 36 Cal.3d 785, 
795 [205 Cal.Rptr. 834]. 

23/
 An attorney's personal, and nondelegable, 

obligation of reasonable care to protect client 

funds requires the attorney to supervise the 
attorney's employees.  In the Matter of Malek-

Yonan (2003) 4 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 627. 

24/
 If Bank were to continue to make mistakes 

and errors with respect to the CTA, and if 

such mistakes and errors were to threaten the 

integrity of the client funds deposited, 
Attorney might be required to take appropriate 

action in response, which might include 
transferring the CTA to another financial 

institution. 

25/
 Cf. Waysman v. State Bar (1986) 41 Cal.3d 

452, 458 [224 Cal.Rptr. 101] (attorney 
immediately notified client of 

misappropriation and assumed responsibility). 

26/
 Guzzetta v. State Bar, supra, 43 Cal.3d at 

pages 978-979. 

27/
 See Greenbaum v. State Bar (1976) 15 

Cal.3d 893, 905 [126 Cal.Rptr. 785]; 

Bradpiece v. State Bar (1974) 10 Cal.3d 742, 

748 [111 Cal.Rptr. 905]. 

28/
 See Waysman v. State Bar, supra 41 Cal.3d 

at p. 458. 

29/
 Vapnek et al., [(Cal. Practice Guide:  

Professional Responsibility)], supra, § 9:179 

(citing Vaughn v. State Bar (1972) 6 Cal.3d 
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847, 852-853 [100 Cal.Rptr. 713] [CTA was 

attached as a result of actions brought against 
attorney for personal debts]). 

30/
 Standards for Client Trust Account, 

Std.(1)(d) adopted by the Board of Governors 
of the State Bar, effective January 1, 1993, 

pursuant to rule 4-100(C). 

31/
 Whether Attorney disbursed Client's 

portion from the CTA in timely fashion is 
beyond the scope of this opinion, and is 

accordingly neither addressed nor resolved 
herein. 
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APPENDIX 6: STATE BAR FORMAL OPINION NO. 2006-171 

THE STATE BAR OF CALIFORNIA 

STANDING COMMITTEE ON 

PROFESSIONAL RESPONSIBILITY 

AND CONDUCT 

 

FORMAL OPINION NO. 2006-171 
 

 

ISSUES 

Is an attorney who has withdrawn a fee from a 

client trust account in compliance with rule 4-

100(A)(2), ethically obligated to return any of 

the withdrawn funds to the client trust account 

when the client later disputes the fee? 

 

DIGEST 

Once an attorney has withdrawn a fee from a 

client trust account in compliance with rule 4-

100(A)(2), those funds cease to have trust 
account status.  As such, there is no obligation 

to return to the trust account amounts that are 

later disputed by the client. 

 

AUTHORITIES INTERPRETED 

Rule 4-100 of the Rules of Professional 

Conduct of the State Bar of California. 

 

STATEMENT OF FACTS 

Attorney represents Client in a litigation 

matter that Client has brought against 

Adversary.  A written fee agreement between 
Attorney and Client states that Attorney will 

be paid a contingent fee equal to a percentage 

of Client's "net recovery" in the matter, if any.  

Consistent with the State Bar's Sample 

Written Fee Agreement  Form for a 
contingency fee agreement, Client's "net 

recovery" is defined as the total of all amounts 

received by settlement or judgment less 
certain scheduled costs and disbursements.  

Under the terms of the fee agreement, 
Attorney is entitled to 25% of Client's net 

recovery if the matter is resolved prior to the 

filing of a lawsuit, and one-third (33 1/3 %) of 
Client's net recovery if the matter is resolved 

at any time thereafter.  The agreement 

complies with California Business and 
Professions Code section 6147 in all respects, 

and includes a valid charging lien, and 
statesing that Attorney is entitled to take his 

fee from the Client's recovery, whether by 

judgment, award or settlement. 

The case settles after the filing of the lawsuit 
but before the commencement of trial.  Client 

executes and delivers a settlement agreement 

with Adversary pursuant to which Adversary 

agrees to pay Client $100,000.  Upon 

execution and delivery of the settlement 
agreement, Adversary sends Attorney a check 

for $100,000 payable jointly to Attorney and 

Client.   As required by rule 4-100(B)(1), 
Rules of Professional Conduct of the State Bar 

of California,
1/

 Attorney notifies the Client of 
receipt of the funds, and pursuant to rule 4-

100(B)(3) Attorney provides Client a written 

accounting setting forth the following 
proposed distribution: 

1. Total settlement amount of $100,000; 

2. Itemized list of costs and disbursements in 

the aggregate amount of $7,000; 

3. Amount to be paid to Attorney as his fee - 
one-third of the net recovery of $93,000 or 

$31,000; and   

4. Net amount to be paid to Client - the 

remaining balance of $62,000. 

Client comes to Attorney's office, goes over 

the accounting with Attorney, endorses the 

settlement check and signs off on the 
accounting approving the proposed 

distribution.  As required by rule 4-100(A), 

Attorney deposits the $100,000 settlement 

check in Attorney's Client Trust Account 

(“CTA”).  Promptly upon confirming that the 
$100,000 check has cleared, and reasonably 

believing the representation concluded and the 

fee "fixed" within the meaning of rule 4-
100(A)(2), Attorney writes two checks out of 

the CTA as follows:  a check to Client in the 

amount of $62,000 and a check payable to 
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Attorney's general account in the amount of 

$38,000 as reimbursement of $7,000 in 
costs and payment of $31,000 in fees.  

Pursuant to Client's instructions, Attorney 
immediately mails the $62,000 check to 

Client.  Attorney also immediately deposits 

the $38,000 check into Attorney's general 
account.  A week later, Attorney receives a 

telephone call from Client who tells 
Attorney that the $31,000 fee is too high for 

the amount of work actually performed and 

that Attorney should send Client a check for 
an additional $10,000. 

 

DISCUSSION 

1.  Trust Account Status 

Rule 4-100(A) states that "[a]ll funds received 

or held for the benefit of clients by a member 
or law firm, including advances for costs and 

expenses, shall be deposited in one or more 
identifiable bank accounts labeled "Trust 

Account," "Client's Funds Account" or words 

of similar import...."  Money that an attorney 
holds "for the benefit of clients" includes: 

1. Money that belongs to a client; 

2. Money in which the attorney and client 

have a joint interest; 

3. Money in which a client and a third party 
have a joint interest; and 

4. Money that doesn't belong to a client, but 

which counsel is nevertheless holding as part 
of the subject representation.

2/
 

Such funds ("trust account funds," or funds 

having "trust account status") are subject to 

various requirements regarding disbursement, 
payment of interest, record keeping and the 

like as set forth in rule 4-100 and authorities 

interpreting it.  Principal among these 
restrictions is a flat prohibition on the 

commingling of trust account funds and an 
attorney's personal or office funds.  In fact, 

regarding withdrawal of trust account funds 

for payment of fees, rule 4-100(A)(2) states 
that any portion of trust account funds that 

belong to counsel "must be withdrawn at the 
earliest reasonable time after [his or her] 

interest in that portion becomes fixed," unless 

the attorney's portion is disputed by the client 

for any reason.  In such event, rule  
4-100(A)(2) further instructs that "the 

disputed portion shall not be withdrawn until 
the dispute is finally resolved."  

However, rule 4-100 is silent regarding the 

situation where a fee properly withdrawn from 

a CTA is later disputed.  In that regard, we 
believe that the inquiry is whether funds 

properly withdrawn from a CTA under rule 4-
100(A)(2) and later disputed by the client 

retain or regain its trust account status once 

the dispute is communicated to the attorney.  
Based on a plain reading of the rule we answer 

this question in the negative.  Attorney, in the 
situation presented, neither "received" nor 

"holds" the withdrawn funds for the benefit of 

the client.  Quite the contrary, at the moment 
of withdrawal, the withdrawn funds are 

Attorney's personal property by operation of 

rule 4-100(A)(2).  As such, Attorney is both 
obligated to withdraw the funds from the CTA 

and free to do with those funds as she or he 
pleases.  At the moment of withdrawal, none 

of the indicia of trust account status are 

present:  the withdrawn funds do not belong to 
the client, are not subject to a joint interest of 

attorney and client, are not subject to a joint 

interest of the client and any third party, and 
are not being held by the Attorney as part of 

the subject representation. 

Likewise, the fact that Attorney has 
withdrawn the fee from a CTA (as opposed to 

having received it by way of the client's 

personal check or by accepting cash from the 
client) is analytically irrelevant.  There is no 

authority in the text of rule 4-100 or elsewhere 
to suggest that funds with trust account status, 

properly "fixed" and withdrawn under rule 4-

100(A)(2), regain trust account status simply 
because the client later disputes the fee.  Such 

a conclusion would also create a host of 
problems for the practical administration of a 

law office, if, for example, the withdrawn 

funds were used to pay staff salaries or bona 
fide office expenses, or, if the withdrawal 

happens in one tax year while the client's 

challenge occurs in the next. 

As such, absent trust account status, the 
withdrawn funds are analytically equivalent to 

money paid by client to Attorney for charged 
fees by any other means.  The fact that the 
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client later expresses remorse, regret or other 

dissatisfaction with the amount of Attorney's 
fee is a matter of contract to be resolved by an 

analysis of the engagement agreement and the 
respective performance of the  parties. 

2.  Misappropriation Distinguished 

It is worth repeating that the Statement of Facts 

presupposes a proper withdrawal of the fee.  

We are mindful of the substantial authority 
relating to the misappropriation of trust account 

funds.
3/
   In that regard, we note simply that 

funds  misappropriated from a CTA, or 

withdrawn before an attorney's fee becomes 

"fixed" within the scope of rule 4-100(B)(2), 
are funds in which the client has a whole or part 

ownership interest.
4/
  As such, misappropriated 

funds are ones that have never lost their trust 

account status and remain subject to rule 4-100 

in all respects. 

 

CONCLUSION 

Funds properly withdrawn from a CTA under 

rule 4-100(A)(2) and later disputed by the 

client neither retain nor regain their trust 
account status, and therefore do not need to be 

re-deposited into the attorney’s  CTA.  Based 
on a plain reading of rule 4-100, we believe 

that such funds bear none of the indicia of 

trust account status at the moment of 
withdrawal, i.e., the withdrawn funds do not 

belong to the client, are not subject to a joint 
interest of attorney and client, are not subject 

to a joint interest of the client and any third 

party, and are not being held by the Attorney 
as part of the subject representation.  As such, 

absent trust account status, the withdrawn 

funds are analytically equivalent to money 
paid by Client to Attorney for charged fees by 

any other means.  The fact that Client later 
expresses remorse, regret or other 

dissatisfaction with the amount of Attorney's 

fee is a matter of contract to be resolved by an 

analysis of the engagement agreement and the 

respective performance of the parties. 

This opinion is issued by the Standing 
Committee on Professional Responsibility and 

Conduct of the State Bar of California.  It is 

advisory only.  It is not binding upon the 
courts, the State Bar of California, its Board of 

Governors, any persons, or tribunals charged 

with regulatory responsibilities, or any 

member of the State Bar. 

 

Endnotes: 

1/
 All rule references are to the Rules of 

Professional Conduct of the State Bar of 
California. 

2/ 
The State Bar of California, Handbook on 

Client Trust Accounting for California 
Attorneys (2003) at pg. 13. [Publisher’s Note: 

Information that appears on page 13 of the 

Handbook on Client Trust Accounting for 
California Attorneys (2003), now appears on 

page 15 of the Handbook on Client Trust 

Accounting for California Attorneys (2011).] 

3/
 See, e.g., Sternlieb v. State Bar  (1990) 52 

Cal.3d 317, 328 [276 Cal.Rptr. 346];  Bates v. 

State Bar (1990) 51 Cal.3d 1056 [275 
Cal.Rptr. 381]; Walker v. State Bar (1989) 49 

Cal.3d 1107 [264 Cal.Rptr. 825]; and Garlow 

v. State Bar (1988) 44 Cal.3d 689 [244 
Cal.Rptr. 452]; (failure to restore 

misappropriated funds warrants discipline). 

4/
 Misappropriation of client trust funds may 

occur without an intent to commit a 

conversion of client funds.  (See: McKnight v. 

State Bar (1991) 53 Cal.3d 1025 [281 Cal. 

Rptr. 766]; Giovanazzi v. State Bar (1980) 28 

Cal.3d 465 [169 Cal. Rptr. 581]; In the Matter 
of Doran (Rev. Dept. 1998) 3 Cal. State Bar 

Ct. Rptr. 871; and In the Matter of Bleecker 

(Rev. Dept. 1990) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 
113.)  Readers are cautioned that a lawyer has 

been disciplined for failing to hold funds in a 

CTA where a withdrawal of funds was based 
upon a belief that the disbursement was 

proper, at the time of the disbursement, but 
that belief was subsequently discovered to be 

erroneous.  (See In the Matter of Respondent 

E (Rev. Dept. 1991) 1 Cal. State Bar Ct. Rptr. 
716.) 
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APPENDIX 7: “IOLTA-ELIGIBLE” FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 
UNDER CALIFORNIA BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE 
SECTION 6212 

Under California Business & Professions Code Section 6212, the State Bar of California Legal 

Services Trust Fund Program maintains a list of financial institutions eligible to hold IOLTA 

accounts, paying interest rates that are at least comparable to similar, non-IOLTA accounts. A list of 
these financial institutions can be found at:  

http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/MemberServices/IOLTA/EligibleInstitutions.aspx. 

http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Attorneys/MemberServices/IOLTA/EligibleInstitutions.aspx
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INDEX 

access to account funds, 9, 20 

account journal, 3, 7, 16, 23, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 

31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 37, 38, 39, 41, 42, 87, 88 

forms, Appendix 4, 81 

reconciliation, Section VIII:, 28 

recordkeeping, Section VII:, 21 

accounting system, 21, 22 

advanced costs, 73 

advanced fees, 16, See Appendix 3 

advances, costs, 9, 15, 49, See Appendix 3 

ATM, 10, 77 

attorney liens, 75 

attorney, personal funds, 78, 79 

audit trail, 7, 8, 10, 22, 25 

automatic overdraft protection, 6, 10 

bank balance 

insufficient funds, 10 

running balance, 7 

 inactive, 7, 38 

bank charges, 2, 3, 7, 11, 15, 16, 17, 19, 26, 27, 

28, 29, 35, 36, 37, 40, 41, 42, 49, 78, 89, 90 

depositing money into client trust account, 

Section V:, 15 

reconciliation, 28 

bank charges ledger, 26, 35, 36 

bank deposits, redeposit of Funds, 78 

bank deposits, uncredited, 37, 38, 41, 87 

bank records, 22 

bank statement, 8, 11, 28, 29, 30, 32, 33, 35, 37, 

38, 39, 40, 41, 87, 88 

bills, 47, 55, 76, 77, 78 

blank check, 13 

Business and Professions Code, 4, See Appendix 2 

cancelled checks, 3, 7, 8, 22, 38, 39 

case law. See Appendix 3 

cash, 4, 6, 8, 10, 19, 48, 66, 67, 68, 70, 76, 77, 

90 

cashier's check, 76 

checkbook stubs, 22 

checks 

blank, 13 

bounced, 25 

cashier's, 76 

clearing, 11 

presigned, 79 

client ledger, 3, 5, 7, 23, 24, 25, 26, 28, 30, 31, 

32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 39, 41, 42, 88 

forms, Appendix 4, 81, 84 

reconciliation, 3, 16, 25, 28, 29, 30, 37, 39, 

40, 77, 87 

recordkeeping, 21 

client property, 2, 49 

sale of client property, 15 

Code of Civil Procedure, 65, See Appendix 2 

commingling, 2, 3, 7, 10, 19, 89, 90 

common client trust bank accounts, 2, 3, 5, 9, 

10, 11, 12, 23, 25, 26, 28, 30, 35 

community property, 15 

computer disks, 22 

computer printouts, 21, 23 

computerized system, 21 

costs, 19, 76 

advanced, 9, 15, 74 

deposit slip, 8, 14, 22, 23, 26, 32, 33, 38, 39 
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deposits 

uncredited, 37, 38 

disbursement, 50, 75, 77 

discipline, 1, 21, 74, 78, 90, 91 

dispute, 3, 4, 19, 20, 48, 49, 58, 61, 74, 75, 78 

disputed funds, 20 

drafts, settlement, 6, 8, 73 

duties to third parties, 1, 4, 77 

escheats to state, 7, 65 

Evidence Code. See Appendix 2 

FDIC, 9, 12, 13 

fee 

advanced, 16 

agreements, 47, 56 

arbitration, 48, 58 

contingency, 47, 53, 54, 55 

dispute, 20 

disputes, 3, 19, 48 

ledger, 76 

retainer, 15, 16 

retainer, non-refundable, 15 

security for payment, 48 

fees 

advanced, 73 

fiduciary, 1, 2, 4, 9, 10, 13, 15, 18, 20, 21 

forms, 29, See Appendix 4 

general office account, 9, 20, 77 

guarantee of attorney services, 48 

hand-written ledgers, 21 

health care provider, 47 

inactive balance, 7 

instant credit, 6, 10 

insufficient funds, 10, 11, 52, 89, 90, 91, 93 

interest, 1, 3, 4, 7, 9, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 

18, 19, 23, 26, 28, 29, 35, 40, 41, 48, 49, 52, 

61, 65, 70, 72, 76, 78, 91, 92 

Internal Revenue Code. See Appendix 2 

interpleader, 15, 20 

investigators, 6, 24, 77 

IOLTA account, 9, 11, 12 

depositing money into, Section V:, 15 

reconciliation, 28, 39 

recordkeeping, Section VII:, 21 

Legal Services Trust Fund Program, 8, 11, 12, 

17 

liability, 1 

liens 

 attorney, 75 

medical, 76, 77 

medical provider, 4 

misappropriations, 52, 73 

mistake, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 37, 38, 

39, 41, 42, 87, 88 

month ending balance, 29, 30, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 

38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 87, 88 

moral turpitude, 73, 75, 77, 79 

negative balance, 6, 25 

negligence, 6 

nominal amounts of money, 11 

non-delegable, 1, 2 

other properties journal, 27 

other property, 2 

out-of-state, 9 

out-of-state bank, 6 
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overdraft "margin", 79 

overdraft protection, 10 

payroll taxes, 16 

personal funds, 78, 79 

power of attorney, 74, 79 

property, client, 2, 15, 49 

receipt, 76 

reconciliation, 3, 16, 23, 25, 28, 29, 30, 33, 34, 

36, 37, 40, 43, 50, 92, See Section VIII 

record retention, 21 

redeposit of funds, 3, 78 

report to the State Bar, 10 

retainer 

non-refundable, 15 

Rules of Professional Conduct. See Appendix 2 

running balance, 7, 24, 26, 28, 30, 31, 32, 33 

safe deposit box, 2, 27 

sales of client's property, 15 

securities, 27 

settlement funds, 4, 75, 77 

short time period, 11 

signatories, 10 

signature stamp, 20 

stealing from trust account, 11 

supervision, 1 

theft, 6, 11, 79 

third parties, 4, 17, 47, 71, 93 

timing, 6 

Title 2. Rights and Responsbilities of Members, 

Division 5. Trust Accounts, 70 

undebited withdrawals, 37, 38, 41, 87 

written journal, 3, 25, 27, 50 
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